We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Understated”
Review of Onix Liceo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Onix Liceo Hotel
Ranked #308 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Understated”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Booked a larger room which was clean, spacious and stylish. Breakfast good if unimaginative. Location good for La Ramblas. Rooms would benefit from a safe, and reception from less subtle (ie very dark) lighting

Room Tip: We were on the first floor in larger room. Only two rooms on this level, ours a good size, but a bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Green1scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    253
    100
    46
    26
See reviews for
64
358
21
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland
Level Contributor
72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed here for a weekend In December. We found the hotel quite easily after taking the bus from the airport. This hotel is really handy for The Ramblas and in easy reach of the metro. Our room was spotless as was the bathroom. Breakfast was plentiful and lots of choice. Free coffee and water was a nice touch. Milk would have been a nice touch with the coffee. Would definately stay there again.

Room Tip: A room at the back ensures a quiet night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DurhamTrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanrwst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

A good hotel with helpful staff very convenient for main Ramblas areas. Slightly expensive on New Years Eve but appear to be good deals to be had at other times. Could do with a safe in the room as safety deposit a nuisance and charged for. Free coffee and water a nice bonus.

Stayed December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Flautonh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuneo, Italy
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Just came back last night from Barcellona and my staying was at Onix Liceo in the bottom of Ramblas on a secondary street beside Palau Guell. It was a very clean hotel with beautiful rooms.The lobby decorated with Christams tree,internet point free(2 Computers),espresso coffee machine,green apple and bottles of water all free!!.I didnt find the hotel to be in a dangerous zone ...nearby are many pakistans and indian shops so its normal be those poeple there too.
If u wanna see many things in Barcellona and to visit museums and places u better buy from airport an abonament with 3 days that will cost u only 18 euro per persons and u can use it for metro ,bus and train but not aerobus that goes to airport.The aerobus costs something like 5 euros one way per person and its good to take it for airport cuz its a direct trip.
I had the oom nr 304 at 3th floor and wasnt s noisy but i had the unluck to have neigboards soem italians with children that talked so loud and ruined mornings and nights.The bathroom instalations its very noisy...itwas te only thing disturbed me and woke me up in th middle of the night everytime any person in the otehr rooms used it ..
I reccomand this hotel ...it was a pleasent surprise and the reception was very polite and helpful,speaking english ,italian...and responding us to every question. i will be back

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlbaFrederika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portugal
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Traveling for Barcelona is always a pleasure, even in winter, you always feel well with a big and beautiful city to discouver. The Onix Liceo is a 4* hotel that deserves that classification. Well located, only a 2 minutes walk from Las Ramblas, in the same street of Guell Palace, this hotel have modern lines, very clean and quiet. The rooms are quiet good, confortable and clean, with a nice bathroom, LCD and AC. There is a swimming pool, on this case very little, but quiet enough to have a refreshing bath on summer time. In winter you can stay in the inside, in a living room with tv, heating, free coffee and waters and some fruit. The breakfast is good, not a great one but enough for starting the day (only a little bit expensive). Only a small thing that I saw after the reservation done, the hotel offers the breakfast in this time and we have to pay for it, even if the days on were inside the offer period.
The stuff were very nice and always friendly and like to help you.
If you plan to go to Barcelona for a few days, this is a excellent choice for the quality and location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monalisa1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

This is a modern hotel, and typically European. They serve a decent Breakfast buffet. The room also has free internet, but is kind of small. It is tucked in on a busy street, but cvonvient to the Gaudi Palace and Las Ramblas.

That being said, the Front desk staff was very unhelpful. We needed some help die to the fact, that I had succumbed to a Barcelona problem. I had my pocket picked. They didn't know the way to the police station. They were unable to provide cash to a good Credit card, even though I offered to pay their commission. The overall attitude left me with a bad taste in my mouth, and we will not stay there again!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hhiguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Onix Rambla Hotel
Onix Rambla Hotel
#220 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Espana
Hotel Espana
#102 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,509 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Medinaceli
Hotel Medinaceli
#320 of 514 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Rambla
Eurostars Ramblas
Eurostars Ramblas
#313 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Port
Catalonia Port
#63 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Gaudi
Hotel Gaudi
#161 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Onix Liceo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Onix Liceo Hotel

Property: Onix Liceo Hotel
Address: Nou de la Rambla 36, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#183 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#207 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Onix Liceo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotels Onix, right in the heart of Barcelona. Your little hotel in the City. Modern and charming, the ideal choice for your trips to Barcelona, leisure and business. Feel the ambiance of the Mediterranean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Onix Liceo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Onix Liceo Barcelona
Onix Liceo Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing