We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely spot for lunch”
Review of Cafe de L'Opera

Cafe de L'Opera
Ranked #2,036 of 9,540 Restaurants in Barcelona
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Cafe, European, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Drinks, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: La Rambla
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Lovely spot for lunch”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Popped in here for lunch on a day trip and had a thoroughly pleasant hour or so. The waiter was polite, friendly, efficient and recommended a very nice bottle of Penedes (Catalan produced) red wine. We ate a mixed platter of meats, Manchego cheese, patatas bravas, meatballs & tomato garlic bread. I have to say the food was not outstanding but certainly a good standard and what we had was perfect for the time of day.
As for the comments about locals not eating there, on the evidence I have to disagree; the only tourists in there were us two and a Swedish couple who came in for coffee and ice cream. The other patrons (of various ages) were all locals, eating their lunch. I do get the feeling though from the last time I was in Barcelona that the evenings and late afternoons are when tourists tend to visit.

The venue itself is a real delight and you can readily understand that it has barely changed since 1929. There's some great photos on their website from years past that show how little it has changed.

I'm certainly going there for lunch next time I'm in Barcelona!

(Oh and if you do visit, have a go at trying to order in Spanish or Catalan; trust me a little effort goes a long way)

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Holidaystar67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    218
    85
    45
    56
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“esquisito!”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

go to Cafè de l'Opera, ask for "churros con chocolate" and prepare yourselves to a trip in the real hot chocolate taste!! moreover, the place look amazing, in beautiful art nouveau style! so, you'll really enjoy the time there!!!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank fradelar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, Lancashire.
Level Contributor
228 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Mmmm... coffee and cake at the heart of the Ramblas”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

An excellent traditional long narrow bar cafe on the Ramblas, opposite the Opera House. Great atmosphere inside with classic decor and waiters to match. Good coffee and delicious cakes - with an ample selection to choose from. A little pricey, but that's what I'd expect in the middle of the tourist area. Perfect for people watching too. Been here a couple of times now and will always return if we're in Barcelona.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“A must see.....but only the once”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

This is a must see; great interior, the history; perfect table service by good wait staff, and prices good for such a spot.
However, the food and coffee is very second rate - if that.
Con leche poor, americano amd espresso no crema; you have a big choice in BCN and they simply don't try here. Try it once to take in the atmosphere then drink elsewhere
(oh, and the chocolate con churros is OK, bt again, much batter and cheaper in back street cafes - go in the places that look like they're full of locals, they are much better. Cross the Rambla to Raval, but stay at the top end after dark)

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Geoff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Disapointing”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

A historical, well-located cafe. Waiters are fast BUT it is dirty and make you think you must leave immediately after you finish your food or drink.It is the same as poor "markiz patisserie" in Turkey. What a shame!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Canan_428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe de L'Opera also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Cafe de L'Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing