We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“El Portalon dates back to 1890. They have hosted many people since then in a rustic but comfortable environment.”
Review of El Portalon

El Portalon
Reserve a Table
2
Wed, 5/22
8:00 PM
Ranked #1,048 of 11,693 Restaurants in Barcelona
Price range: $30 - $40
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Reviewed April 13, 2019

If you want to experience old world charm with good regional food and pleasant service you should not be disappointed.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank gjadkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (606)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 606 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2019

Went there to have som Cavas and it was a really nice place to stop for a while. Service was good and everything worked out well

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Uffe38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2019

Coming from NYC, El Portalon managed to surpass my greatest expectation!

From the inviting, stylish, clean and beautiful decor, the overall energy of the restaurant was perfect.

Our server David, greeted every table as if they were family, he was very well-spoken with outstanding customer service skills. We kept coming back and requesting him.

Not just the service, but the food was also amazing, the grilled octopus is a must!!

Overall El Portalon is what I would call a beautiful dining experience that doesn't come along easily anymore.

Great Job!

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank peterpetrov359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2019 via mobile

My wife and I visited the restaurant on Monday 25th March, a final lunch before we flew home. What a fantastic find. A beautifully maintained, kept in tradition restaurant. The service was first class and very attentive staff. We were handed two menus. The standard one and also the lunchtime set special. We opted for the standard and choose seafood paella. We were politely advised that to cook fresh it would take approximately 25 minutes and if we were like some tapas whilst we waited. We chose potatas bravas (with meat) and olives. The pb were easily the best that we had ever had. My wife chose a house white wine and was pleasantly surprised by how smooth it was. I had a gin and tonic, which the waiter came to the table and poured the gin into the glass in front of me and for what felt like an eternity (he must know me as it was well received!). The paella was amazing. Simple but so fresh and perfectly cooked. The restaurant had a good blend of customers, professional workers on there lunch break, tourists and groups of friends. It was quiet with just the noise of diners eating. This was a great find and during our stay we ate in some great places and paid considerably more than this restaurant, but nowhere near the service and quality of food like El Portalon. If and when we return, this will be the first place that we revisit. Thank you for a great lunch!

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank Papling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2019

Probably my favourite meal during our stay in Barcelona. Had a lunch and returned for dinner, and not disappointed with our second meal. Fabulous wine to go with our dinner, nice atmosphere - felt quite homely. Food was superb Highly recommended

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank NXW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Portalon also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to El Portalon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing