We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Contemporary Basic ... Would stay again!”
Review of Praktik Garden

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Praktik Garden
Ranked #137 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 25, 2011

We stayed in a twin room at The Praktik Hotel and it was exactly what we were after. We paid a little extra for a terrace, which you can stand on (not large enough for tables or chairs) - which is worth it for the atmosphere. There is a communal terrace with lounge chairs and tables (perfect to use after your trip to the markets!).

Very clean, contemporary, great location with a metro stop close by and walking distance to fabulous restaurants and shops. Air-conditioned rooms with complimentary wi-fi. The rooms are small, but not here in Barcelona to hang out in the room! There is no mini bar but downstairs there were vending machines with drinks and snacks available - and lots of cafes close by.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sal W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Praktik, Belén Mas-Hotel Manager at Praktik Garden, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2011

Dear Guest,

We Thank you very much for your nice comments in Tripadvisor.

Yes it´s true we do have some rooms with balcony and terrace and it´s worth it! however for those who want to take some drinks and rest more comfortably we do have a big and nice terrace in the first floor besides the lounge.

Rooms are a bit small but with all the necessary for short breaks, as you say "customers are not in Barcelona to hang out in the room ", so we are happy you enjoyed our nice city!!

We welcome you again in the future.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,001)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,044 - 1,050 of 2,001 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2011

The situation of the hotel is very good! The rooms were nice and clean, the staff was helpful.
No phone in the rooms and no hair-drier. The rooms next to the street are a bit noisy.
I would advise not to take the breakfast. You take it outside at a rather far restaurant called QuQu, it's very poor and not really good.

Besides the breakfast I would totally recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: The rooms next to the street are a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marion T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Praktik, Belen Mas-Directora at Praktik Garden, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2011

Dear guest,
Thank you for your recommendations and your nice review.
About our suggestion for breakfast, it's a shame you didn´t like it.We consider it´s a good option in Barcelona because it´s near the center and with good value for money, however we understand this is very personal depending on the tastes of each.
Only point out abot the hair dryers in the rooms, we are now finnishing in putting them in all our rooms, possibly yours was one of the last rooms it didn´t have one.We hope you come back and definetely use it.

We welcome you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

Very close to the central touristic atractions (within walking distance - 10-20 min); 2 metro stations nearby (Girona just around the corner and Tetuan 5 min walk). Safe and quiet location. Small room, but very clean with a huge comfortable bed. Very good cleaning service. Nice, friendly and helpful staff. Lounge with computer, terrace on the 1st floor. Lockers for luggage after checking out. How to get there: bus 46 from the airport to Placa Espana then metro (Girona or Tetuan). The taxi to the airport costs about 25 euros.
A chair or two in the room would be useful.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ioana b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

The Practik is a well maintained, clean, budget hotel. If you like to walk everywhere then the location is not ideal (about 45 min. to the beach) but there is a metro station close by if this is your chosen means of transportation. It is about a 15-20 min. walk to las Ramblas.

The hotel room itself is very nice but the bed is increadibly hard and uncomfortable. We stayed for 6 nights and it was unbearable the last few nights.

If we returned we would try somewhere new but it is not bad value for your money.

Room Tip: Ask for a street view- the interior rooms seemed very loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EuropeanTraveler26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Praktik, Belén Mas-Directora at Praktik Garden, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2011

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your contribution. We are glad you liked the Hotel, shame you´re not used to hard beds.

Because we think it is so important to rest properly we got the mattresses from the top brand in the Spanish market, but we understand that is something so personal and subject to our taste.

We hope the “hard “bed didn´t spoil your holiday and to have you back here very soon.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2011

Reading some reviews when i was booking, i noticed that some previous travelers were disappointed with this hotel, mostly with the room and bathroom size.
Well, i don't know exactly what they were expecting, but after looking at their website my first thought was "it seems like a cool Ibis".
And so it was.
Great location, clean room, confortable (and big) bed, helpfull staff (that sent me to Tapas 24, a great restaurant a few meters away).
Since they have no restaurant, if you buy them breakfast you get a voucher for a restaurant at Paseig de Gracia. I wouldn't do it again. Not that the breakfast didn't worth it. It's just that if i have to go a restaurant, i'll prefer to choose it myself.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TCruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Praktik, Belén Mas-Directora at Praktik Garden, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2011

Dear Guest,

It was very pleasant for Us to read your review, great to know you got The Praktik concept.

If you ever decide to go to Madrid, check out our new branch Praktik Metropole it worth a visit!

We hope you´ll be back to see us too and we will offer you more tips about our great Barcelona.

Kind Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

Stayed here 5 nights and enjoyed our stay. Very helpful front desk, good central but quiet location right by metro, good shower, room a bit small though with the double bed taking up most of it.

Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank TheModoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

Very nice hotel. Nothing flashy just functional and really good value.
Situated in a nice part of the city. With some good bars and places to eat (try 'Tapas 24' just down the street) Staff were always friendly and helpful. And our room was serviced on a daily basis.
If and when we plan another trip to Barcelona we would happily book here again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mejg35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Praktik, Belen Mas-Hotel manager at Praktik Garden, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2011

Dear guest,
Thank you for your recommendations. All our staff works hard to make your stay unforgettable.
We will be very happy to see you again.
With best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Hotel Praktik Bakery
Hotel Praktik Bakery
#84 of 515 in Barcelona
1,956 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Praktik Vinoteca
Hotel Praktik Vinoteca
#67 of 515 in Barcelona
1,596 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Praktik Rambla
Hotel Praktik Rambla
#81 of 515 in Barcelona
2,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
#80 of 515 in Barcelona
2,138 reviews
Eixample
Acta Antibes
Acta Antibes
#113 of 515 in Barcelona
1,952 reviews
Condado Hotel Barcelona
#169 of 515 in Barcelona
1,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Praktik Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Praktik Garden

Address: C/Diputacion 325, 08009 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $56 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Praktik Garden 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Praktik is a new, clean and very economical hotel in the centre of Barcelona. It is a new concept midway between a modern hostel and a contemporary hotel. In Praktik, the technology and comforts we seek when we travel combine with the history of the city of Barcelona, as it is located in a historical building from the Modernist age, in the heart of the Eixample district. Praktik is chic, friendly, comfortable and very cheap. The best way to visit Barcelona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Praktik Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Praktik Garden Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing