We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, but too expensive”
Review of Shunka

Shunka
Ranked #366 of 11,598 Restaurants in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $28 - $113
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Description: In much of the West, Asian food is ubiquitous; but in Spain, especially Barcelona where haute Catalan cuisine reigns supreme, it is downright adventurous. Shunka, a regionally-rare Japanese eatery whose name means “intense aroma of the season,” harnesses the best of the East-West dichotomy by fusing local ingredients with Japanese-style cooking methods.
Reviewed December 2, 2018

A very famous place to eat japanese food in Barcelona. Food is excellent and the wine list is interesting, and service is very friendly, BUT ..... the place is small, and prices are too high. We had a light meal and we payed more than 45€ per person. No invitation to a shot drink at the end, and no parking discount tickets, while those details are offered by other less expensive restaurants of the same kind. But food is fine, really.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Antoni1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,053)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 1,054 reviews

Reviewed November 19, 2018

I visit this place every time I am in Barcelona.
Sashimi is fabulous but the meat dishes are just a good. Been here many times and really enjoy a seat at the bar such that I can witness the wizardry of the chefs.

Highly recommended

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Globalator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2018 via mobile

Really disappointed. Underground and lacking in atmosphere and air! Really disappointed in the quality of the food. Hot options did not taste fresh and sushi options were basic and uninterested.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank ECHUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2018 via mobile

The reviews and articles about this place may have made a bag marketing move in my case, i have had expected more.
Good enough. But will no go back there again.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank evak150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2018

This is a delightful experience from start to finish. No need to spoil the movie you will be watching here. Great care, ingredients, technique. Never been to Japan but I guess this is as close as possible.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank ivanmariavele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shunka also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Shunka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing