We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (90)
Filter reviews
90 results
Traveler rating
18
28
26
8
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
18
28
26
8
10
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 90 reviews
Reviewed April 26, 2010

We recently stayed in Unit 32 at MH Apartments Guell. We couldn't have been more pleased. Apartment was large, clean and oh so convenient! The staff was courteous and we hope to stay in other MH Apartments in future travel. Only negative . . .. mattresses a bit soft . . actually . . . a lot soft. But we were so tired by the end of the day, it didn't make any difference. Since we were there during the "ash fallout," it would have been great if there had been an English speaking channel on TV, but no such luck. Book this location with confidence.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bannyrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2010

Would recommend except for the fact that the fire escape would be a big issue with me. If there had been a fire in the ground floor, there was no way out.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melbeeireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2009

I booked a two bedroom apartment at MH Apartments Guell through HotelsClick and got it for about $110 a night with all taxes for three nights in November 2009 using a discount code. I was somewhat disappointed with the apartment. The main section of the apartment consisted of a one room that acting as a living room, dining room and kitchen. There was no real living room and no television except for a small one in the master bedroom. In any case, there was no English language TV so watching TV was not really an option. No WiFi either. The other rooms included a large master bedroom with a king sized bed (two twins pushed together) connected to a tiny bathroom and a bedroom separated from the living area by a partial wall with two twin beds and another tiny bathroom. The problem is that if anyone in the living area is talking or working with the lights on the people in the twin bedroom will not be able to sleep. It seems like the apartment was a converted one bedroom because there was no heating or cooling device in the twin bedroom. The apartment looked nothing like the pictures but maybe others are different.

When we arrived at the Barcelona airport we called the number they gave us which was quite a feat because there are only two pay phones in the arrivals area, we had no Euro coins and the number has extra digits that we did not need. They gave us a check in time of 1:30pm. The person who met us was on time but not very personable and did not take the time to tell us how anything worked. They were doing some construction work below our apartment which made it difficult to nap and get over jet lag. The workers did go home a five though. For some reason there were only towels on one bathroom and there was no soap so bring hotel soap with you like I did.

The location was supposedly little sketchy but I never felt threatened. We did see prostitutes farther east during the day. Since people eat so late there are always people on the streets after the sun goes down. Here is a tip, buy a T10 card for the subway. It is much less expensive than individual tickets and can be shared. Leave all your valuables in the apartment or put them in a money belt and just carry what you need for the day.

Here are the pros

Near La Rambla and a subway station that can take you directly to many of the attractions.
Lots of grocery stores and shops nearby.
You can cook which saves a ton of money since food is very expensive.
Quiet street with light traffic, our apartment faced the back and we heard no street noise.
Beds fairly comfortable by Spanish standards.
Great value compared to hotel rooms, lots of space for the money.
You get to live and shop like the locals do.
Fully adjustable heating and cooling that was fairly quiet.

In summary, although the apartment was not perfect if you have a group these apartments are a great value and a much better alternative than a hotel room.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2009

We stayed here for my hen do - 15 of us in 4 apartments. Very spacious rooms - 3 of the apartments had ensuite as well as normal bathroom. Not much to look at outside but that's not why we were here. Good spacious living rooms as well so we could all gather in one room. Plenty of bedding in case it was cold. Only problem is no air con in the rooms but we had great air con in the living room which filtered through. This is on a side street of La Rambla and about 10 min walk to the marina and 20 min walk from plaza catalunya where the aiport bus drops you off.
Please, please mind the thieves. We are not carefree and still my mum's handbag was stolen outside a cafe...but we chased them and got it back! But my suitacase was stolen from outside the apartment when we were leaving right under my nose.
Overall though this location was perfect for us but if you want a quiet night you might find that some of the groups are noisy.

Stayed: August 2009
Thank Claypole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2009

stayed here with husband and brother in law whilst in barcelona in july.

apartments was lovely and spacious. service was efficient - we were met at apartment by someone from the company at allocated time (they contacted me 1 week before to set up time). taken into apartment and paid on a portable electronic credit card device which was nifty, deposit taken and then left in peace for the rest of our stay.

pros
- very well set up for getting clothes washing done - balcony with a stand for drying things was brilliant as your washing dried fast. washing powder was provided, as was an iron/ironingn board etc.
- plenty of cups/mugs/plates etc, cooking stuff such as pots and pans a bit more bereft but you could have made do if you wanted to cook. decent sized kitchen.
- small supermarket directly across the road
- spacious, and well set up with all those little extras (dishwashign detergent, washing powder etc)
cons
- aircon was one large unit in the lounge, but none in the bedroom. it seemed sufficient for us as it cooled the whole place, but not ideal
- we were due to check out at midday. ducked out at 11am for some breakfast and upon our return at 11:59am the cleaning staff had already let themselves in and started. not a huge deal, and we were pushing teh time limit, but a bit cheeky none the less.
- you had to take all your own rubbish down teh stairs and dispose of it in the garbage bins on the street at check out. understandable as if cleaners dont turn up that day it could cause problems, but annoying none the less!
- the shower head in our bathroom was not the greatest and our bathroom was small, althoguh clean.
- no wifi that i coudl find paid for or free to log onto, internet access would be a great addition.

overally i thought it was great - the apartment was definitely worth what we paid for it and hte location did rock. just beware pickpocketers (particuarly late at night on the ramblas - my brother in law and father in law were both pickpocketed within 24hrs of each other on our trip). and the automatic bank teller on that street charges lots of extra fees so avoid!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BackPacker803060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews