We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cosy tapas bar in the Gothic quarter” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Les Tapes

Les Tapes
Ranked #1,544 of 9,334 Restaurants in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television
Neighborhood: Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cosy tapas bar in the Gothic quarter”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

Tired of the super touristy tapas bars we passed closer to Las Ramblas, we were on the hunt for something a little more local. Attracted by the fairy lights (I'm a sucker) we were delighted to find this place.

We sat at a table downstairs, where the ceilings are low, the decor kitsch and there were more fairy lights. The service was brilliant, the sangria strong and with plenty of fruit and the patatas bravas were the best I'd tasted during our trip.

Afterwards, we pulled up a stool at the small bar and watched some 5-Aside over a beer. Absolutely brilliant.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Josephine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    25
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Level Contributor
75 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Always a freindly welcome”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Been coming to Les Tapes over the last 12 years on my numerous visits to Barcelona, and to be honest it never lets me down.

Food is still good and the prices are still very reasonable.

Santi and Barbara are still a great couple who ensure everyone is ok at all times and i always seem to be almost locking up for them as usually the last one there.

So, if you want a normal well run bar with good service, good food, selection of drinks all at great prices then this is one bar that will never let you down.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jon_hall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Incredibly good food in an incredible atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

This bar in downtown Barcelona is run by a very friendly couple and party their family which is a guarantee for outstanding service. The food was very-very delicious and fresh. Plus it was cheap too so you really get value for your money. We were there on a night when Barcelona hosted Real Madrid and the whole bar was packed with people so the atmosphere on that night was unforgettable. Definitely recommend this place to everyone.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kovroland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nazare, Portugal
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Was everything I hoped for”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

I loved Barcelona but the first night we ate there was quite disappointing and I suppose not surprising, eating on one of the squares was quite expensive and very ordinary. The second night we decided to explore, I wanted to eat at a traditional Tapas bar. Les Tapes did not let us down, the restaurant was very cozy, packed with mainly spanish people, the owner although, not spanish, was absolutely fantastic and when I go to Barcelona I will be sure to visit there again.

I highly recommend Les Tapes!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JustDylan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Crazy little local cafe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

Crazy little local cafe, we watched FC Barcelona football here with the local people and it is an unforgettable experience. Owner - married couple speak English, is willing, the bar is well stocked. We recommend to visit and watch the fotball on TV, children who are not interested can watch the fish in the aquarium.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ViktorHoffman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Les Tapes also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Les Tapes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing