We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice pasta and salads”
Review of Cafe De L'Academia

Cafe De L'Academia
Ranked #81 of 9,610 Restaurants in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Very nice pasta and salads”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

This restaurant is down a very small street in Barri Gotic area of Barcelona. Cabs cannot drive down this street so they have to leave you a couple of blocks away. Very few restaurants on the street and I would not walk it as a lone female on my own late. But once you find it, it's worth it. Tables are crowded and chairs are uncomfortable, but we both had the pear, Parmesan herbed greens salad (excellent) and the house made tagliatelle with prawns (very fresh and tasty). They have full and half portions of both. I could have gotten away with the half salad and the half pasta and it would have been enough for me. My ganache was too heavy but my husbands lemon meringue was light and almost key lime tasting. He loved it.

Waiters were vey helpful and spoke good English. Recommended a nice wine and we were very pleased. Great value for the quality.

Btw, this seems to be a Barcelona restaurant thing, but if you call that same evening and either ask for a reservation or want to come earlier than your reservation is scheduled, they seem to always tell you they are full when they really aren't. This happened to us multiple times. In this case we called ahead asking if we could come earlier than our reservation, and was told emphatically no. We went ahead anyway and sure enough multiple tables were available so we were seated right away.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gate6122016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,005 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    671
    251
    54
    16
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fraserburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Shhh! Too good to share!!”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We were introduced to L'Academie by friends living in Spain. Thanks to them we had the best 2 lunches of our stay in Barcelona. The food is amazing.
The restuarant offers a very reasonable fixed price lunch menu which seemed very popular. We however chose from the a la carte menu which offered a wide variety of Catalan dishes. The dishes come in 2 sizes which is a great idea for those like myself who cannot make up their mind and allows you to try more dishes.
Everything on the menu sounds delicious. Our favourites were the salmon tartare, goats cheese and artichoke salad, seafood risotto and the fantastic foie risotto.
The owner Jordi works front of house and has a friendly welcoming manner which adds to the wonderful Spanish atmosphere. The waiting staff are attentive but discreet. Jordi also owns a vineyard and you can sample the excellent red wine he produces.
There is a good choice of desserts, we enjoyed the yogurt icecream with cherries steeped in a liquer and my partner had the best creme catalan he has ever tasted.
Our meal ended with a dessert wine called Ochio. The wine was so good I ordered a case of it on my return to UK.
L'Academia is not to be missed if you are visiting Barcelona.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank scotalnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaHave, N.S.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Worth the search!”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stumbled on this restaurant one evening, and were delighted! The food is excellent and the atmosphere is intimate and lovely. The service is discreet but friendly. On two trips to Barcelona we've been there three times, and it never disappoints. The pintada rostida with a layered apple/potato dish is exquisite.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ElloraGrrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Tasty, authentic cuisine in a relaxed atmosphere.”
Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed a relaxed later lunch here after a full morning's walking round Barcelona.

The service was welcoming, attentive but discrete, the menu small but authentic and very tasty. My husband had a full portion as his main course but I found that a half portion was enough. Nice to have the choice.

We shared a lovely bottle of red that was recommended on the menu and a plate of cakes for dessert.

Would highly recommend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cdenyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A taste of traditional Catalan cuisine...”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Had placed a reservation over the phone a few days before for 9.00pm & during the course of the meal, the place became full.
I had a lovely light timbale of vegetables for a starter & the other half had the Catalan sausage (both available in 1/2 portions).
For mains, I had turbot from the Spanish-language menu (for some reason not on the English menu) which fell off the bone, while the other half had sirloin.
For dessert, we shared a selection of 5 cakes (all were very tasty).
Overall, an excellent meal that only came to 60 euros for three courses, drinks & a tip.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PJ R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe De L'Academia also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Cafe De L'Academia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing