We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Onix Liceo, Barcelona”
Review of Onix Liceo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Onix Liceo Hotel
Ranked #309 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    258
    100
    49
    28
See reviews for
66
369
22
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Excellent location. Room quite small but fit for purpose. Would have appreciated tea/coffee making facilities in room as two elderly travellers. Breakfast quite basic but adequate
Appreciated free water and coffee in lobby



  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank daisymaydurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights in the Summer of 2012 after a 7 day Med Cruise. The location is good to be on La Rambla and also to be in between 2 different subway lines (5 minute walk) to get anywhere else in the city. The hotel itself is quite comfortable. I found the rooms to be comfortable and quiet. The rooms seemed very new and udpated. I would stay here again because of the cost. It was really affordable. The WIFI works in the lobby area just fine and also they had full stock of bottled water all the time. If you are looking for a place just to sleep and are into seeing the city then this place is for you.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JarredBradley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanfairpwllgwyngyll, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We visited Barcelona for my bf's 30th. Our first time to the city so decided on a central location, and it was very good for access to the underground and indeed the entire city.

We were met (not greeted) by Jesus who was otherwise engaged in what must have been a very good book; he was not best pleased to be drawn away from it. Very little introduction to the facilities, we were left to work this out from the bedside companion.

The reception is pleasantly urban and airy as you dive in from the (mildly threatening) street. The marble staircase is a beautiful sight albeit at odds with the aforementioned urbane lobby.

Apart from the staircase, the entire building is very dark, up the lift to our second floor classic double. The online photos are very flattering. The room itself was well worn, stains on the paintwork, bathroom was pleasant before having a shower and peering up into the shower head.

It took us until the second night to realise that the dark wood dressing surface hid a mini-bar, joy we thought as it was New Year's eve and we were getting in the mood to party. I went to open a tin of olives to find they had been consumed and discretely replaced by a canny previous visitor.

The time of year and accompanying merriment became a welcome veil over the Onix Liceo's shortcomings.

The breakfast was fairly basic with not-so-fresh fruit. The eating area itself was the highlight for me as an avid people watcher and seeing the base of the swimming pool suspended through the bi-fold doors was something of a novelty.

We both fell in love with Barcelona but not this hotel....

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lowrihedd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We love everything about this hotel. Our room on the back side of the building is clean and safe. Very friendly crews. Onix Liceo is Highly Recommended! Barcelona is very nice city but lots of criminals beware pickpockets.

Room Tip: Rooms on back side of building are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keeree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 16, 2013

If there was better wifi the hotel would have been all worth the money! It works but it's slow!

But if you're only gonna be there a few days with friends and not really staying at the hotel all day - this is perfect!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in march with my boyfriend. Hotel was in a fab location and the hotel staff were really helpful. One negetive point is that many of the rooms face inwards into the stairwell and do not have a window! I had asked for a room facing outwards so this was not a problem and the room was spotless. That said, the hotel had initially provided a room with twin beds but I asked for them to change the bedding to change it to a king and they were happy to oblige. If you dont ask you dont get! The bed was super comfy and as it is on a side street outside noise is not a problem however if you like a lye in you might get woken by the cleaners banging around outside and in the other rooms.

Overall we had a great stay and this hotel is great for couples looking for a fun or romantic trip and is also good value for money!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lucyleach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Onix Rambla Hotel
Onix Rambla Hotel
#239 of 513 in Barcelona
561 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Espana
Hotel Espana
#108 of 513 in Barcelona
1,572 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Medinaceli
Hotel Medinaceli
#314 of 513 in Barcelona
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Rambla
Eurostars Ramblas
Eurostars Ramblas
#313 of 513 in Barcelona
366 reviews
El Raval
Chic & Basic Ramblas
Chic & Basic Ramblas
#180 of 513 in Barcelona
1,065 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Colonial Barcelona
Hotel Colonial Barcelona
#253 of 513 in Barcelona
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Onix Liceo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Onix Liceo Hotel

Property: Onix Liceo Hotel
Address: Nou de la Rambla 36, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#184 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#207 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Onix Liceo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotels Onix, right in the heart of Barcelona. Your little hotel in the City. Modern and charming, the ideal choice for your trips to Barcelona, leisure and business. Feel the ambiance of the Mediterranean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Onix Liceo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Onix Liceo Barcelona
Onix Liceo Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing