We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well worth it's number one spot!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Con Gracia

Con Gracia
Reserve with
Con Gracia is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #18 of 9,334 Restaurants in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $71 - $71
Cuisines: Mediterranean, European, Spanish, International, Contemporary, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Gracia
Description: At Con Gracia, chef Jordi Delfa offers his diners three carefully selected tasting menus using Mediterranean ingredients with subtle Asian influences. The Traditional menu offers a selection of five well executed dishes, while the Surprise menu, also consisting of five dishes, is designed to reveal the typical flavours of Con Gracia. The third menu (Expresion) aims to totally seduce diners with the sumptuous pleasures of Con Gracia's cuisine. The restaurant changes its menus every 2-3 months.
Warwick
Level Contributor
130 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Well worth it's number one spot!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

So glad we took all the advice on Trip Advisor and booked this restaurant - it was fantastic! If you like your food, you must come to this small very friendly restaurant and try one of the tasting menus, you have 2 to choose from - Surprise and Traditional. I think this restaurant deserves a Michelin Star!

Helpful?
Thank ianweatherbyblythe
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

1,534 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,199
    218
    78
    15
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wow!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

Following research on Tripadvisor and a recommendation from friends we booked a table online about a month before we travelled to Barcelona and I'm so glad we did......the restaurant is very small (about 12 tables only seating 24 diners) but this is nice, it's an intimate atmosphere. The service is outstanding (attentive but not intrusive) and the food is the best we've ever had.
Con Gracia offer only 2 menu types - 'traditional' and 'surprise'....both are 5 course Tasting Menus. The 'traditional' menu is listed course by course with explanations of each dish (so you know exactly what you're getting) whereas the 'surprise' menu is a complete surprise (you have no idea what you will eat......although the staff do ask if there is anything that you can't eat).
We had the 'surprise' menu with wine pairing - an altogether fantastic menu. We noticed that other diners who ordered the surprise menu didn't get the same food as us.....so the chef obviously mixes it up a bit to keep you guessing!! The cost is €60 per person for the food and €30 per person for the wine, we also had a glass of delicious cava on arrival €3.50 each. We don't regularly pay that kind of money for our meals on holiday as most of the time we're on a tighter budget...but it was my 40th birthday and a 'special occasion meal'. However we left feeling it was great value for money as the quality of the food and matched wine is easily the best we've ever eaten and we'd pay it again without a second thought!!
The overall experience was fantastic and we'll definitely have a return visit on our next trip to Barcelona. If you can make a booking when in Barcelona definitely do it.......you won't be disappointed!!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank citybreak007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A GEM IN BARCELONA”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

We found this restaurant by looking at the reviews on tripadvisor and made a booking 2 months before we arrived in Barcelona. It was well worth the experience. Con Gracia is a small and rather intimate venue. We chose the secret tasting degustation menu and matching wines and were definately not disappointed. Excellent service and explanations of the dishes and wines were provided.(Just one small complaint - we could sometimes hear what was being described about the dishes at the next table and had to block it out). This was value for money. An excellent choice.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Christopher F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food served with passion”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We ate at con Gracia the day we arrived in Barcelona simply because it was the only day we could get a reservation at this tiny restaurant on the edge of the Gracia district (Hence the name, I assume). We were of course attracted by its rating and previous reviews, and were not disappointed. We had the "Traditional" menu, along with the wine tasting option, which offered a different wine recommended by the staff with each course
What can I say? Every mouthful was exquisite, starting with appetisers then fois gras pâté, followed by prawns, cod with tapenade and perfectly cooked rack of lamb, and ending with a perfect chocolate fondant, plus coffee and petit fours. All the wines were interesting and worked beautifully with the food , making the whole experience near perfect and up there with one and two star Michelin food I have eaten (and better then some who are allegedly of that standard)
We chatted to the owner over our coffee and were very impressed by his passion for what he, his chef (Irishman Paul Treacy) and his staff are trying to do with this restaurant, and his commitment to value of money. Is it good value? Well, it depends what you are prepared to pay and benchmarks elsewhere. A seven course tasting menu plus a different wine with each course plus a glass of cava ( outrageously priced at 3.50 a glass) plus a couple of other extras came to 196 euro, or £173. In New York I have paid more for something not as good, in England I have paid double for a supposed Michelin 2 star meal not in the same league, including wines which were overpriced to the point of larceny.
My only criticism (not really a criticism at all, since entirely my fault, for not booking earlier) is that the restaurant could not fit us in for a return trip to try the "Surprise" menu even though I called in the vain hope that they might have had a cancellation. No such luck
Unless you are on a tight budget, eat here when in Barcelona. And book early!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil685
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not just simply great food...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

I firmly believe that the sign of a truly great restaurant is that not only does the food need to be excellent but the theatre of the experience needs to match. Con Gracia is such a restaurant.

Given the choice between the two tasting menus, my wife and I opted for the ‘surprise’ option. A very accurate description because you don’t have the faintest idea what will be brought to you next. You needn’t worry, everything that is brought to you is of exceptional quality, tastes divine and accompanies the perfectly matched wines.

What we weren’t quite prepared for was the great sense of humour of the gentlemen serving us (I suspect he was probably the owner). He had both my wife and I in hysterics which made the evening even more enjoyable.

All in all this restaurant ticks all the boxes. If you consider yourself to be a ‘foody’ then get booking once you have finished reading this review. Chop, chop!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Con Gracia also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Con Gracia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing