We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Location/ Cheap Price/ Dark/”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pelayo Studios Guest House
Ranked #228 of 308 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 25, 2011

We stayed in may Cool . No Ac. Atrium with trash at bottom and hanging clothes across but decent breeze.
We locked it at night. Private bath available or shared bath. We had private bath 3rd floor. I always walked and was afraid of the elevator but Guy my partner took the elevator. Must bring luggage up 6 feet of stairs to reach the elevator. BUT it is a fantastic location, just 2 blocks from the Catalyuna Plaza where we caught the hop on hop off bus. Get the one you want for 2 days because the 1st day we just ride it to get aclimated to the sites. We were only there 3 nights so for 2 days we rode the hop on hop off bus and saw everything at least twice and really understood it. The last day we went to the zoo but the PANDA died in 2003. Sagrada is beautiful. We did not go in, lines to long. The outside is different on each side so get out and walk around it all the way and eat at the MC Donalds or get an icecream there. This studios has cooking facilities but we did not cook. Has few dishes and refrig which we used .The studios are 3 blocks to the beginning of the RAMBLA. so the location is perfect. The airport bus is also located on the other side of the Catalyuna Placa and we took it at 5;am ( it leaves every 30 minutes ) when we left for the airport.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank contessapv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (88)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 88 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2011

This hostel is really cheap so you can't expect a lot. But it's definitely not bad! Our room was small but nice. We paid for a room with a shared bathroom but it turned out that we were the only users of the bathroom so there were no problems with queues etc. Air conditioning was working properly, sometimes there was even too cold (but there were always blankets in the wardrobe;)). The staff doesn't speak English but the receptionist is really friendly and helpful. Location is great, the hostel is in the heart of Barcelona. I would recommend this place to anyone who wants to sightsee and doesn't expect luxuries for such a price.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank glee21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Centrally located near Placa Catalunya where you can walk to any major attractions on foot. Extremely hard to find though, when you first get there, 'cos there's only one tiny brass plate at the side of its entrance which are basically two plain brown wooden doors. Tiny as in, perhaps, 2cm by 8cm. You'll probably mistaken the nearby Pelayo Hotel as your home-to-be first. No worries, we weren't the first tourists to do that either. Don't be taken in by the check-in time on your confirmation. The Spanish lunch time is somewhere between 2pm to 5pm. And the official opening time for the reception is 10am (although we waited with a couple of others till 10.30am one day and there was still no one in sight). At first sight, the room was really tiny but that's nothing to complain about when you get to save quite a bit on your budget. It was at least clean. The bathroom was tiny too, but that was really something to contend with cos you really can't move too much without bumping into the shower curtain (which God knows what's on these curtains) but you can't afford to pull aside the curtain too, lest you decide to flood the bathroom (there's no kerb between the bathroom and your room so you can very well be flooding your room too). All these were fine (we impro by throwing a thick towel on the floor to soak up most of the water) but the sewage smell from the bathroom made us really glad we weren't in the room much. We had to air the bathroom and our room for a while every time we returned. Do not attempt using the bathroom straight away unless someone is out there checking on you, in case you pass out. Saw hair in the sink too (not ours). The bed mattress was a bit thin. I'm around 45kg and i could feel the springs. All in all, you get what you pay for. We definitely don't mind paying a little bit more next time for a better place.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eviancamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2011

Don't let the other reviews scare you off. I stayed at this hotel for 5 nights and it was everything ok. You get what you pay for. We paid for a triple room which was cleaned every single day. There was an excellent air conditioning system and a huge bathroom. All in all it was a very nice stay and of course we were on a budget so we couldn't afford any luxuries. There might be a not so nice view from the windows but if you go to Barcelona believe me no one is going to stay inside the hotel for more that 7-8 hours (at night). Very very clean, PERFECT location!

Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
2  Thank Yiota V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2010

Room was only for bed and nothing more, bathroom also not too big, but every day we had our room cleaned and towels was changed. Service quite nice, perfect English-speaking. Neighbourhood - very close to Catalunya Plaza, so using metro you can reach almost whole Barcelona from there. Also very close to La rambla street.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zmijas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2010

It was in a good location.

Very noisy at night, woke up often and in the early hours of the morning with cars driving past and rubbish bins being collected.

Our balcony was delapidated and the balcony next to us has an old dirty mattress lying there, it looks a bit hobo ish.

Be sure to always keep your phone on you, we never did as we were scared of pick pockets etc , ...we came home one afternoon exhausted and our remote would not open the door, we rang the buzzer and knocked on the door but no answer, finally someone came along and called the owner who came and opened but never the less we stood in the road for ages waiting...really they should give you a key!

There was not always someone at reception, we found this very inconvenient!

I found the bed and pillows uncomfortable, the towels were hard and there was no mat in front of the shower, so after every shower the bathroom was like a pool of water from the shower curtain not keeping the water in.
we had a little kitchenette but nothing to dry the dishes with.

We were on a budget .

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank natalie1wilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2010

My mother and I ended up staying here after there was a problem at the hotel we were supposed to be staying at. The former owner of the place booked us in, and came to look over the room for us. He found a bare electical plug, and there was a foam mattress and other garbage on the balcony near the heater - both are fire and/or electrocution hazards! When he left, the owner's attitude totally changed - she was not happy to have to make the second bed for us for one night, and was not happy that we were getting the room for less than the posted price because of her friend booking us in. The tap in the "kitchen" sink was loose, the toilet seat was loose, and my mother scalded herself in the shower when there was NO cold water. To add insult to injury, when some rowdy guests literally ran screaming up and down the stairs and through the hallways and I complained (by phone) to the owner, she had the temerity to ask me to go and knock on a door to ask them to be quiet. When I protested, she said to go to another room and ask that person to tell them! She was across town, and was totally unprepared to make the trip in order to take care of her guests. I would never stay here again, and recommend that others do not!

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thejourneygenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Barcelona House
Hotel Barcelona House
#272 of 516 in Barcelona
1,340 reviews
Barcelo Sants
#112 of 516 in Barcelona
3,391 reviews
Gracia
Generator Hostel Barcelona
Generator Hostel Barcelona
#22 of 736 in Barcelona
1,600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Garden House Hostel Barcelona
#122 of 308 in Barcelona
108 reviews
Urbany Barcelona Hostel
#67 of 736 in Barcelona
1,181 reviews
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#101 of 516 in Barcelona
3,893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelayo Studios Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelayo Studios Guest House

Address: Pelai 5, Entresol 2, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Hotel Style:
Ranked #228 of 308 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range: $76 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pelayo Studios Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pelayo Studios Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelayo Studios Guest House Hotel Barcelona
Pelayo Studios Guest House Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing