We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at Onix Liceo”
Review of Onix Liceo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Onix Liceo Hotel
Ranked #319 of 516 Hotels in Barcelona
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Excellent location! Next to La Rambla, short walk to Port Vell and Barri Gotic

Friendly and helpfull English speaking staff.

The room was spacious and clean, but unfortunately it was located on the streetside and during the night we woke up several times because of noisy (drunk) people in the streets.
(A downside one can expect when the hotel is located in the city centre.)
On our last night (we booked for a week) we had noisy 'neighbours' in the room next to us (TV, music, loud talking in the middle of the night) - weird because the nights before there were other guests (with a baby) and it didn't bother us.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DelphineMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsonix, Operations Manager at Onix Liceo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

We really appreciate your opinion about the hotel, we are open to all the comments because they help us improve. Maybe your neighbors were influenced by the bohemian atmosphere that characterizes Barcelona without considering the rest of others, please apologize for that. Do not hesitate to mention this detail in your next reservation, rest assured that we will book a quieter room so you can enjoy your stay even better

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (669)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

260 - 266 of 669 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2012

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Robin S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
hotelsonix, Operations Manager at Onix Liceo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed there last February for 4 nights as we found a very good discount. We arrived at the hotel around 2 hours before the check-in time and there was no problem with leaving our luggage in a locked baggage room. All staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was very clean, there was a plasma TV on the wall and the bathroom was just brilliant. There was a nice patio with a small swimming pool in the back of the hotel. We also enjoyed the hotel lobby, there were a few comfortable couches and you could use two large screen computers with internet access. We could also make ourselves some tea or grab a bottle of water from the fridge whenever we wanted (though our booking was 'room only').

The location is simply perfect, as the hotel is situated almost on La Rambla. What's more, it's just a stone's throw away from the sea. There are three metro stations in the area, just remember to be watchful when traveling on the underground as it is really not hard to get robbed in Barcelona (if you are traveling from the airport, better get off at Liceu or Drassanes). The hotel is also very close to grocery stores and many restaurants.

If we ever go back to Barcelona, we will definitely choose Onix Liceo again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Igor_86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsonix, Operations manager at Onix Liceo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

We really appreciate your comments, we hope to have you back with us soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

This hotel was perfect for our stay with our grown kids, 20 and 23. We wanted to be somewhere unique and stylish that would appeal to young adult kids, and this hotel was exactly that. The location was convenient with proximity to Metro stops and a few decent restaurants. We walked the winding streets to the Picasso museum, our favorite Barcelona tourist attraction, and wandered around the waterfront. Our room was very quiet and we appreciated having airconditioning to drown out any street noise. The bathrooms were very European cool, the rooms were basic but comfortable and not too expensive for us to have two rooms. The hotel is clean and staff is very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Airconditioned rooms on higher floors are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maplequeen20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Love this hotel!
We come here every year! it's always very clean and the sevrice is good. Free bottles of water and apples that you can take every day, also free espresso coffee and tea in the modern lobby.
Great location! very close to la Rambla..

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fleurentijm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Loved the minimalist look of this hotel,there was some sort of Nike event in when I stayed,,bathrooms were fab,beds a little hard,good deals found in Internet re prices!loved the breakfast selection was fantastic to set someone up for the day.location was so close to Las rambles,I will stay here again the next time I cme back to Barcelona,lots to see and do here

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1Foodietraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

The hotel was very nice and in a very continent location. Right in the heart of La Rambla, however, being off the main strip means it was not noisy at all. The hotel was located near the metro, we found ourselves walking everywhere. It is a nice stroll to Barceloneta beach (about 20-30min). Breakfast was good, nice lap pool (although we didn't have time to use it). They have complimentary bottled water / coffee which is a nice touch.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dani_Pinta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
La Rambla
Eurostars Ramblas
Eurostars Ramblas
#333 of 516 in Barcelona
384 reviews
Eixample
Onix Rambla Hotel
Onix Rambla Hotel
#227 of 516 in Barcelona
582 reviews
El Raval
Chic & Basic Ramblas
Chic & Basic Ramblas
#180 of 516 in Barcelona
1,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Andante
Andante
#91 of 516 in Barcelona
1,726 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Flor Parks Hotel
Flor Parks Hotel
#230 of 516 in Barcelona
500 reviews
El Raval
Leonardo Hotel Barcelona Las Ramblas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Onix Liceo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Onix Liceo Hotel

Address: Nou de la Rambla 36, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#120 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#190 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $69 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Onix Liceo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotels Onix, right in the heart of Barcelona. Your little hotel in the City. Modern and charming, the ideal choice for your trips to Barcelona, leisure and business. Feel the ambiance of the Mediterranean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Onix Liceo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Onix Liceo Barcelona
Onix Liceo Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing