We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great local find”
Review of Can Ramonet

Can Ramonet
Reserve with
Can Ramonet is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #714 of 9,540 Restaurants in Barcelona
Price range: $22 - $67
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Barceloneta
Description: One says that it is the first house that was constructed in the district of the Barceloneta; their walls later gave shelter to a bar of wines and to a tavern of fishermen. Until in 1956 Ramona and Ramonet they initiate a project that, without them to intuit it, would register the gastronomy of the marine district. Can Ramonet is a restaurant that watches the past but the present lives, and is that tradition and modernity are not fought. It offers an amiable space devised by the interiorista Lazaro Rosa Violan to facilitate a gastronomical experience reviewed by chef Jordi Herrera, of the Manairo restaurant. Faithful to the line of Catalan traditional kitchen emphasizing rice and fish, Can Ramonet serves so much in his interior as in his terrace black, caldosos rice and paellas of the house, vermicelli, zarzuelas of seafood or sea breams, meats selections or a well-taken care of selection of covers and classic subjects of gossip and author. “… and thus it will follow because a place that lasts three centuries has eagerness of being eternal.”
naples, fl
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A great local find”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Outstanding food, great service and a "local" restaurant. A block off the main road, we were told to try it by a taxi driver who was not taking us to a restaurant, and did not suggest that we use the drivers name, the fish was perfect as were the shell fish, enjoy

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank esqnaples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

834 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    345
    152
    72
    69
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Tried this as the one we were heading for was full. Great selection of tapas, food was excellent and service friendly.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank 280beac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
111 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Great Seafood”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

I'm not sure how some of the other reviewers can say anything bad about this place. And the owners are definitely NOT Chinese (although it would not be a bad thing if a Chinese chef cooked Catalan seafood this well!). The fish are so fresh that some of them are still squirming! It is cooked perfectly, the service is charming, the wine list is thorough, the decor inside is lovely and the prices are moderate. Indeed don’t miss this place if you are in Barcelona!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Br00klynB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Great paella”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We came across this place after avoiding the restaurants on the main strip from barceloneta metro towards the beach.

We arrived at about 2pm and were shown to our table in a quiet little 'piazza' area. We ordered the house special paella and a mixed salad and the obligatory jug of sangria to wash it down with.

The food was delicious, fresh and tasty and we had no issues with the service. It's a little more pricey than the main 'strip'at about 14euro each for the paella, but we weren't at all rushed and certainly didn't feel like we were being watched by passers by every 10 seconds.

This is a great place for a chilled out lunch!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent local food”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We found this restaurant, only slightly off the beaten track, on our first evening in Barcelona. The staff all speak good English and service was excellent. The food was delicious and very good value and the outdoor area was very comfortable (we visited in a heat wave!).
On our last night in the city, our concierge recommended the sister restaurant Nou Ramonet but based on a quick look, there was little atmosphere... so we walked round the corner and ate at Can Ramonet again. The specialty of the house is a traditional paella with rabbit which was delicious.
We had a quick look inside the building as well. It is one of the oldest restaurants in the area and has lots of character and charm. Would definitely go back again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Can Ramonet also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Can Ramonet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing