We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing special....”
Review of Can Majo

Can Majo
Ranked #357 of 9,540 Restaurants in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Scenic view, Families with children, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Barceloneta
Description: Founded the sailing village of Barcelona, his kitchen receives fresh products from the sea every day. That's why paellas, fish and sellfish are their specialty. 'The sea, its essence and its products imbues our soul and our restaurant'.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nothing special....”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We came to this restaurant following recommendations here, to eat "the best pallea in Barcelona". We were dissapointed. The pallea was just OK. The meal was very pricy with no value for money

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank S Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,522 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    624
    583
    184
    71
    60
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vasteras, Sweden
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice Seafood, but nothing special”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

The location is nice, with a potentially great view. But during the night you cannot see the ocean or the beach.
The food was good, but not great. It's a above average restaurant, but not more.
Since Barcelona offer such great restaurants, this one will be forgotten.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kristoffer N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
159 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, below average food”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

The location can't be beat: outdoor by the beachfront. However, it all goes downhill from there. Food is really sub par and the prices are very high. At our table, several people found the paella to be overly salty. Others found the shellfish to be poor prepared and unappetizing.
I found much better food elsewhere in Barcelona, where the choices are numerous. Also, I disliked having beach vendors leaning over the partition to attempt to sell their wares to restaurant patrons.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cardtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great paella”
Reviewed October 24, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Reservations a must! We ate on the terrace where we enjoyed the beach ambiance. We had Paella Can Majo which was loaded with seafood and presented in the pan, then served to us by the waiter. Staff was friendly and accommodating. Romantic sunset dinner accompanied by strolling musicians.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Patrick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
98 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Terrible Food”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

I was surprised to see all the positive reviews on this place. We attended a dinner for 50 and the food was awful. Flavorless and overcooked. The outdoor location by the water seemed like a good idea but at night you can't see anything on the waterfront and for the entire evening mediocre musicians and street vendors were pestering us to give them money. All of this could have been forgiven if the food hadn't been so bad.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank shandydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Can Majo also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Can Majo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing