We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean and friendly budget hotel”
Review of Praktik Garden

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Praktik Garden
Ranked #132 of 517 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 7, 2012

I selected this hotel based on reviews on Tripadvisor. It was listed as clean, friendly, convenient, etc. Our stay would be for two nights.

We arrived before check in time after disembarking from a cruise ship. They did not have our room available and offered to keep our luggage while we went site-seeing. This we did. We also used their public restroom. Clean and tidy.

We returned after 2:00 PM and our room was ready. They assigned us a room at the front/street side of the hotel. Very small balcony. It was clean but not as spacious or user friendly as I expected. I asked for an alternate room and they offered a side room with a mall window and even less floor space. We accepted the first room.

The next morning we discussed cancelling our 2 day booking and getting a refund. They offered us a room at the back. Much nicer room, obviously recently renovated. Large balcony. We decided to stay based on the new room.

We did not include breakfast in our stay.

GET A ROOM AT THE BACK of the hotel with a balcony. We ended up in 303. Very acceptable.

Note: Sink is outside of the toilet/shower area.
Note: This is a two star hotel. Very small lobby. They are happy to help within the scope of what they can do. We asked for hot water to drink-not available.
Note: No phone in the room.

Free internet (WIFI). Relatively slow.

Elevator is big enough for 6 to 8 people without luggage.

Plenty of hot water for showering.

Room very cleana and neat.

Location: Close to Girona Metro station (one block away).

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back with a balcony. Ask to see the room before finalizing arrangement.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MEGATLX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,060)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,014 - 1,020 of 2,060 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2012

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Knud Aage H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Praktik, Belén Mas-Hotel Manager at Praktik Garden, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

I had a special offer room, which resembled a well appointed prison cell. Basic, functional, clean.
Comfy beds, quiet street, clean bathroom, Aircon and TV. No Breakfast, but they recommend Cafe Norte on street corner, though actually the Cafe Adlivium on opposite corner is actually cheaper for breakfast. Both are about 30 secs to 1 min walk from hotel. Staff helpful and friendly. Good location for exploring the city, Nearest Metro is Girona.

Room Tip: Get a room at the rear of Hotel, with a terrace and french windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An EasyToBook.com traveler
1
Reviewed April 24, 2012

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank An EasyToBook.com traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Praktik, Belén Mas-Hotel Manager at Praktik Garden, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Overall we got we paid for which is not a criticism.
This is quite a basic Hotel with no breakfast facilities on site but they do have an arrangement with a Cafe round the Corner which works quite well.
The rooms are quite small and I'd advise getting a room at the back of the Hotel rather than at the front which can get quite noisy being from the main road.
Beware that there is very little if any hanging space in the room which we found frustrating.
The limited people I.e. staff in the Hotel we were exposed we're friendly.
We did experience a bit of a nightmare incident on our last night with a group above being extremely noisy.
It was one of those situations where you need to decide what does does this become inconsiderate as opposed to being a party pooper!
However by 12.30pm there was no sign of this letting up so we enlisted the support of the night porter who sorted out the problem.
There are benefits to pint out such as it is very close to a Metro stop which is very handy.
It's also not a major slog to get to the centre of things.
I think if we were staying for longer than three nights we might want somewhere which had more facilities and a tad more luxury.
But for what it was we were overall happy with the experienc.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back at on either the 4th or 5th Floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greatblackhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Rooms are basic, but comfortable enough. Contemporary desin. Bathroom was really clean but could be better with a divider between the shower area and the toilet seat to avoid water seepage. No room service, but who needs it in a budget accommodation, right?! The room was really clean and I had no issues when it comes to sleep.

I didn't take the free breakfast and explored around in Passeig de Gracia instead, which was a good choice - i believe. The hotel is about 10 minutes away from Passeig de Gracia and the walk is not that bad. There is a Desigual Factory Outlet literally right next door to the outlet - fantastic!

There's a train station like 10/15 minutes away, but i sorta got lost in my first try - it's all good. It's better to get lost sometimes, after all, that's what travelling should be about haha.

Overall, the hotel was pretty okay for the price paid. Oh, and the front desk staff was very accommodating! With the "littlest" Spanish that i know, she responded to me in Spanish and only switched to English when i told her to.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank animo2401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

This hotel is located in the Eixample area--my favorite to stay in while visiting Barcelona. Walking distance to everything. Praktik is a newish chain that converts residential properties into hotels. They keep the charm of the old buildings--with wrought-iron balconies onto the street--but are known for sound-proof rooms, big comfortable beds and pillows, rain-forest showers with plenty of hot water and free, reliable wi-fi in all rooms. The perfect blend of tradition & modernity. At $110 for a double with balcony, a reasonable price for an expensive city.

Room Tip: If you book a room with balcony ahead of time, they will charge you an extra 20 euros a night. But i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Hotel Praktik Bakery
Hotel Praktik Bakery
#85 of 517 in Barcelona
2,027 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Praktik Vinoteca
Hotel Praktik Vinoteca
#65 of 517 in Barcelona
1,669 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Praktik Rambla
Hotel Praktik Rambla
#84 of 517 in Barcelona
2,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#32 of 517 in Barcelona
4,154 reviews
Eixample
Acta Antibes
Acta Antibes
#120 of 517 in Barcelona
1,962 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
#77 of 517 in Barcelona
2,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Praktik Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Praktik Garden

Address: C/Diputacion 325, 08009 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Best Value Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $52 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Praktik Garden 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Praktik is a new, clean and very economical hotel in the centre of Barcelona. It is a new concept midway between a modern hostel and a contemporary hotel. In Praktik, the technology and comforts we seek when we travel combine with the history of the city of Barcelona, as it is located in a historical building from the Modernist age, in the heart of the Eixample district. Praktik is chic, friendly, comfortable and very cheap. The best way to visit Barcelona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Praktik Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Praktik Garden Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing