We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and reasonably priced”
Review of Catalonia Avinyo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Catalonia Avinyo
Ranked #128 of 517 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile


Located very close to LA Rumbla and Placa Catalunya in the Gothic area, and close to all sorts of bars and restaurants and that was a real bonus.
The room was clean and tidy but I missed no kettle to make a hot drink and no iron available in your room.
I also found the room was not very sound proof - you could hear a lot of people talking in the corridor however it was very reasonably priced for the location, so if you want a great location and are going to be exploring a lot then I still recommend this Hotel

1  Thank vbain
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,184)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

495 - 501 of 1,184 reviews

Reviewed May 22, 2013

Visited the hotel 17-21/5 with my sister. The location of this hotel was the reason we selected it, great spot with nice shops, restaurant and the beach on walking distance, the hotel service was also friendly.

The rooms are less impressive though, it turned out that we did not have any outside windows in our room, so it was damp and dark and we were unable to tell if it was day or night/what the weather was. Also we had no cellphone reception and couldn't connect to Wifi in the room, even though Free Wifi was indicated when i made my booking. We asked to switch rooms but this was not an option as the hotel was fully booked.

Also be careful when the hotel arranges a taxi for you as there is quite a large supplemental charge because of that!

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for outside windows!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laar84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Barcelona is the Mecca of architectonic realness, and Catalonia Avinyo is sure a great place with a great location. The service was great and helped me in all my requirements as a guest. Including helping me pick some good places around the city to go to.

Room Tip: contact in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ugarterene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

My wife and i stayed in this hotel for 5 nights, the only bad thing here is the noise made in the outside alley ways, but some ear plugs fixed that one. and the room could do with a kettle, great value for money, great location, with a small supermarket 30 seconds away,highly recommeded stay.

Room Tip: i was told some rooms are on the inside with no windows, we were lucky not to get this but we did ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank t w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is very good for the price we paid! The location is excellent and the service is excellent.
A few tips: if you go on a weekday all food places close at 3am so there's no after drinking munch available. However everything is open till much later on the weekend.
Also taxi drivers will always try and rip you off. If they charge you more than €35 to this hotel from the airport, you can argue and threaten to call the police. It will work.
Enjoy Barcelona it's a beautiful city.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Molty15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Excellent location in the heart of the bustle and restaurants on your doorstep each night. No noise in the rooms either which is a bonus.

Rooms were clean and simple. We did book this hotel (and paid slightly more for it) over others in the area though because of the pool and hot tub facilities. Whilst I expected that it would be too cold to use the pool in April I'd really hoped to use the Hot Tub after a hard days sightseeing. It was a no go though, extremely cold water and pretty dirty! Don't choose this hotel if this is one of your deciding factors like us- there are other cheaper options in the same area!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smilin_samie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Hotels in Barcelona center (close to La Ramblas) are quite expensive. You have to spend a lot of time searching for a good price. This hotel is a very good option for people looking for a more reasonable price without serious compromise. The hotel is very clean with comfortable rooms which seem recently renovated and in good location for reaching most of the sights on foot. It is in the Gothic Quarter but it's easy to find (the Gothic Qaurter is somewhat a maze of narrow streets). The staff at the reception were very kind and recommended a lot of good places to taste local cuisine. So what is the catch? Some rooms, I guess those, which are offered at the lowest prices, have a window overlooking an inner atrium, not the street. That means you do not get any fresh air and you have not idea what the weather outside is. But if you spend most of the time exploring Barcelona, that is not a problem. And finally, if you prefer not to pay 16 euro for breakfast per person, there are a couple of bakeries neaby where you can have coffee and croisssant for 2-3 euros. There is free wifi in the hotel and also two computers in the lobby which you can use free of charge and without time limitations. That's a good feature of hotel in Barcelona - offering free wifi. I wish Italian and German hotels follow this example.

Room Tip: Choose a superior double room if you want to avoid the
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dori12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
H10 Raco Del Pi
H10 Raco Del Pi
#161 of 517 in Barcelona
1,013 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
NH Barcelona Barri Gotic
NH Barcelona Barri Gotic
#112 of 517 in Barcelona
805 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
#57 of 517 in Barcelona
2,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Port
Catalonia Port
#72 of 517 in Barcelona
603 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Citadines Ramblas Barcelona
Citadines Ramblas Barcelona
#139 of 517 in Barcelona
1,145 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
#75 of 517 in Barcelona
1,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Avinyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Avinyo

Address: Avinyo 16, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#101 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#151 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $85 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Catalonia Avinyo 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catalonia Avinyo hotel stands in a privileged location in the centre of Barcelona. Only a few metres from Ferran and Ample street and very close to Las Ramblas and Plaza Sant Jaume. This hotel is situated on Avinyo street plenty of tradition and character and with a wide variety of modern shops and boutiques and located in the real heart of the Gothic Quarter. Other places of interest near the hotel include the Cathedral and Liceu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Catalonia Avinyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Avinyo Barcelona
Catalonia Avinyo Hotel Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing