We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Devour Barcelona: Tastes, Tapas and Traditions of Barcelona Food”

Devour Barcelona Food Tours
Ranked #6 of 214 Food & Drink in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Discover Barcelona like a local on our small group food tours and tapas tours! A Devour Barcelona Food Tour is a fun-filled walking tour and culinary experience for visitors and locals alike. Join us as we taste our way around Barcelona on one of our exciting food tasting and cultural walking tours. Discover the people and ingredients behind authentic Spanish cuisine while we make our way around the city. Guests can enjoy sampling food and learning the history, culture and traditions of Barcelona as we visit its best markets, tapas bars, specialty food shops, bakeries and more. Our offerings include daytime food tours, evening tapas tours, flamenco and tapas tours, wine and tapas tours, and tapas and history tours.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Reviewed May 22, 2016 via mobile

Best thing we did while in Barcelona! Our tour guide Victoria was excellent and gave us a "locals" tour of the Barcelona food scene. We visited seven different places and tried some amazing food. She also provided us with a bit of history while walking to the different eateries.

Date of experience: May 2016
Thank Gabe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren A, Manager at Devour Barcelona Food Tours, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2016

Hi Gabe! What an honor—best thing you did while in Barcelona! I’m so glad Victoria showed you such a fabulous and delicious time on the tour, and please keep in touch if you are ever back in Spain! Thanks again for coming and for leaving the review! —Renee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,431)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"gracia neighborhood"
in 102 reviews
"history tour"
in 81 reviews
"tapas"
in 366 reviews
"taverns history"
in 26 reviews
"food and wine"
in 58 reviews
"wine tasting tour"
in 25 reviews
"food stops"
in 14 reviews
"gracia tour"
in 16 reviews
"small group"
in 47 reviews
"food culture"
in 14 reviews
"highly recommend this tour"
in 43 reviews
"great tour"
in 56 reviews
"food market"
in 20 reviews
"great introduction"
in 19 reviews
"four hours"
in 14 reviews
"spanish history"
in 12 reviews
"highlight of our trip"
in 22 reviews
Filter

1,134 - 1,138 of 1,431 reviews

Reviewed May 22, 2016

Took the wine and Tapas tour in Barcelona. we heard of it by word of mouth. We wish we had heard about it earlier in our journey, as it introduced us to good wines and how to enjoy tapas properly.We visited 2 bars and a wine shop. We tasted 10 different wines and vermouths. The selection was excellent, as were the tapas we ate. Fin, our tour guide knew his stuff, and by his love of his job, made our evening so much fun. Would highly recommend the tour.

Date of experience: May 2016
Thank Keith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren A, Manager at Devour Barcelona Food Tours, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2016

Hi Keith! Thanks for joining us on our walking wine tasting, and for leaving this wonderful review! Fintan is a true gem indeed and I’m so glad he had the opportunity to introduce you to the world of Spanish wine! Please let us know if you are ever back in Spain…safe travels! —Renee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2016

Seeing the myriad of 5-star TripAdvisor reviews for Devour Barcelona, my wife and I knew it was a must-book on our trip. We chose the Taverns, Tapas, and History Tour, as it seemed like the best of all worlds. We were lucky enough to book on a light day and wound up having our own personal tour, which was quite a treat! (Note that, for this tour, I believe the attendance is capped at 7-8 people, so it is typically a more personable experience none the less.) Our guide, Norah Piñeiro, was exceptionally knowledgeable of all things history and food, and was an absolute delight to interact and converse with. Not only did she introduce us to some amazing new foods and wines, but she took us to (and recommended for us) historical sights that we would have never found or properly appreciated on our own.
The tour itself took us to a bodega (i.e. "wine cellar" which serves light fare), a bar, and a restaurant. At all three, my wife and I were treated to amazing wines and gourmet dishes, well worth the price of admission. This is not one of those tours that go to large "touristy" restaurants and feed you typical "authentic cuisine" (purposely in quotation marks). Devour Barcelona only uses smaller locally-owned venues (that really benefit from these tours coming through) that are truly authentic to the area. The bodega and the bar have been locally-owned Barcelona establishments for 50+ years, loyally serving the residents of each respective area, and the restaurant was a newer undertaking of younger gastronomic and sommelier locals serving dishes that are new twists on traditional recipes. And in-between all this amazing food and wine, during your walks to the next destination, you have the opportunity to traverse through the streets of the Gothic Quarter and learn a great deal about the area's incredibly interesting history.
It doesn't get any better than this!

Date of experience: May 2016
1  Thank Jesse H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren A, Manager at Devour Barcelona Food Tours, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2016

Hi Jesse! Thanks so much for leaving this review! I’m so glad you enjoyed the evening tour with Norah—so lucky to have her all to yourselves! She’s a very passionate guide and I am thrilled to read such wonderful words of praise about her and the tour. Thanks again and keep in touch if you’re ever back in Spain! —Renee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2016 via mobile

My husband and I did the Tapas and History tour and enjoyed it immensely. It was a small group and our guide Esther was excellent, knowledgeable and personable. We had a great introduction to Barcelona history and visited off-the-beaten path places we would never otherwise have tried.

Not cheap, but a good value considering that all food and drink is included. We enjoyed it so much we have signed up for another tour n Madrid.

Date of experience: May 2016
Thank MicheleP632
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren A, Manager at Devour Barcelona Food Tours, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2016

Hi Michele! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave this review! I am so glad you enjoyed the evening with Esther!! I noticed you also took our Flamenco and Tapas tour in Madrid, and I hope it was just as fun! Thanks again and do keep in touch if you ever make it back to Spain! —Renee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed May 18, 2016 via mobile

I thoroughly enjoyed the wine and tapas tour with Fintan. It was a small group, personal, unhurried, clear, informative and fun. The wine and food were excellent and Fintan was knowledgable and a fantastic guide. I highly recommend this tour. I did a Devour Madrid tapas tour as well. The devour tours have been the highlights of my three week holiday in Spain thus far! Heather

Date of experience: May 2016
Thank HeatherL3041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren A, Manager at Devour Barcelona Food Tours, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2016

Hi Heather! Thank you so much for joining us and for leaving this review! I am so thrilled that the wine tour was the highlight of your trip! I will make sure that Fintan hears your words of praise :) Please keep in touch next time you’re in Spain! —Renee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Devour Barcelona Food Tours also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Devour Barcelona Food Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing