We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Catalan Food.”

Restaurant Ca L'Estevet
Reserve with
Restaurant Ca L'Estevet is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #329 of 11,155 Restaurants in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $51
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: El Raval
Description: This property was present and witnessed Barcelona's move from the late nineteenth century. Ca L'Estevet is a part of the rich history of the city as a rallying point of the certain nuclei of Barcelona's society, which had its great moment from the formation and development of the ineffable "gauche divine". The reports of La Vanguardia filled its capacity at noon, and today there are two cultural center of reference, the Museum of Contemporary Art (MACBA) and the "Centre de Cultura Contemporanea de Barcelona" (CCCB), as well as neighboring universities, while at night it still remains one of the most traditional meeting places.
Reviewed June 3, 2015

We loved this restaurant so much that we went twice for dinner in our 6 day visit to Barcelona. Easy walking distance from Las Ramblas Catalunya, it is tucked away in a lane way close to the University. On both occasions we didn't have a reservation (but this would probably be advisable if you want to go Friday or Saturday). Some of the food we sampled were codfish cakes (the best!), spinach salad, duck with orange, brain, slow roasted kid (goat). All simply presented, but cooked beautifully. The rum flambé at the end is a must! Service could be a tad slow, but it doesn't matter if you are happy to relax and enjoy the ambience (which we were). Plenty of locals dine here, which is always a good sign.

Date of visit: May 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank SusannahP2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (424)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

87 - 91 of 424 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2015 via mobile

Went here twice during a six night stay in Barcelona, only wish we had found it sooner. Didn't require a reservation midweek although on the Friday it did get quite busy and we may have been lucky in that we went quite early.

On both occasions the food was delicious. Meal for three with starters, deserts and drinks came to €110 euros both evenings. Entrecôte steak deserves a mention at €15, can't remember a steak like that for a while.

Would return!

2  Thank Dale C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2015

While visiting Barcelona, Spain, my wife and I had lunch (i.e., main meal) at Ca l'Estevet (Carrer Valldonzella 46), a restaurant that I had visited some 15 or 20 years earlier. My memory of it was that is was very good Catalan cuisine then, and our most recent visit confirmed that impression. In academic terms that would be a B+ / A- . The service was very efficient and friendly, and the food very tasty. My wife ordered an Escalivada dish for a starter (grilled red pepper, eggplant & chevre [goat cheese]) while I had an Amanida Estevet (Estevet Salad) --a varied green salad with lettuce, smoked red peppers, carrots, olives, etc. Very fresh and delicious. Just what I wanted. Then for the main course we both ordered the Saltejat de Calmarsets i Gambes (Sauteed Baby Squid and Shrimp) which was accompanied by slices of tomato and potato. Delicious. We also orderd a nice bottle of red wine from the Montsant appellation (Mas Collet). For dessert she had the Coulant de Xocolata (Chocolate 'Coulant') and I went for a very nice Raspberry Sherbet. All in all, very good and highly recommendable.

Date of visit: May 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Philip R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2015

I had dinner here with a friends and very good service and fantastic food with a very reasonanle price. Good for dinner or lunch and also for business purpose, they have a private room for 10 people.

Date of visit: May 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank joanr641
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2015 via mobile

I went here with my fiancé and we loved it! The servers were so attentive and the food was some of the best we had in Barcelona. It was really well priced too, not expensive at all.

Date of visit: April 2015
Thank Sydney M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Ca L'Estevet also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Restaurant Ca L'Estevet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing