We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent tapas and great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cal Pep

Cal Pep
Ranked #351 of 9,396 Restaurants in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: El Born / La Ribera
Description: Cal Pep offers a fresh and bright culinary experience with easy and quick preparations. Our restaurant concept grew from the idea of sharing the dishes, their tastes and flavours, in a 'tapas'-style. Faithful to this style, Pep invites us to enjoy light, exquisite and extremely varied dishes. Cal Pep is authentic Mediterranean cuisine, reflecting Pep's personal style and incorporating seasonal ingredients. You will enjoy fish, shellfish and fresh produce, all prepared with Pep's originality and flair. Welcome and happy dining! For a truly great tapas place, sit at the bar at old-school Cal Pep, Thomas Keller's vote for the best food in Europe. -- The Guardian The 'Tapas Institution' of Barcelona. There is no shtick here apart from superbly fresh seafood, served simply and on plates designed for sharing. -- The Telegraph
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
89 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Excellent tapas and great service”
Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

Cal Pep is a real gem of a tapas bar in the heart of El Born. The service is warm and friendly and the chef's selection of various tapas was the best meal we had on our trip. Monkfish, steak and omelettes were standouts. Well worth the queue!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Micheál B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,826 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    951
    470
    196
    116
    93
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fabulous food - the ultimate tapas”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Went there at lunchtime, mainly cos I could see the queue forming outside. so get there well before opening time. there are just few seats around the counter, behind which the staff cook up fabulous tapas to order (or according to what the proprieter orders - you get a little less of a say)before your very eyes. the result is quite exceptional. Not the cheapest tapas in town, maybe,but well worth it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alisonns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ancona, Italy
Level Contributor
181 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Cal Pep, an institution!”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

I come to Barcelona every year since 1995 and I since never missed to have lunch at Cal Pep.
Go there early, it may be a long queue, esepcially saturday at lunchtime. Saturday evening, sunday and monday at lunch is closed.
Don't expect nouvelle cuisine or any light meal. This is real lunchtime strong dishes!
I love to sit and eat on the high stalls at the bar, watching while they cook me various fish dishes. I love tallerines (when they have them), chipirones y garbanzos, xanquete con huevo. But they can serve you the best and fresh cocina del mercado, the veritable cuisine du marché in Barcellona. It is best for pescados y mariscos, but you can get good meat too.
Don't go there if you are in a diet, you are high in colesterol and cannot stand the noises and the smell of a real open space kitchen!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dharmamaster61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Unexpected”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

The food was mostly very good - but I do take exception with the practices - or my naivety.
When we arrived I asked for a menu. We were told there was no menu. The waiter said he would suggest that he choose 4 tapas for the 2 of us to share. We agreed. We assumed wine would be by the glass, instead turned out to me a bottle
Bottom line - Lunch - 4 tapas, and wine - over 135 euros.
So if you go to Cal Pep and don't want to spend that much, be smarter than I. Get the details.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GoodBadSomeUgly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best tapas”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

I love this place! Freshest, most delicious tapas. Gotta wait for a place at the bar counter, but well worth it. The chaps there are so passionate about the food they serve.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CWL123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cal Pep also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Cal Pep? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing