We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great situation, nice people but poor quality”
Review of Agua Alegre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Agua Alegre
Ranked #482 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Reviewed August 23, 2011

They respected my wish to be on a upper floor to start. That was really helpful because this hotel can be really noisy. The guy at the reception desk could speak ENglish and fluent French. He was nice and friendly.
The room was bright but the windows did not close properly. The bedding quality was OK.
The good surpirse was the fridge and kitchnette for breakfast.
The bathroom is ok, not dirty but very old.
The good point is the terrasse where you can have a drink ( the reception sells bottles of wine and it is not expensive) and even enjoey your breakfast, there is always someone to talk with !

Oh and the elevator is a real experience ! Very old one, really nice ( typical from the 40s-50s) but can bear only 2 persons ( we tried 4 and we actually blocked it!!)

Very good situation, quite calm during the weekend. We have already recommended this place to a friend, because the room rate is cheap for this city !

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charlenegomezfr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (87)
There are newer reviews for Agua Alegre
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 87 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2011

We stayed at this hostel for 3 nights at the beginning of our trip and then 1 night before heading back to the states. The 24 hour desk people all spoke English for the most part. It was quiet, clean, and comfortable. The balcony/garden area was great. The wifi worked in our second room but not in our first. It worked in the garden great. The hostel was close to Passeig de Gracia and easy to get anywhere else in the city via the metro. It is no frills, but I would stay again if I was looking for something safe, clean and close to the sites.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ovation802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2011

It is a no frills place, don't expect a 5 stars hotel, it's an 'Hostal'.
it was clean as i expected.
We had a big, essential room,
personal was friendly and helpful,
only we gave credit card number only as garancy,
and they loaded the complete amouth for the four days -and gave me a receipt- without asking before.
great sun terrace.
I would reccomend it.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FabioV76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2011

I have contacted the hostal by phone from Australia. I wanted to bring a group of teenagers there. I can speak Catalan fluently, because I am actually from Barcelona. The person at the reception was totally unhelpful and rude. I will not make a booking there.

Stayed: February 2011
Thank oldbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2010

Great location in the city center, all sightseeings nearby. We take a room with shared bathroom and was very clean and cosy. Staff was helpful and english spoken. They dont clean the rooms every day but everything else was OK for the price we paid (50 Euros per night). I will bask again for sure

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leroy186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2010

the hotel is a hostel. it's really dirty. the rooms are old. the price isn't as good as could seems.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mauro_Riccio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2010

just returned from a short break to Barcelona. Flew with Ryanair to Gerona which is nowhere near Barcelona, but,all credit to Ryanair, the airport is small and the flights arrive at a reasonable time. Buses are there to meet the flight and take you to the main station in Barcelona for 24 euros each return. The hostel is perfectly situated. Its very quaint clean and basic, feels like you are staying with friends. The shared bathroom was clean and perfectly adequate. We had a very lovely time.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1066badger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Catalonia Eixample 1864
Catalonia Eixample 1864
#204 of 513 in Barcelona
942 reviews
Eixample
Barcelona City Hotel Universal
Barcelona City Hotel Universal
#385 of 513 in Barcelona
264 reviews
Eixample
Renaissance Barcelona Hotel
Renaissance Barcelona Hotel
#186 of 513 in Barcelona
1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#32 of 513 in Barcelona
3,974 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Catalonia Passeig de Gracia
Eixample
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agua Alegre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agua Alegre

Address: c/ Roger de Lluria, 47, 08009 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #482 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range: $78 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2 star Hostal Agua Alegre (Happy Water) is oozes Mediterranean charm with a tropical foliage-filled terrace on which to sip your cafe con leche. Located in the neighborhood of l'Eixample, an elegant residential area, 2 blocks away from the über chic Passeig de Gràcia, and 10 minutes by foot to Plaza Catalunya. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Agua Alegre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agua Alegre Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing