We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“..a good restaurant !! ...”
Review of 7 Portes

7 Portes
Reserve with
7 Portes is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #561 of 9,540 Restaurants in Barcelona
Price range: $39 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Barceloneta
Description: Opening its doors in 1836 to begin offering over 150 years of excellence, Restaurant de les 7 Portes is truly the most classic of Barcelona's eating places. Here, you can enjoy the finest Catalan cooking in an intimate setting or in one of the spacious banquet halls, accompanied by Spain's best wines and "cavas" (sparkling wines) from the well-stocked cellar. The restaurant is housed in the Pòrtics d'en Xifré, a building declared a national monument and the first place in Barcelona where running water was installed. In 1942, it became the property of Paco Parellada, founder of one of the foremost dynasties of restaurateurs in all of Catalonia.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
170 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“..a good restaurant !! ...”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

we saw all the really awful reviews of this restaurant. but as it was a sunday and having great difficulty in locating neighbourhood dining, we opted to dine here at Portes. we knew the comments concentrated on poor service.

well guys...the service was good !! the meal enjoyable. the outdoor dining area good but the interior dining room great.

they did tho serve me a very undercooked "medium" steak. i did not send it back but they did query why i hadn't eaten it all at the end of the meal. at which point the head waiter descended upon us and sincerely apologised. we received complementary grappa and a few other drinks. these people are really nice.

my steak was an excellent cut of beef, the asparagus were perfectly grilled, great sangria, etc...

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,280
    2,121
    963
    451
    286
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Malibu, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful old world setting”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great experience. This place has been around for over 100 years and feels like a turn of the century french brasserie......Flamenco artists and painters have dined and performed here. The food and service were excellent and it was walking distance of our hotel: The Duquesa de Cardona. It gets very crowded later in the evening, but we went around 7pm and had no problem getting a table.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lolita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Food was OK but spoilt by off handed service”
Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant was recommended by our hotel when I asked for the best Paella in town.I can't complain about the Paella ,the 3 of us all had different types,but I wouldnt say it was good enough to bring me back.The decor had a very traditional charm.
We arrived early so it wasn't busy but the service we received from the grumpy old waiter was like we were interrupting his evening.
The head waiter who took our order was fine and other younger waiters seemed to be going about their business with a smile.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wilko63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Paella Heaven!”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We were looking for great Paella, so we asked our hotel front desk and they suggested 7 Portes.

Not only was the Paella good, but they had an amazing appetizer sampler and good Sangria!
It's a shame it has been rated low by those who were unable to experience the food, because it was simply amazing.
Great portions, decent value, and good service.

Worth a try!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shelley-Anne17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We were recommended to go to 7 Portes by friends from Barcelona for the traditional and excellent paella. However, the overall experience was extremely disappointing, mostly because of the poor service. We waited a few minutes for a table, which was not a problem, and were eventually taken up to the jazz room on the first floor, where there were only three tables seated. In spite of the near-empty room, service was lethargic, eventually our order was taken. We waited for 45 minutes to finally get an order of bread with tomatoes we hadn't ordered, instead of the mixed tapas plate we had. Some time later, our paella arrived. We sent it back, still wanting the appetizer. It eventually arrived--lackluster preparation of typical Spanish appetizers, no explanation of what was on the plate, and undistinguished fare. The house white wine was awful, a second glass of wine ordered to go with the paella arrived after we'd finished (the house red wine by the glass was also served very cold). By this time I was so disillusioned with the service problems that the paella was doomed to disappoint. When I spoke to the manager afterwards, they apologized and said it was not normal service; eventually they offered up a drink to compensate for the problems, not an acceptable resolution, particularly as I'd even been charged for the bread with tomatoes we hadn't ordered, and was hardly in the mood for a friendly drink. If this had not been such an expensive outing I wouldn't complain but both the pedigree and price range demand better. Skip this and take your chances with a lesser travelled spot.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TorontoSojourners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 7 Portes also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to 7 Portes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing