We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paella was gritty”
Review of Gustos Bcn Comtal

Gustos Bcn Comtal
Ranked #1,610 of 10,924 Restaurants in Barcelona
Price range: $11 - $23
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: El Congres i els Indians
Description: GUSTOS Bcn is a new foodservice concept specialized in paellas and tapas. It offers the possibility of what it was impossible until now: to eat a good paella, with a great flavour and quality, an unbelievable price, agile and quick service, in an establishment with a pure Mediterranean interior design and ambiance.
Reviewed June 22, 2016 via mobile

Had the paella, and it tasted very fish and was gritty like the seafood want properly cleaned. The potatoes are good and so was the sangria, but was really looking forward to a good paella and was really disappointed....

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustos Bcn B, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gustos Bcn Comtal, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2016

Hello! Thank you for giving us your opinion. We are sorry if you were disappointed with the paella you ordered. We always clean very well all the seafood and never told us the paella was gritty. So, please, we will be very grateful if you can send us an e-mail to web20@gustosbcn.com to know which specialty did you ordered and when did you go, to talk to the cooker. We listen to all your comments to be always better and that you are happy with your visit and food. Thank you very much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (368)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

64 - 68 of 368 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2016

The food was OK, but not very good. The waiter didn't know much to say in English. The place is nice and clean.

Date of visit: May 2016
Thank Mag S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustos Bcn B, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gustos Bcn Comtal, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2016

Hello! Thanks for giving us your opinion. Please do not hesitate to write an e-mail to us to: web20@gustosbcn.com in order to know exactly what you order and so we can analize everything ok. Thanks again and hope we can serve you again any other time. Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2016 via mobile

I found this restaurant after looking at trip advisor. It ticked all our boxes, good price, good food, nice atmosphere. Would definitely come again, worth a visit!

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank 800darenr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustos Bcn B, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gustos Bcn Comtal, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2016

Hi! Thank you so much for your comment. We will be happy to see you back in the restaurant whenever you want. Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2016 via mobile

My boyfriend and I shared 5 or 6 tapas dishes and were pleasantly surprised with the quantity and quality of the food.

It was an enjoyable evening at a relaxed restaurant!

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank RLM36
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustos Bcn B, Public Relations Manager at Gustos Bcn Comtal, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2016

Hi! Thank you very much for giving us your opinion. It's a pleasure to know that you enjoyed our tapas! Thanks!!!! ;-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2016

Strolling the side streets off La Ramblas in the afternoon, we stopped in and asked the chef (he works in the window in the front of the house) if he would make us a custom Paella if we returned for supper. Si! Was the answer, Non was the answer by the night chef when we were seated (they tried to sit right next to the WC door when there were lots of other tables available but we refused) later that evening. The paella that was served was dark taupe in colour with lots of chopped black olives in it and it contained the miserly sum of 3-small shrimp, 3-mussels and 3-calamari rings in a very oily rice that was served piping hot but not what we had seen being served at lunch nor was it what we really wanted nor did it come close to the great Paella flavour/content/texture (somewhat fluffy saffron coloured rice with abundant seafood) we had in another Barcelona eatery 2-days previously. Bill for these 2 paellas and a bottle of wine came to €42 - we did not leave a tip... Not recommended.

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Malcolm G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustos Bcn B, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gustos Bcn Comtal, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2016

Hello! We are sorry if you had this experience in our restaurant. Eventhough thanks for your comment as all the comments help us to be better. Please, we will be pleased if you want to send us an e-mail to web20@gustosbcn.com to let us know which paella exactly did you order (as none of our specialties had olives on them). I guess the chef or waiter did not understand you, because as you could see we cook the paellas there in front of people and you are free to choose the one you want as well as to seat wherever you want ;-) Please, just keep us informed and we will be thankful for your information. Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gustos Bcn Comtal also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Gustos Bcn Comtal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.