We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dreadful meal, poor service” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of 7 Portes

7 Portes
Reserve with
7 Portes is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #531 of 9,334 Restaurants in Barcelona
Price range: $38 - $49
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Barceloneta
Description: Opening its doors in 1836 to begin offering over 150 years of excellence, Restaurant de les 7 Portes is truly the most classic of Barcelona's eating places. Here, you can enjoy the finest Catalan cooking in an intimate setting or in one of the spacious banquet halls, accompanied by Spain's best wines and "cavas" (sparkling wines) from the well-stocked cellar. The restaurant is housed in the Pòrtics d'en Xifré, a building declared a national monument and the first place in Barcelona where running water was installed. In 1942, it became the property of Paco Parellada, founder of one of the foremost dynasties of restaurateurs in all of Catalonia.
Charlottesville, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dreadful meal, poor service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

This is one of oldest restaurants in Barcelona and it's lovely inside but otherwise is resting on its laurels. Our waiter messed up our orders, forgot to bring us items we requested, and spent most of the time we were there at the front of the restaurant chatting up another waiter. The paella I ordered was tasteless and very heavy. I was ill afterwards--maybe an iffy oyster (raw) or perhaps the meal was just too soaked in butter for me to digest. Can't recommend this place. Barcelona has so many good restaurants that I regretted going here.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RoyalWulf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,854 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,188
    2,032
    928
    427
    279
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
amsterdam
Level Contributor
64 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Worth a visit. An excellent restaurant.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

I went to this restaurant on recommendation of locals. It was definately the best restaurant I visited during my stay in Barcelona. The restaurant has a pleasant old fashioned feel to it. The service very good, friendly and correct. As a Spanish speaker it probably helps. There is a very good selection of meat, seafood, fish and vegetarian dishes, so all tastes are catered for. The restaurant gets very busy at lunch time so it is advisable either to make a reservation or arrive early to be sure of a table. It is slightly more expensive than other establisjments in the city, but it's worth it!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank chistorra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Hard to judge”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

So we asked few locals where to go for a good paella and some said the 7 Portes so we decided to give it a go. It is a very old restaurant indeed but unfortunately that is the only WOW factor about it. The service was poor , the paella was the saltiest thing I have ever eaten in my life and the price was very high for it. Maybe paella is meant to be salty which is why I am saying hard to judge and after that experience I was put off trying paella again. I have had paella numerous times in UK and those were many times better that 7 Portes. Sorry but I wouldnt recommend this restaurant based on my experience.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mario V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, NC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

This restaurant was highly recommended by our hotel so decided to try it for lunch. It was very busy with local and business people. The sangria was very good and the seafood paella was excellent. The best seafood paella we had during this trip to Spain. It has a good selection of appetizers, main courses and desserts plus a fine selection of wines. The service, food and atmosphere was so good that we went back for dinner later in the week.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BuenViajeMyFriends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibiza, Islas Baleares, Spain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Catalan cuisine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

This Restaurant offers delicious Catalan and mediterranean food in a cosy oldfashioned setting. Each table has names of famous people that have eaten and sat at that same table. The restaurant is always very booked up and the best option is to arrive and take your place in the queu of hopeful and hungry clients.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hj0rdis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 7 Portes also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to 7 Portes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing