We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great fresh tapas, although a little expensive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cal Pep

Cal Pep
Ranked #283 of 8,480 Restaurants in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: El Born / La Ribera
Description: Cal Pep offers a fresh and bright culinary experience with easy and quick preparations. Our restaurant concept grew from the idea of sharing the dishes, their tastes and flavours, in a 'tapas'-style. Faithful to this style, Pep invites us to enjoy light, exquisite and extremely varied dishes. Cal Pep is authentic Mediterranean cuisine, reflecting Pep's personal style and incorporating seasonal ingredients. You will enjoy fish, shellfish and fresh produce, all prepared with Pep's originality and flair. Welcome and happy dining! For a truly great tapas place, sit at the bar at old-school Cal Pep, Thomas Keller's vote for the best food in Europe. -- The Guardian The 'Tapas Institution' of Barcelona. When it comes to Tapas Bar, it doesn't get bigger than the name Cal Pep. --Streetlife Cal Pep ranked #31 in the 50 Best Restaurants in the World -- Restaurant Magazine There is no shtick here apart from superbly fresh seafood, served simply and on plates designed for sharing. -- The Telegraph
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great fresh tapas, although a little expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

Cal pep came recommended from a friend, and we took the chance to go for lunch. Great concept and really fresh food. The service was attentive and the staff friendly to English speaking tourists like us!! Great atmosphere, and cold beer, which was needed after a long mornings walking!! Only negative was we thought it was a little expensive. Overall would definitely recommend!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Apnewell81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,571 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    809
    411
    171
    103
    77
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
48 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We called and made reservations with someone who spoke English, we didn't want to take a chance on our Spanish. 6 of us walked 45 min to the restaurant. The place was packed, but we had made reservations, so we were not worried. They took us to the back room, our name was not on the list. A very polite young man explained to the gentleman who was in charge, I believe he was the owner, and his attitude was one that is not described in polite words. I told the kids we could try again tomorrow ^ they replied they didn't want to eat that jerk's food. We ended up at Cheese Me and had a wonderful 200 euro dinner.

So, my advice, if you make a reservation, have a "Plan B"..

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shelly r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“over priced and over rated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Had really looked forward to our visit to Cal Pep and was ready for a different type of dining experience. Waited for around an hour for a seat at the bar whilst watching the food being cooked which was fun. We were asked what type of food we liked and suggestions were made as to what we should try. I think it's important to point out that if you don't put the brakes on with the waiting staff writing down lots of veggie suggestions (spinach, artichokes, tortilla etc) you will be full up by the time the main part i.e. fish/meat comes.
We chose tomato bread, spinach with chick peas, ham croquettes and small fried fish. (So far so - standard tapas! -nothing different or special). The fish however was delicious served with potatoes and we also had beef served with potatoes. We had the house red wine which was fine.
What really annoyed me about this restaurant was the urgency to get you out of the door. We were asked three times what we wanted for dessert even although we had not yet been served all of our tapas. The owner was pointing to us and saying to the people waiting in line that we would be '2 minutes' even although the coffee still hadn't arrived and we still had full glasses of wine. The final straw was when my husband was paying the bill and the owner was rolling his eyes to the people waiting indicating that he obviously thought we were not leaving quickly enough, even although we hadn't even been in there 50 minutes.
There was not one word of thanks for having just spent 100 Euros.
For the type of food we had we felt it was way over priced and especially when compared to another fantastic restuarant we had eaten at that cost exactly the same.
Frankly we found the whole experience to be cynical and money grabbing.
I think at one time this restaurant would have been great but the food is no better than most of the more reasonable tapas bars where at least you will get treated as a welcomed customer and thanked for spending your hard earned cash.
I really can't see what the fuss is about this place.
Would not recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An Eating Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

What an experience!

You queue for a place at the bar, when you get seated you watch your meal being prepared. If there is a menu we didn't see it; the staff recommend what's fresh on the day and it was delicious. Mostly fish as you would expect; we had a tuna tartar Fine dining it isn't, but a great tasting eating experience - certainly.

We had two bottles of wine put in front of us and paid only for what we drank from them.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KraftyManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A MUST IN BARCELONA”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Simple tapas bar - as you would expect in Barcelona - except that it has a heavy focus on seafood and they do it with perfection - the fish is extremely fresh and the preparation is done with excellence

you can't book - so you just need to go and wait in line!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank marwanf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cal Pep also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Cal Pep? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing