We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Two thumps up for the location”
Review of Catalonia Avinyo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Catalonia Avinyo
Ranked #137 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Limassol, Cyprus
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Two thumps up for the location”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Just off Las Ramblas, perfect staring point to explore the city. The staff is very nice, helpful and polite. Rooms and bathrooms are spacious enough.
We asked for a double bed so we were initially given a smaller room with a window looking at the internal corridor of the hotel. Big NO NO. So we settled for two single beds pushed together and a small window looking outside the hotel but inside the living room of the neighbour :)
Wifi was only available at the lobby (not in the rooms) which is inconvenient.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Despina8125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,024 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    453
    136
    42
    30
See reviews for
177
461
61
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

This is a great place to stay in Barcelona - very centrally located, clean rooms, and a tiny pool and jacuzzi on the roof. The little balcony in our room was lovely, and a great place for people watching. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlj202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Stayed here the last time i was in Barcelona. I had usually stayed with a larger group of friends for the SOnar festival in the city, but as it was only 2 of us on this trip, we decided on this hotel. It was modern, clean and the rooms were nicely designed. It has a fantastic terrace on the roof with a small plunge pool and a hot-tub. it also had a waiter service for the terrace who you could order food or drinks from and they would bring them up to you from the bar or restaurant.

the staff were friendly, and even when there was a fault in the bathroom, we were moved to another, bigger room after we complained about the leak. it was also promptly fixed by the maintenance man.

the hotel, in a nutshell, is like an oasis of calm, compared to the manic streets of bustling barcelona. it is in the Gotica area, and in my opinion it's the best area of Barcelona - just beware of pickpockets, as they are all over this city waiting to pounce on tourists.

nothing bad to say about this hotel, so overall it's very good and at a decent price for what you get in barcelona usually.

Room Tip: all rooms are fairly similar - all look out to an internal courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Conor O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Stayed both before and after a trip north of Barcelona - a total of 5 nights. Fantastic location with ease of access to all sections of the city. Incredibly helpful staff where nothing was a problem. The position and convenience was more an attraction than the very small pool.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Although we found the hotel very hard to find, we had a brilliant two night stay at the hotel. Hotel staff were so nice and helpful - more so than the tourist office! The room was spotless. It was cleaned during our stay. The hotel is 5 minute walk from las ramblas. It is near to metro stops. There are lots of bars and restaurants nearby - it is off a square called plaza de reial which is beautiful. We loved going there for a drink at night and eating any meal there! Wifi is available for free in the bedroom. The only negative is that there was no mirror in the main bedroom which was annoying for getting ready to go out at night. Our room also did not have a window, which didn't bother me but freaked my boyfriend out a little! We would definitely stay here again though.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KittyBeag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights in July. great location right by the bars and five mins walk to ramblas. Also close to the bus stops and metro. about 30 minute walk to the beach and need map to find it as not lear and you end up walking to the port instead.

Good points: Rooms nice and cool and quiet (we had inside room), cleaned everyday, have hair dryer & provide soap, shampoo, shower cap and comb. Great to have roof pool with jacuzzi and free towels. Nice decor and modern facilities. Wonderful location close to bars and restaurants.

Bad points: no mirror in main room, only bathroom so if two girls like we were you have to wait for friend to get ready before you can dry hair/look in mirror. Wouldn't be a problem for couples. There is limited storage space and nowhere to dry beach towels and costumes. The hotel relies upon you to use its laundry service for this which includes an extra cost. The bar doesn't have many drinks and probably cheaper to drink out. Useful to have mini bar in room though although a bit pricey, you can use the fridge for your own drinks.

Would definitely stay here again. The location and buildings are very similar to Italy and despite many warnings of pickpocketers we never saw any, but just be aware on the ramblas. Night out would recommend the cheers bar for good fun and free bands.

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tracynics_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is a 15 minute walk from the last bus stop of the aerobus if you travel from the airport. The hotel is in a great location to view the major sights of Barcelona. The staff are friendly and happy to assist. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. Just be sure to put the 'do not disturb' sign on the door if you wish to sleep past 9. On our first night we woke to a knock, before I could get to the door the cleaner was already coming in. Sorry for the indecent exposure :) good a/c and wifi available.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JJWalkley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
NH Barcelona Barri Gotic
NH Barcelona Barri Gotic
#109 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
H10 Raco Del Pi
H10 Raco Del Pi
#105 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Port
Catalonia Port
#63 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
#59 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,108 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Petit Palace Boqueria Garden
Petit Palace Boqueria Garden
#142 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,503 reviews
El Raval
NH Barcelona Ramblas
NH Barcelona Ramblas
#151 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Avinyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Avinyo

Property: Catalonia Avinyo
Address: Avinyo 16, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#151 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#169 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Catalonia Avinyo 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catalonia Avinyo hotel stands in a privileged location in the centre of Barcelona. Only a few metres from Ferran and Ample street and very close to Las Ramblas and Plaza Sant Jaume. This hotel is situated on Avinyo street plenty of tradition and character and with a wide variety of modern shops and boutiques and located in the real heart of the Gothic Quarter. Other places of interest near the hotel include the Cathedral and Liceu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Catalonia Avinyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Avinyo Barcelona
Catalonia Avinyo Hotel Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing