We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A welcoming Catalan restaurant that delivered”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Agut

Agut
Reserve with
Agut is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,094 of 9,396 Restaurants in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A welcoming Catalan restaurant that delivered”
Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

Excellent service, incredible fish stew, Creme Catalan to die for. This seemed to be authentic Catalan cuisine and was one of my favourite lunches in my week in Barcelona.

Helpful?
Thank MjGSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    158
    42
    21
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Charming restaurant”
Reviewed June 18, 2014

We went here on the recommendation of Tripadvisor. A little difficult to locate as we didn't have the full address. The search was worth our while. The paintings around the restaurant walls added a bohemian touch to the restaurant. We had the half portions which were ample enough. Two starters and two main courses. Salmon carpaccio, cod, lamb. They were not full, The service was okay, the wine was excellent. Would have loved to have had another meal here.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shafi51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Catalan high level food”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Efficient and friendly service on a classic decorated restaurant, ideal for lunch with friends or family. We tasted several dishes that were served all together to be shared by 4 people. That's a good option if you want to try different tastes and textures. The specials of the day are highly recommendable, as well as the rice dishes. Most surprising were the meatballs filled with foie and the smoked eel served on crispy roasted "coca" bread. The wine list was well aligned with the food. The deserts were a weak point, but you can just skip them and take just an espresso to round off your meal. The price was also quite reasonable for Barcelona standards.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank efimerica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Best meal of our Euro trip!”
Reviewed May 23, 2014

We had an AMAZING meal at Agut. I'll agree with other reviewers that the wait staff weren't overly nice, but that didn't really bother us (I got the impression our waiter just didn't speak much English). Most of their dishes are offered as half or full portions. Between two of us, we ordered two half-sized starters, two half-sized entrees, split a desert, each had a glass of wine, and all of that with the great bread they served filled us up perfectly and our bill was under 60 euro! The smoked eel started was seriously one of the best things either of us had ever eaten...We ate here on the 3rd night of our 13-day vaca and talked about that eel for the rest of the trip. If we would have had another night in Barcelona, we probably would have come back to eat more of that smoked eel and try some other menu items. As we predicted, nothing else we ate on our trip came close to this meal!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kaitlyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

We went here on a recommendation from Rick Steves, and we were pretty disappointed with our dinner experience. The service was ok, but the food was definitely lacking. My husband had the steak, I had the sea bass, and this was our worst meal while in Barcelona. I would not return.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank tiamaria529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Agut also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Mollet del Valles, Province of Barcelona
Granollers, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Agut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing