We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I do not recommend.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostal Boqueria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hostal Boqueria
Ranked #164 of 760 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
DUBLIN
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“I do not recommend.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2010

Another hostel in Barcelona because of volcanic ash. Unfortunately, not recommendable. Very expensive (average 170e / day). Quality Hotel low. Dirty linen. Dark room. Broken remote control. At night, loudly outside. The positive is only a nice lady from checkin. For this price, I would not recommend.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dromack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    66
    36
    25
    8
See reviews for
33
64
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2010

Excellent location with friendly staff. Breakfast poor with breakfast room far too small, missed the meal on two days as there was no room to sit down, bedroom was basic, clean and well serviced. Good wi-fi signal in room. Would not stay here again. The Hostal Boqueria at number 33 Las Ramblas is a far better than this one at number 100.
Would rate this hostal at one star maximum.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Omodos123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Barcelona hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Luton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2009

Worst trip in my life. The sheets were dirty/smelly and the bed/matress was from the 1970's. When we got there my friends room wasn't ready. After we did get the room the bed had hairs in it, and there was no safe. The safe in my room wasn't attached to anything. Dont believe that the hotel has WIFI in the rooms. You have to sit in reception for it to work. The lift is so noisy you can hear it in every room and they are rebuilding the hotel next door (likely to be in progress for the rest of the year) so don't expect to sleep in after 0730am. I have been in hostels in eastern europe that cost less and were 10 times better. My advice... there are better hotels and hostels of a similar price that are in the same area so stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boonie256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2008

I stayed at this Hostal for one night following a cruise. I selected it based on the location. For the one night we stayed there, I had no complaints. The room was a bit cramped, but again I was only there for a couple hours. My room faced La Ramblas which was great.

  • Liked — location and cheap internet
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Mellie76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olmsted Falls, Ohio
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2008

When we were planning our trip to Spain, we found it difficult to find a decent place for a moderate price. (We do not demand luxury accomodations, and we prefer to pay less than $100 US per night.) After looking at hotel after hotel that cost over $200, we settled on the Hostal Boqueria because of its location on the Ramblas right across the street from the Boqueria Market (one of our favorite places in the city). It really isn't a bargain at $138 for two per night, but it didn't break the bank either.

Our first night, our room faced a narrow pedestrian street at the back of the hostal, but they told us that for the remaining 3 nights we could switch to one facing the Ramblas. Surprisingly, we had more trouble with street noise in the first room. Noises reverberated along that narrow street. In our room facing the Ramblas, with the windows closed, the activity along the street was muffled, even though it was the weekend of one of the city's major festivals.

Our room was very adequate, although a little cramped. It was very clean, beds were comfortable, bathroom was modern. We had air conditioning, and cable TV. The desk staff was very pleasant. The best part was the location. We walked out the front door onto the Ramblas. From our balcony window we could watch some of the parades of the Merced Festival. We were a short walk from the sights in the Gothic Quarter, and the Plaza de Catalunya with Metro and rail connections were nearby.

The only real criticism is that the shower stall is built in such a way that it is difficult not to get water all over the bathroom floor.

The hostal met our requirements, and if the price were lower, I probably would have given it a higher rating. But then again, this is Barcelona, one of the most expensive cities in Spain, and we were in a prime location.

  • Liked — Excellent location
  • Disliked — Somewhat cramped
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank wmsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2008

Don't expect the Ritz but this hostal was in an excellent location, was really clean and had a good price.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Knew what to expect, so didn't have negative impression when I arrived.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RosMagByr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2007

This hotel, is situated in the heart of the city of Barcellona, on the Rambla.
I stayed there with my family but we had a problem, they gave us a room, that had only one windows and from there you could see the elevator..
Although we asked to change our room, they said they couldn't because the had only doubles remaining...
An other problem is that if you don't turn on the air conditioning, you can't breath and air does not pass from the window on the elevator...

Anyway, I must say that the bathrooms were very cleen, and the room was regularly cleaned up well. There was also a huge safe lock where i put my laptop 15".

I personally suggest this hotel to young people, because it's very cheap, and it's located in one of the best position of Barcellona you could ever find.

  • Liked — The position in the city center
  • Disliked — The terrible beds!
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Elias Nahum L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
La Rambla
Flor Parks Hotel
Flor Parks Hotel
#205 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
La Rambla
Citadines Ramblas Barcelona
Citadines Ramblas Barcelona
#137 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
El Raval
Exe Ramblas Boqueria
Exe Ramblas Boqueria
#311 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Rambla
Hotel Bagues
Hotel Bagues
#20 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
La Rambla
Hostal Las Flores
Hostal Las Flores
#163 of 760 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
La Rambla
Apartments Ramblas 108
Apartments Ramblas 108
#95 of 760 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Boqueria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Boqueria

Property: Hostal Boqueria
Address: La Rambla 100, 1st fl, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > La Rambla
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #164 of 760 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Boqueria 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Hostal Boqueria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Boqueria Hotel Barcelona
Hostal Boqueria Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing