We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still a Favorite after 15 years” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 7 Portes

7 Portes
Reserve with
7 Portes is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #526 of 9,317 Restaurants in Barcelona
Price range: $38 - $49
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Barceloneta
Description: Opening its doors in 1836 to begin offering over 150 years of excellence, Restaurant de les 7 Portes is truly the most classic of Barcelona's eating places. Here, you can enjoy the finest Catalan cooking in an intimate setting or in one of the spacious banquet halls, accompanied by Spain's best wines and "cavas" (sparkling wines) from the well-stocked cellar. The restaurant is housed in the Pòrtics d'en Xifré, a building declared a national monument and the first place in Barcelona where running water was installed. In 1942, it became the property of Paco Parellada, founder of one of the foremost dynasties of restaurateurs in all of Catalonia.
Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
72 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Still a Favorite after 15 years”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

When in Barcelona we always make a point to eat at 7 Portes. It was recommended 15 years by a (portly!) policeman when we asked "Where is the best paella?" It delivered then and ever since. We were there recently (July 2013) and had the paella and the cava sangria! Delicious!
A bit out of the way, but probably another reason it is visited by so many celebrities! The walls are a testament to how many have enjoyed their meal there. We always go for lunch!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank VirtualGlobalLiving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,838 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,184
    2,026
    925
    425
    278
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
165 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Delicious food, good atmosphere, service could turn you away”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

We were looking for a place to eat good Paella in Barcelona (mid-August 2013) not far from La Rambla, but away from tourist central. Our hotel suggested this restaurant and having listed it as a possibility while planning our trip (saw it on TripAdvisor), we decided to give it a try. We were 7 which included 3 teen adults. We almost got up and left due to the semi-warm welcome at the door and the pretty poor service from waiter (simply adjust tip accordingly and enjoy your meal). We were glad we decided to stay as the teens were hungry and tired of walking. Another benefit is it has a kitchen open from 1:00 pm to 1:00 am. There are many places that are closed for lunch after 2:00 pm until 5:00 pm.

This place offers paella with seafood that has been de-shelled and cleaned, that's what our friends wanted, so it worked out well! Prices are reasonable but on the expensive side for the amount of seafood offered. I'm sure there are better value restaurants out there, but in terms of taste, it was excellent. You could opt for the seafood paella with seafood with shell still on at a lower cost. There is also a vegetarian version at lower cost. The paella was 23 Euro and was enough for 3 people since we had split 2 appetizers as well. We tried a tomato/anchovy/Parmesan appetizer for 12 Euro. In terms of taste, it was excellent, but very pricey in terms of quantity (they could do better considering it is tomatoes). We took a pitcher of red Sangria at 16 Euro; it was excellent!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Canadians_who_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addlestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“avoid!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

the only redeeming feature of this restaurant is the building and toilets (and forgetting to charge for the wine), other than that the food is very below average, probably the worst paella that we had during our week visit, far too much salt in the cooking, their are far better places to dine in Barcelona than this crusty out of date place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Clive2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Living on pass reputation ... lots of better options around”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

In contrast to the fantastic food we've experience across Barcelona in the last few days, this restaurant was very poor. The warning bells started to ring with the stale bread, which led via some very stuffy service, to bland under seasoned and overcooked food, it was reminiscent of a school dinner! Price seemed about average for BCN = expensive, but felt like an insult given the quality.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank GGplusE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
45 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“there are much better options in Barcelona....”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

I went a couple of weeks ago with a friend from Mexico who wanted to go, despite my reluctance. Unfortunately, I was right...Service is not at all in concordance with the place, and the rate quality/Price is quite low.... I read another review calling it "tourist trap", and I think it defines it well: Although the restaurant is not full, they keep people at the door to make it appear a "super busy- must wait in the queue"....once inside, you discover is not such...
There are many other options in Barcelona with better food and customer service!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Liliana_LuceroG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 7 Portes also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to 7 Portes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing