We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great for your budget”
Review of Catalonia Avinyo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Catalonia Avinyo
Ranked #128 of 517 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 24, 2013

good option if you don't plan on staying to long in the hotel!
PROS: excellent location in the gotic quarter, hotel is clean and modern, wifi works great, bathroom is quite large for the size of the room. there is a lovely hot tub and pool terrace on the roof.


CONS: if you are a solo traveller the single room might be small (single bed), my shower leaked water into the bathroom if not careful in pointing the nozzle far from the shower door, aircon stopped working after day 1 and was always heating up the room, ,y friend's room was very noisy as it had a communicating door to the neighbours' one.


overall it's good value for money, but there are a few kinks to be ironed out

Room Tip: avoid rooms with communicating doors if you enjoy quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gianpippero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,184)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

461 - 467 of 1,184 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2013

In the middle of the beautiful gotic quarter, this is a lovely hotel. Close to everything (The Ramblas, metro, shopsand restaurants), clean, friendly and helpfull staff. Be sure to ask for a room with a window. We heard some dont have. We wormly recommend!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sharon s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Cataonia Avinyo is a tidy hotel tucked away on the heart of the Gothic Quarter, watch out you may just walk past it.

The staff are friendly and genuinely look out for you and provide sound advice. The rooms were clean, a little on the small side.

At night retire to the spa or pool and relax after a long days walking. I based myself out of the hotel in order to explore the sites of Barcelona.The hotel is relatively central and you don't have to walk far (50 meters) to find amazing food, wine or architecture.

Over all pretty good and reasonable price.

Room Tip: I had a single room and it was seriously small. However it did have a everything I needed i.e. safe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We stayed 3 nights before a cruise and just loved the location of this hotel. If you want a soft pillowtop bed look elswhere, the matress is hard and low to the ground but perfect for my sore back after a 12 hour flight. The room was minimalistic but very clean. As this was our first time in europe it took us a while to figure out you have to put your room key in a slot by the door to turn the lights on. I found the shower was mounted too low and it soaked the floor around the toilet. The staff were very helpful and friendly, especially the youg lady that checked us in in the evening. It is in easy walking distance to everything you might want to do from the beach to the Gotic district. We had an outside room on the 5th floor facing a side street. It was quite noisy at night because of a bar just down the way, but with the window closed it was not bad. The only disapoinment was the hours of the pool and hot tub. It closes at 8pm whichis way too early for a city with such a vibrant nightlife. We would have liked an evening soak in the hottub before heading out again to enjoy the night.

Room Tip: Being able to wake up and open an outside window is a bonus. Many of the rooms here open into an ins...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank biker367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

The rooms are very plain and not as clean as they should be. The beds are VERY low quality - more like sofa beds. The staff isn't too helpful, and pretty clueless at times. Stay here if you're traveling on a budget, don't plan on spending much time in the room and want to stay next to La Rambla.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thewb23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

I booked 2 rooms at this hotel just off La Rambla in downtown Barcelona on July 30, 2013 through Venere.com. On August 22 I received an e-mail telling me they were moving us to another hotel - one that was 10 kms and a 20 minute drive from the La Rambla area. On my third call, Venere.com booked us in another hotel and assured us that we would get a refund from the Avinyo. I have not received the refund and cannot get a response from either the Catalonia Hotel group which own the Avinyo or Venere 2 months and numerous e-mails later.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank rockwellin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

The hotel is in the center of the Barri Gotic, the core of the city. In 5 minutes, you are at the cathedral, the Ramblas or the Plaça Reial.
The staff is friendly, efficient and gives very good advices. I think it is possible to rent bicycles at the hotel equiped with a motor (usefull if you want to go to the parc Güell without the metro...).
The rooms are nice, and well-equiped. The breakfats buffet is nice and complete. During the night the hotel is quite and not too noisy.
A very good address in the center of the city.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hamm14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
H10 Raco Del Pi
H10 Raco Del Pi
#161 of 517 in Barcelona
1,013 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
NH Barcelona Barri Gotic
NH Barcelona Barri Gotic
#112 of 517 in Barcelona
807 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
#57 of 517 in Barcelona
2,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Port
Catalonia Port
#72 of 517 in Barcelona
603 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Citadines Ramblas Barcelona
Citadines Ramblas Barcelona
#139 of 517 in Barcelona
1,145 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
#75 of 517 in Barcelona
1,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Avinyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Avinyo

Address: Avinyo 16, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#101 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#151 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $85 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Catalonia Avinyo 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catalonia Avinyo hotel stands in a privileged location in the centre of Barcelona. Only a few metres from Ferran and Ample street and very close to Las Ramblas and Plaza Sant Jaume. This hotel is situated on Avinyo street plenty of tradition and character and with a wide variety of modern shops and boutiques and located in the real heart of the Gothic Quarter. Other places of interest near the hotel include the Cathedral and Liceu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Catalonia Avinyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Avinyo Barcelona
Catalonia Avinyo Hotel Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing