We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Trip”
Review of Onix Liceo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Onix Liceo Hotel
Ranked #309 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed here for a weekend In December. We found the hotel quite easily after taking the bus from the airport. This hotel is really handy for The Ramblas and in easy reach of the metro. Our room was spotless as was the bathroom. Breakfast was plentiful and lots of choice. Free coffee and water was a nice touch. Milk would have been a nice touch with the coffee. Would definately stay there again.

Room Tip: A room at the back ensures a quiet night.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DurhamTrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (655)
There are newer reviews for Onix Liceo Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

234 - 240 of 656 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2013

A good hotel with helpful staff very convenient for main Ramblas areas. Slightly expensive on New Years Eve but appear to be good deals to be had at other times. Could do with a safe in the room as safety deposit a nuisance and charged for. Free coffee and water a nice bonus.

Stayed: December 2012
Thank Flautonh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Just came back last night from Barcellona and my staying was at Onix Liceo in the bottom of Ramblas on a secondary street beside Palau Guell. It was a very clean hotel with beautiful rooms.The lobby decorated with Christams tree,internet point free(2 Computers),espresso coffee machine,green apple and bottles of water all free!!.I didnt find the hotel to be in a dangerous zone ...nearby are many pakistans and indian shops so its normal be those poeple there too.
If u wanna see many things in Barcellona and to visit museums and places u better buy from airport an abonament with 3 days that will cost u only 18 euro per persons and u can use it for metro ,bus and train but not aerobus that goes to airport.The aerobus costs something like 5 euros one way per person and its good to take it for airport cuz its a direct trip.
I had the oom nr 304 at 3th floor and wasnt s noisy but i had the unluck to have neigboards soem italians with children that talked so loud and ruined mornings and nights.The bathroom instalations its very noisy...itwas te only thing disturbed me and woke me up in th middle of the night everytime any person in the otehr rooms used it ..
I reccomand this hotel ...it was a pleasent surprise and the reception was very polite and helpful,speaking english ,italian...and responding us to every question. i will be back

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlbaFrederika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Traveling for Barcelona is always a pleasure, even in winter, you always feel well with a big and beautiful city to discouver. The Onix Liceo is a 4* hotel that deserves that classification. Well located, only a 2 minutes walk from Las Ramblas, in the same street of Guell Palace, this hotel have modern lines, very clean and quiet. The rooms are quiet good, confortable and clean, with a nice bathroom, LCD and AC. There is a swimming pool, on this case very little, but quiet enough to have a refreshing bath on summer time. In winter you can stay in the inside, in a living room with tv, heating, free coffee and waters and some fruit. The breakfast is good, not a great one but enough for starting the day (only a little bit expensive). Only a small thing that I saw after the reservation done, the hotel offers the breakfast in this time and we have to pay for it, even if the days on were inside the offer period.
The stuff were very nice and always friendly and like to help you.
If you plan to go to Barcelona for a few days, this is a excellent choice for the quality and location.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monalisa1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Elizabeth G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

This is a modern hotel, and typically European. They serve a decent Breakfast buffet. The room also has free internet, but is kind of small. It is tucked in on a busy street, but cvonvient to the Gaudi Palace and Las Ramblas.

That being said, the Front desk staff was very unhelpful. We needed some help die to the fact, that I had succumbed to a Barcelona problem. I had my pocket picked. They didn't know the way to the police station. They were unable to provide cash to a good Credit card, even though I offered to pay their commission. The overall attitude left me with a bad taste in my mouth, and we will not stay there again!!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hhiguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

I stayed here for the weekend in May. i couldn't fault the actual hotel; modern, clean and close to everything. Complimentary water fridge is great. Overall I'd recommend this hotel. I'm not sure if it was a particularly busy weekend but the street was really noisy esp from the pub a few doors down. Each night we slept with the tv on to try and drone out the street noise. If you're a light sleeper maybe not the place for you. We were so busy sightseeing that it helped us sleep through the night. Other than that I could fault this hotel.

Extremely good value for Barcelona

Room Tip: Having read other reviews and based on our experience I'd maybe request a back room
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JuloSyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Onix Rambla Hotel
Onix Rambla Hotel
#233 of 513 in Barcelona
569 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Espana
Hotel Espana
#108 of 513 in Barcelona
1,596 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Medinaceli
Hotel Medinaceli
#313 of 513 in Barcelona
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Colonial Barcelona
Hotel Colonial Barcelona
#252 of 513 in Barcelona
754 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Gotico
Hotel Gotico
#308 of 513 in Barcelona
68 reviews
El Raval
Niu Barcelona Hotel
Niu Barcelona Hotel
#361 of 513 in Barcelona
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Onix Liceo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Onix Liceo Hotel

Address: Nou de la Rambla 36, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#184 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#207 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $99 - $257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Onix Liceo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotels Onix, right in the heart of Barcelona. Your little hotel in the City. Modern and charming, the ideal choice for your trips to Barcelona, leisure and business. Feel the ambiance of the Mediterranean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Onix Liceo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Onix Liceo Barcelona
Onix Liceo Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing