We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Base” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Praktik Garden

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Praktik Garden
Ranked #127 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Base”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

Really enjoyed The Praktik. Big, clean and comfy bed and stylish, simple rooms. No fuss, no frills, but relaxing. Great shower, flat screen TV and french windows opening onto the street. Clean towels every day. Our room looked out onto the main street, but at night with the shutters closed it was not too noisy. Breakfast fine, bocadillos, pastries and fresh fruit, tea, coffee and orange juice, but loads of cafes nearby if you want a change. As everyone says, a great location, central and near to two or three metros. Barcelona was amazing and the Praktik was a lovely hotel to come back to as a base. I really liked the design and the terrace with the astro turf and fairly lights was really relaxing at breakfast and in the afternoon for a rest between trips. Air conditioning was a wee bit noisy, but it cooled the room down enough to switch off at night. A hotel bar and a safe in the room would have upped my rating.

Room Tip: We had a superior double looking out onto C de Diputacio, not too noisy with shutters shut, but inne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaxGlasgow_Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Praktik, Director General at Praktik Garden, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for leaving your review about The Praktik Garden Hotel. We are pleased to know that you had a good time and we hope to see you soon again!

Regards from Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    555
    787
    207
    44
    25
See reviews for
187
775
215
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
141 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

Good location and centrally located next to several key destinations like Catalunya square and Paseige de Gracia although they are a 10-15 minute walk. Close to metro transportation and several main shopping areas including la Rambla. There were several good restaurants close by. Modest sized hotel with minimal amenities but that is what you will get for this price range and location in Barcelona. Very clean and well maintained rooms although the room and bath were relatively small but not cramped. Good value for the breakfast offering which was 4 euro. Staff was extremely friendly and courteous. Provided good restaurant suggestions and travel directions. We were traveling with our children and asked for adjoining rooms. Although they put us on the same floor, it was at opposite ends. A minor inconvenience but annoying. I would stay here again or recommend it to others.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vdf123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Praktik, Director General at Praktik Garden, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking your time and leave such a wonderful review. We are really glad that you appreciated the hotel features as well as the location and the hotel staff.
Best regards from Barcelona!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade
Level Contributor
79 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

hotel is located very close to Catalunya square, and Paseige de Gracia street, in a quiet and peaceful neighborhood. hotel is quite unique in style, full of lively colors, plants, books ... making atmosphere which makes you feel like at home. Despite casual design of reception, corridors and other shared spaces of hotel, rooms are quite nice, done in minimalistic style, completely new, clean and cushy. i have been in single room, which did not had some view, it was overlooking empty corridor between buildings, and had a sink as a part of the room (generally single room was small) but it was really nice, and the sleep quality was good. if you are staying for more than one of two days, try to book rooms which are overlooking the street.
breakfast at hotel is nice, big choice of bakery products, fruit, sandwiches, freshly squeezed orange juice... overall good hotel which i would recommend for short visits to Barcelona

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KFilip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brno
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

i absolutely love this hotel! very clean, comfortable, welcoming. the receptionists very kind , always ready to help. breakfast tasty, good ideas with the fill in baguettes. fresh juice :) perfect location. ready to come back :)
pity that I was not able to connect to free wifi in the 5th floor.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Martina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Praktik, Director General at Praktik Garden, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Guests ,

Thank you for your great review about our hotel. We are all very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us!.
We look forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Barcelona.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

The two of us stayed at here for 2 nights and the Praktik offered us a convenient location from which to do our sightseeing. We did not walk to many places, simply because Barcelona was the first stop on our long trip ahead. We took the metro instead, and the Girona metro station just a 3 minute walk around the corner. We did not opt for the breakfast at the Praktik, and just grabbed a quick bite at the bakery that was right outside the metro.

Our room on the 3rd floor had a balcony that faced the inside of the block. We overlooked the Praktik's little green terrace and the backs of other buildings. The room was bright, and the bed was big. The air conditioning was good, but it will turn off automatically when you open your balcony doors, so you have to choose between a bright room that was very hot, or a dark room that was cool. The room was small, though, and I feel as though they could've made better use of the sink area, because the lack of counter meant that there is nowhere to put your toiletries. We moved the bedside table beside the sink so that there was a sliver of space for us to put our toiletries on.

It was extremely basic: no safe, no telephone, and no chair. There was 1 chest of drawers and 1 low table, which we used to put our suitcases on. The washroom was clean overall but with some mold in the grout that I didn't expect to see from a . The glass that separated the shower from the toilet does not exactly serve its function because the water will splash out and make the whole washroom wet.

I have been to Asia many times and I have adapted to living in small quarters, so the size of this room did not bother me. The thing that was intolerable for me was the ants. The room was perfectly clean when we checked-in, but when we returned at night, there were ants by the dozens crawling along the edges of the floor. Mind you, we did not have any food in the room. I quickly asked the front desk if we could switch rooms, but the guy said no, but he can give me a can of bug spray. I was extremely unhappy with this arrangement and had to spray pesticide all over my room. He suggested that I not open the balcony so that the ants don't come in. However, if I don't open the balcony doors, then I will have to inhale pesticide all night when I slept. The ants didn't return, but I was still very disappointed at how this was handled.

Overall, our stay was average. I might try to look into other hotels to stay at. The bottom line: affordable and economical; tolerable cleanliness; convenient location; BUT ants. If ants don't bug you, (ha ha), then this place is good.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the interior should be quieter and brighter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bbmomoiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

Location is excellent, no more than 3 minutes walk to the nearest metro and under 15 minutes walk to Passeig De Gracia (one of the main streets in Barcelona), which is great. There are several restaurants within a few minutes walk, and once you walk a little further (towards Passeig De Gracia), there is anything you might like, be it fast food, fine dining, coffee shops and your regular tourist traps.
My room was nice with a huge bed and very clean bathroom. It is basic, but that's really all you need in Barcelona in my opinion (You'd like to go sightseeing outside...) The first floor has a lovely terrace for guests to sit comfortably in. Breakfast (not included in the price of my room, but is just 4 euro which is good value - you get pastries, sandwiches, juice and coffee) is also served in the terrace.
Front desk staff is nice and helpful, so no complaints there.

Unfortunately, I must rate this establishment 1 star only, since I had 200 UK pounds stolen from the inside of my locked room. I know this sounds bizarre, and I would also doubt anyone claiming such a thing, imagining they just lost the money somewhere and can't remember where, but I can tell you my story and you'll be the judge. If after that you still wish to stay there, well then, it is your money on the line.
I have an awkward habit. I count the cash money I bring along with me abroad every evening. Coming to Barcelona was part of a longer trip, as I continued from Barcelona to London. So I had not only Euro in cash but also UK pounds. On my third evening in the hotel I counted 500 UKP and 300 EUR. They were all together in one money belt along with my passport, lying inside my suitcase (the hotel doesn't provide a safe in the rooms nor at the front desk). Whoever took the money did it very cleverly. They did not take a single Euro. They did not take the passport. They did not take all of the UKP. They just took 200 pounds of the 500. I can only imagine what this person was thinking: even if the guests do check their money-belt, they'll be more interested in the local Euros or the passport, less paying attention to the here-of-no-use pounds, and as long as there are some pounds left inside, is should take them a while before they figure out anything is missing. But, as I mentioned, I have a weird habit of counting everything, every evening. And The evening after that there were 200 pounds missing.
Of course, I notified the front desk immediately and I was told I better speak to the manager that arrives the following morning. I wanted to, but it turned out she comes in late and I had to go to a conference before she arrived. I left her my details and told everything I know to the nice receptionist who promised she'd tell everything to the manager. In the afternoon I got an E-mail from the manager saying that she spoke to the staff and "nobody saw any money". Gee, that's a shock... She also wrote that she "doesn't know where I left the money". And she said she checked the system for keys used to enter my room and it was just the cleaning staff and myself, so she just doesn't know what to say... Well, that was a great job handling the situation! Wasn't it?
So, to believe the manager, only the cleaning ladies and myself entered my room and could have taken anything from it. And since I have no use for UKP in Spain, and since during these 24 hours between the two counts, 200 UKP went missing, there is really only one obvious conclusion.
No need to mention that nothing was done to follow this obvious conclusion and that the relevant staff is still employed there, with free access to guests' rooms.
(I did go the the police and filed a claim, but they just wrote a nice report and didn't even pretend to were going to check it.)
Beware!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ori P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Praktik, Belén Mas-Hotel Manager at Praktik Garden, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear guest,
First of all I would like to thank you for your review, we are glad hearing you liked the hotel. We are nearby the mean touristic places in Barcelona city centre.

About the problem with the 200 BP we did everything was in our hands. It is true we have to add the safe in our rooms, this is a matter that we are already studying and surely we will fix in the next months but our housekeepers are working with us for a long time and they never take anything from the guest rooms.

According to the test we did at your room door lock no one else except you and our housekeeper opened it. Once we give you the key of your room in the check in day, we cannot control the people who came in with you in your room.

We are really sorry you did not finally enjoy your stay in our hotel.

We are at your complete disposal for any further information you may require.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Hotel Praktik Bakery
Hotel Praktik Bakery
#76 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,472 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Praktik Vinoteca
Hotel Praktik Vinoteca
#57 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,169 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Praktik Rambla
Hotel Praktik Rambla
#69 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Born / La Ribera
Hotel Ciutat de Barcelona
Hotel Ciutat de Barcelona
#126 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,043 reviews
Eixample
Acta Antibes
Acta Antibes
#116 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,837 reviews
Poblenou
Ibis Barcelona Pza Glories 22
Ibis Barcelona Pza Glories 22
#197 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Praktik Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Praktik Garden

Property: Praktik Garden
Address: C/Diputacion 325, 08009 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Best Value Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Praktik Garden 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Praktik is a new, clean and very economical hotel in the centre of Barcelona. It is a new concept midway between a modern hostel and a contemporary hotel. In Praktik, the technology and comforts we seek when we travel combine with the history of the city of Barcelona, as it is located in a historical building from the Modernist age, in the heart of the Eixample district. Praktik is chic, friendly, comfortable and very cheap. The best way to visit Barcelona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Praktik Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Praktik Garden Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing