We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Brilliant food. ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe De L'Academia

Cafe De L'Academia
Ranked #79 of 8,499 Restaurants in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Brilliant food. ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

We found this place when the restaurant we wanted was closed. It was busy but we were able to be seated at the bar - fairly typical in Spanish retaurants to do this. Service was quick and friendly and the food was delicious. I had a marinated raw cod and chickpea salad starter followed by a squid and rice risitto type dish that was mouth wateringly good.
The restaurant is located tucked in a back atreet just off the main tourist area - well worth seeking out.

Helpful?
1 Thank Gazdance
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

830 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    551
    206
    48
    14
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
139 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“super food and good atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

what a discovery - will be going back. thanks to trip advisor stumbled upon this restaurant. very good service, fresh and innovative approach to local cuisine. I really liked it. recommend the tostaditos with foie and moscatel. - yummy indeed. sole for main course with a courgette topping. very friendly and helpful service. really nicely situated on a tiny square. a big thumbs up.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelleralways2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
56 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Quiet Romance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Went based on a Rick Steves review. Great restaurant with a small romantic space. Our favorite in Barcelona

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank robert w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great, highly recommended!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Found this restaurant by chance, booking recommended due to demand, but the staff placed us at the bar due to tables being full. The food was really delicious, lovely varied fresh menu and good size dishes - some of the best food in Barcelona so far, mid-range pricing worth it due to overall quality. Would highly recommend.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tilta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best meal of our Barcelona stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

This restaurant had been well recommended ahead of our visit and didn't disappoint. Beautifully situated in the Gothic quarter, the food, service and ambience were excellent. The staff were very attentive and concerned that our fish was cooked exactly as we liked it. The desserts in particular were delicious. We booked a week ahead and recommend others do the same.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe De L'Academia also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Cafe De L'Academia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing