We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small but great”
Review of Quimet & Quimet

Quimet & Quimet
Ranked #145 of 9,540 Restaurants in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $22
Cuisines: Mediterranean, European, Spanish, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Serves Alcohol
Neighborhood: Montjuic
Level Contributor
86 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Small but great”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

A fantastic little gem, this place is as big as a postage stamp. Bottles, jars and cans of food and wine stack right up to the ceiling. Quimet is nearly always standing room only and is normally packed.
The food here is simple and delicious, but I'd probably even come again just the place itself as I love spending time enjoying the uniquely chaotic atmosphere of Spanish meal times. I am always impressed when such minute establishments turn out fantastic quality food for so many people without any fuss.
Definitely worth a visit.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Drpete1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,680 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,163
    324
    105
    44
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Amazing food, super reasonable price”
Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

My friends and I went here for dinner one night when we are in Barcelona. The place is tiny but it was packed full of people. The food selection is amazing: foie gras, sardines, sea urchins, salmon, razor clams, variety of cheeses. All of them are fresh and so full of flavour. Drink list is also pretty impressive and very reasonably priced. Just don't be alarmed if you have to squeeze yourself in and stand so close to the next customers.

Helpful?
Thank Inem
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing pintxos!!”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I never had tapas like this before where you can customize the tapa you want based on their available list of items on the menu! It's similar to seating at a sushi bar where one can request how you like the sushi to be prepared....to our surprise, it turned out to be Super amazing! When my husband and I got there, we were a bit turned off because the place was so full and they didn't have chairs and tables. But when I saw what the people were eating I decided to give it a try. How bad can it be to stand and have a tapa or two for a few minutes? We ended up having our whole meal there including dessert!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lucillecarlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas PA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great tapas in a convivial atmosphere”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

It's not news that Quimet y Quimet serves some of the best tapas and pincho in Barcelona. Ours has included meaty and incredibly tasty razor clams, a custom pincho with dried beef and anything with truffles. The house cava also is very good, and the prices very fair. In addition, the bit-out-of-the-way location helps keep a local feeling despite its popularity; not many people just stumble upon this four-generation institution. Yes, it's packed, but that's part of the experience and it allowed us to strike up a conversation with a Dutch couple while savoring our food at a tiny stand-up table.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bartr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Bored of Michelin Starred Restaurants,then this is for you!”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Need a new experience away from formal fine dining? then this is for you,firstly, make sure it's open,limited opening hours as i recall,( also we returned for 'seconds' on a bank holiday and was closed) then just go in and get stuck in to some gorgeous,almost bite size exciting food combinations,washed down with some lovely wine and wallow in a lovely friendly,buzzy vibe and order 'till you drop!
Loved it!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PlesheyTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Quimet & Quimet also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Quimet & Quimet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing