We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good value for money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Agut

Agut
Reserve with
Agut is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,184 of 9,334 Restaurants in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A good value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

Do not enter there if you want the thrills and fuss of a high end restaurant. The decor may even rebuf you. But I advise that you pass over this. Normally, the food will make up for the lack of decor (even though some improvements would be welcomed).

This was out first night out in Barcelona after our flight. We just walked in, after I checked the reviews on Tripadvisor. The restaurant was fully booked but they have a small bar area where 4 people can sit. My wife and I sat there and basically had the area for ourselves with a very nice waiter that took the time to help us make sense of the menu. He recommended local dishes and even suggested half portions (not trying to oversell to us tourists!) so we could try a bit of everything. We had a great evening...enjoying the talk and the food.

We saw plenty of locals coming in - a sure value here. The place is clean, the food was good, people are nice and the price is right!

Again, not a 3 micheline wanna be restaurant. But I do not think you can go wrong.

We liked it.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JFrancois_IM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    151
    42
    21
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hounslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Soulless”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

Went there due to Tripadvisor reviews,as we wanted a good Catalan meal.Arrived at 9pm.Only people in the Restaurant. Staff were Ok,but nothing more.It had a plenty of choice on the Menu and chose Tapas as a Starter and Oxtail as a Main.The Tapas were Ok no more, but the Oxtail was sublime.The only problem was the courses were served so quickly,i felt it took the enjoyment out of the evening.Another Table of 4 arrived after us and were served 3 courses and were gone within an hour.We managed to stretch the meal to 1 1/2 hrs.
Got to say if i went to Barcelona again i wouldn't bother.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank scw_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food, questionable service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

Came here following a Lonely Planet guide that said Agut was a traditional barcelona restaurant. The food was excellent. However, I was charged almost twice the price that was shown on the menu. Since I don't like confrontation, had to pay 25€ instead of 15€...

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank juji1987bg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herzliyah
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Restaurant with surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

Agut is a Catalan restaurant with many twists. It is a friendly, family like environment with a simple, easy to chose menu. Yet here is also the surprise: you order a terrineand you expect something usual and you get something out of heaven and for sure not from Catalonia. Everything we touched in this restaurant located inside the Gothic area, was tasty, well presented and delivered with a smile.
The service was extremely friendly, although the English lagged. But they understood us and we managed to understand them and another surprise, menu was in English. Also they offer two wines to accompany the dinner, both very good-Spanish table wine.
Last but not least prices are fine, a bid higher than Barcelona's cheap but Agut deserves it.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good Catalan restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

Taken here be a colleague from Barcelona with a large group. Very pleasant place, it was quiet at 8:30 but this is very early for Barcelona eating (we were told you could order here until 11 without problem).

We had a mixture of picas/tapas to start, which were good, especially fried prawns which were excellent. For the main course I had cod with red peppers, which was very good indeed. Others had steaks which looked good but perhaps less exciting.

Wine was good and service was quite traditional, so slightly grumpy but in a charming way. Helps if you speak a few words of Spanish or Catalan perhaps.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Owen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Agut also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Granollers, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Agut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing