We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visit to Sunotel Barcelona”
Review of Sunotel Central

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sunotel Central
Ranked #334 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Reviewed May 13, 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (760)
There are newer reviews for Sunotel Central
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 760 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2014

Definitely not 4 stars no bar Sunday- Thursday . 2nd room given ok 1st room grim small no light.
Used pool couple of times .... Very small no towels & view yes but not the best in Barcelona ! Very basic hotel .

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank Lynne00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

Hotel is ok. We stayed in double bedroom with breakfast. Room is not too big, bed is too hurt sleep on. Breakfast was great as you have lots of choices eggs, fruit or sausages...
On end of the trip we had to pay 5 euros for Tourist tax. The staff didn't inform us about the fountains which we find out didn't work.
Bit Barcelona is beautiful :)

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Michaela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

On my first visit I was favorably impressed by the Front Desk and the location, and this time I asked for and received larger rooms on the front (lovely view and small balcony to step out on).

So I was even happier to see that prices seemed to have actually gone down - we paid $91 each for two nights in a double room - average $45/night per person in the center of Barcelona? Pleasant surprise! The rooms were very comfortable for our purposes although the lighting in both the room and the bathroom was not quite adequate for my aging eyeballs...

We were a 10 minute walk from the Ramblas and even closer to two giant Corte Inglés stores. The restaurants, cafés (think churros and hot chocolate) and tapas bars are everywhere and each one better than the last! We did not eat in the hotel.

I recommend this hotel to everyone I know who goes to Barcelona on pleasure trips – and the friends I traveled with now love it, too!

And we found the food, drinks and shoppingin Barcelona to be less expensive than I remembered and much less than our stops in various Italian cities. The residents told us that all prices in Barcelona had been lowered to stimulate tourism in the Spain´s struggling economy, but that, even so, tourism was way down.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the front with the little balcony - lovely view of the Gran Vía
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AniVeeCentralAmerica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Absolutely not 4 stars hotel. Nothing special. Rom is small. Bed is hard. Breakfast is not included in our booking. The only thing which is ok with the hotel is near Metro station with 5 minuters walking. To the La Rambla with 10 minutes walking distance.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erik_stockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

This was my second visit to this hotel having enjoyed my first.the location is perfect for sight seeing with las rambles and the gothic area about a 10 minute walk.There are plenty of nearby bars and cafés nearby and these are a lot cheaper than las rambles.
The hotel itself is clean and simple and the I found the breakfast ample.The rooms aren't the biggest in the world, typical European city size but I don't go to these places to stay in the room,purely just to get my head down.The price I paid was excellent considering the location.
There is a metro station about a 4 min walk away and this is a good way of getting round.
All in all I would recommend this hotel and look forward to returning.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear are very quiet,but the views not so good.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Livewire28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for five nights with my boyfriend. Arrived before check in time but luckily there was a room available so check in was no problem. Went up to our room and was shocked by the size of it. It was so small there was barely any room even for our suitcase. It was really stuffy and when we opened the window the view was out onto the stairwell with a roof on top so no air could come through the window either and air contortionist wasn't much good. We asked if we could be moved and we're told there were no other rooms available. On the third day I could not stick the room anymore so I rang our tour operator who rang the hotel and and managed to sort a different room for our last two nights. This room was so much bigger and airy. The walls however are paper thin so we heard everything from the rooms beside us. There is no proper bar in the hotel and the hotel restaurant was open one night during our stay but we didn't try it as we didn't fancy anything on the menu. The best thing about this hotel is the location. The reception staff are very friendly and helpful if you need to no anything. There is a jacuzzi and a swimming pool on the roof which is nice just be careful as the tiles are very slippy when walking with wet feet. I didn't have breakfast there so I can't say what is like. I'm not fussy in general about hotels however I don't think I would go back to this one.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Lisa3Kilkenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Sunotel Club Central
Sunotel Club Central
#304 of 513 in Barcelona
388 reviews
Eixample
Sunotel Aston
Sunotel Aston
#379 of 513 in Barcelona
469 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Vueling BCN by Hc
Hotel Vueling BCN by Hc
#80 of 513 in Barcelona
948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
BCN Urban Hotels Gran Ronda
BCN Urban Hotels Gran Ronda
#289 of 513 in Barcelona
692 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Cram
Hotel Cram
#142 of 513 in Barcelona
934 reviews
Eixample
Sunotel Junior
Sunotel Junior
#364 of 513 in Barcelona
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunotel Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunotel Central

Address: Gran Via de les Corts Catalanes 570, 08011 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval , Sant Antoni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#195 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $74 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunotel Central 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunotel Central is a new hotel located in the city centre of Barcelona, just a short walk from Las Ramblas, making it a wonderful base in the heart of Barcelona. After a long day guests could enjoy a relax evening indoors at the Aquarella Music restaurant and take advantage of the seasonal swimming pool and jacuzzi. The Sunotel Central is also surrounded by restaurants, cinemas, theatres, museums and shops.The comtemporary hotel enjoys a superb location close to the Barcelona's well-known attractions such as Las Ramblas, Gothic quarter, Casa Batlló, La Pedrera. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunotel Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunotel Central Barcelona, Catalonia
Sunotel Central Hotel Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing