We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but watch for the hidden charges!”
Review of Hotel Ciutat Vella

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Ciutat Vella
Ranked #195 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good, but watch for the hidden charges!”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

If there was an option to say 'good' rather than average or very good I'd have gone for this - generally it's pretty average though - apart from the location which is very good, it's difficult to get enthused about this place. The rooms, although very clean are extremely basic - Lino floors and light from the corridor pouring in at night. The person on reception (very occasionally two) is always busy on the phone paying no attention to who is actually waiting to check in or out - leading to people just coming up and skipping through - the receptionist didn't seem to be bothered.
Unfortunately a generally ok stay was coloured by the receptionist charging for breakfast which had been stated in my confirmation email as being included in the price - apparently 'breakfast service' is not breakfast, which added an extra €9 pp onto my bill - not the end of the world, but it was slightly underhand I thought especially when the extra cost was never mentioned until my third morning and the receptionist didn't care to listen - I'm sure they've heard it often before.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Barbarian_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    240
    52
    13
    11
See reviews for
88
204
23
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rohnert Park, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

My 20-something daughter and I stayed at this hotel for a week at the end of July. There were no surprises as I had checked it out on Tripadvisor prior to booking. The room was very clean every day with fresh towels, clean linens, and mopped floors. We had a room overlooking the street, which I had requested. Even though there was some late night noise from the restaurant across the street, it was not a problem for us and I preferred being able to look at the goings on outside rather than have an inside room without a view. The staff was very helpful and spoke excellent English. A big factor in choosing this hotel was the location. It is a short walk to Las Ramblas, the very busy and touristy street. It was easy to walk to the harbor, restaurants, and to LOTS of shopping. It was extremely touristy - lots of people on Las Ramblas, of course. We were there at the height of tourist season, so I'm not sure if it's as crowded other times of year. It was nice to plan a few trips away from the area to escape the crowds. It's a simple hotel - not fancy but, again, clean, and the beds were fairly comfortable, the bathroom had a bathtub/shower and was really large by European standards, I think. For the price at the height of tourist season, it was a nice place to spend the week in Barcelona. We did not eat breakfast at the hotel but did use the coffee machine in the lobby every day. Also a nice touch was unlimited free bottles of water in the lobby fridge. We enjoyed the small rooftop terrace with hot tub and lounge chairs. It was too hot to think of using the hot tub, but it was nice to have a quiet place to relax now and then. Although I would not make a decision based on this, the wifi was pretty bad. It's free in the rooms, but inconsistent and kept disconnecting (multiple times). Also, the shower water temperature was a bit inconsistent, but it didn't cause a major problem. All in all, I would stay here again if I had the same budget. Also, if you are going to or from the airport, it's about a 20 minute taxi ride and cost about 40 euros.

Room Tip: We stayed in room #507 which overlooked the street. A bit noisy at night, but a great view of the go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1KarenT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Spent 2 nights on this hotel with my girlfriend, room number 101. Hotel seemed clean and well looked after. Modern interior, air conditioning and free cold bottled water in the lobby. Our room had a terrace. Breakfast was not very good, small selection and they had cured ham sliced so thick that it was impossible to chew. But freshly baked croissants with chocolate was nice! We heard no noice whatsoever more.

Recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarcusBlohm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I stayed here for two nights with a friend...

Loved the location of the hotel - as others have said, 2 mins walk away from Las Ramblas and some fantastic backstreets to wander down, with some great restaurants. It's a really buzzy neighbourhood so there is a bit of noise at night but it didn't disturb me and we had a room at the front of the hotel. Only mildly annoying thing was firecrackers going off at all times- it seems some of the locals love them!!

Free bottles of water to help yourself to was a lovely touch and the roof terrace with the hot tub was amazing for a sunbathing session away from the beach, or even just for catching the last of the day's sun. We went and got ice creams one evening and then enjoyed them sitting on the terrace.

Rooms were clean and simple but had everything you needed and plenty of space. I'd definitely stay here again- especially for the price.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank sofic88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shipston on Stour, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

I booked this hotel for my daughter & I for 3 nights. ideally situated 2 mins walk from the famous La Rambla yet quiet, comfortable & very clean. The staff all spoke excellent English & were always ready to help. Rooms were quiet with all the facilities, asked for a back room so no view from window except on the facing room but didn't matter as we were out all day. Free water, hot drinks, roof terrace, free wi fi, room safes all a bonus. Staying 3 nights midweek gave us free buffet style breakfast, plenty of choice. In addition it was so easy to find once dropped off with airport bus.
We would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colette N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We checked in at the Hotel Ciutat Vella in Barcelona at approximately 8:20 pm. Since we had been travelling for most of the day, we were rather tired and hungry and decided to put our luggage in our room and go out for dinner. We were gone for about an hour and a half and then returned to our hotel.
The next morning it was discovered that we were missing all our cash, but thankfully not our passports and credit cards. Since we arrived late the night before, we did not use the safe in the room….our fault, our mistake. Since we were warned not to carry money on the street, we left most of our cash in the room, thinking our room would be secure, but obviously someone had access to the room. In all the years we have been travelling, this is the first time that our room had been compromised.
We reported the theft to the front desk and were told that in order to further investigate, we would have to make a police report, which we did. The reaction from the hotel staff was less than sympathetic – rather cavalier. Security at this hotel is not effective at all and it seems there is not much interest in improving it, based on our observations and conversations with staff. Management was invisible.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank HeatherF512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Lleo Hotel
Lleo Hotel
#167 of 513 in Barcelona
1,180 reviews
El Raval
Hostal Grau
Hostal Grau
#66 of 513 in Barcelona
542 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Atlantis
Hotel Atlantis
#173 of 513 in Barcelona
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Meson Castilla Atiram
Meson Castilla Atiram
#221 of 513 in Barcelona
835 reviews
El Raval
Grupotel Gravina
Grupotel Gravina
#226 of 513 in Barcelona
1,039 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Reding Croma
Hotel Reding Croma
#211 of 513 in Barcelona
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ciutat Vella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ciutat Vella

Property: Hotel Ciutat Vella
Address: Carrer Tallers 66, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#156 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ciutat Vella 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Ciutat Vella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ciutat Vella Hotel
Hotel Ciutat Vella Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing