We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Adequate apartment in great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
MH Apartments Guell
Ranked #359 of 757 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Cambridge
Level Contributor
375 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“Adequate apartment in great location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2011

We picked this via Friendly Rentals and for its location close to Las Ramblas. It's certainly a great location just steps off that main attraction, near to Plaza Real, easy walk to the marina and on a side street that runs down to a good metro where you can also catch the fernicular to Mountjuic. The Gaudi house Paul Guell is opposite but was closed during our stay.

Ours was an apartment for four which was fine for the two of us but would be disappointing if full. There is a large double bedroom (king sized bed though twin mattresses) but the twin is a cordened off area of the living room so you couldn't have anyone trying to sleep and others chatting on the sofa at the same time. Both bedrooms provided with ensuite shower/lavatory - tiniest bathrooms I've ever seen.

Our apartment (no 4) was at the back of the building and so we were not troubled with street noise. The bedroom had black out curtains and we slept well each night. There was a TV with Spanish channels and internet that we didn't use plus a mini hi-fi so we could play our own CDs.

The apartment is equipped with the basics but they've not spent much on the furniture. Kitchen units past their best and would be greatly improved with addition of items such as full length mirror (just a small mirror in the bathroom). Plenty of hot water.

We had stove, oven, fridge etc and enough kitchen equipment for our needs which was to make breakfast, though other meals would be possible. Only issue with the kitchen was that the kettle took about 15 minutes to boil on the stove but that's not unusual on the continent.

Check in via Friendly Rentals was OK. Their rep was about 20-30 minutes late in turning up but helpful enough. Cleaning in the apartment was adequate but don't look under the sofa!

Overall if you are seeking a central location with the freedom to make your own simple breakfast then this would be a reasonable choice.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CultureVultureCamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    25
    23
    8
    9
See reviews for
45
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
gurgaon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2010

We stayed at Guell 00. The apartment is well appointed and well located. We were terribly uncomfortable as it was late sept and the hot water was not functioning. There is no management or service support on or near the site. When we called the service number they tried to fob us off saying the hot water supply was impacted 'in the entire neighbourhood". We met one of the guests in another apartment in the same building who confirmed they had no problems with hot water supply. MH management then accepted that they had lied to us and offered us another apartment the next day... so we were international travellers without hot water for almost 2 days. In addition the washing machine was damaged and did not work. TV was spanish channels and no wifi available. Poor value and very disappointing stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank singhhardy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Barcelona hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2010

After I got my email confirmation I rang to confirm that I would arrive in Barcelona Airport at 10.30am & expected to be arriving at the apartments at around 11.30am. After arrival in the airport I rang again as instructed to do so on arrival to be informed that we couldn't check in until 2pm so we had & there was no where to store luggage so we had to drag it around until able to check in which wasted alot of our time as we couldn't get stuck in to proper sight seeing & shopping etc until we had got rid of our cases!! I would recommend staying here if you can get checked in on arrival!!

Although the man who checked us in was great he got us in quickly & he arrived at 2pm exactly. The apartment was great nice & clean & had everything you could possibly need for a short stay. Close to shops, restaurants & supermarkets.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natz135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2010

We were extremely disappointed with this apartment. The sewage smell was so bad in the kitchen that we could not use it. Upon entry you will notice how dirty the stairways are and you will smell sewage immediately. The living room furniture was very dirty as were all the floors in the apartment. The location is scary but the police seem to patrol the area often.
It is very noisy at night as it is close to LasRamblas. We slept very little. The best thing we can say about this experience is that we toured most of Barcelona because we never wanted to return to this apartment until bedtime and were out early in the morning.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scanali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2010

This apartment is in a great location, just metres from La Ramblas. The rooms are large and comfortable. Bedding was good. The only criticism is that the walls are paper thin, and therefore you are at the mercy of your neighbors and people in the street with respect to getting a decent nights sleep. With regard to family accomodation its ok but given the noise would recommend staying out of the old city. Instead this apartment is perfect for a group of young people that are looking to have a huge weekend partying in Barcelona. My only criticism is that the staff running MH apartments are not helpful. I asked the young gentlemen who gave us entry into the apartment for his recommendation on where to park my car overnight. He sent me to Saba at Placa Catalunya which is 42euro per 24 hours, when just next door there are much cheaper places ie 25 euro per 24 hours. In hindsight he was rude and lazy.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gabba69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2010

I traveled to Barcelona with my in-laws, brother-in-law, husband and 10 month old daughter. This apartment was amazing. We stayed in a three bedroom on the first floor. It had two bathrooms, kitchen and living room and a great long hallway to keep the stroller and other bags. It was great for the family atmosphere so we could stay up late while the baby slept. The location couldn't have been better. Not even a block to Las Ramblas and Paco even met us at 11pm to get the keys. He was very nice and we thank him for sticking around so late. The sign outside is a little small but I had heard that from other reviews so I knew to look for the address to make sure I didn't miss it. We found a parking garage a block away that wasn't terribly expensive and there was a grocery store just below the apartment. This was our favorite place on our entire trip. I would highly recommend this apartment if you are coming with a group and you want common space to hang out.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bartlett_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2010

We recently stayed in Unit 32 at MH Apartments Guell. We couldn't have been more pleased. Apartment was large, clean and oh so convenient! The staff was courteous and we hope to stay in other MH Apartments in future travel. Only negative . . .. mattresses a bit soft . . actually . . . a lot soft. But we were so tired by the end of the day, it didn't make any difference. Since we were there during the "ash fallout," it would have been great if there had been an English speaking channel on TV, but no such luck. Book this location with confidence.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bannyrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
MH Apartments Liceo
MH Apartments Liceo
#444 of 521 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
MH Apartments Opera Rambla
MH Apartments Opera Rambla
#380 of 521 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
El Raval
La Rambla dels Caputxins
La Rambla dels Caputxins
#418 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
MH Apartments Center
MH Apartments Center
#157 of 757 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Eixample
MH Apartments
MH Apartments
#56 of 757 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
MH Apartments Family
#209 of 757 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MH Apartments Guell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MH Apartments Guell

Property: MH Apartments Guell
Address: Carrer Nou de la Rambla, 20, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Hotel Style:
Ranked #359 of 757 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — MH Apartments Guell 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MH Apartments Güell are located in a quiet street within the historic city centre of Barcelona. Central, spacious and well equiped they are perfectly location to discover Barcelona's charms, shopping and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your MH Apartments Guell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mh Apartments Guell Hotel Barcelona
MH Apartments Guell Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing