We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location - and best shower ever!”
Review of The5rooms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The5rooms
Ranked #20 of 308 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newton, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Perfect location - and best shower ever!”
Reviewed May 25, 2014

This classy B&B is perfectly located a few minutes' walk from the Placa Catalunya.
The owner and staff are extremely helpful and not only helped us plan our limited time in the city but also booked us tickets to the most popular attractions. Our room was spacious for a city hotel, and the shower head was amazing

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DEBORAH F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    76
    11
    3
    4
See reviews for
55
184
13
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2014

I have stayed twice at the 5 rooms. Its the only place I would want to stay at in Barcelona! Amazing location - heart of the action but still on a not so touristy street. Three minutes from the Placa Catalunya which is pretty much the heart of the city and you need to pass everyday. P. Catalunya is where the Ramblas is and the shopping streets feed into it. Nice chinese and italian restaurants bookend the entrance so if you are tired and don't really want to go far for lunch or dinner, you don't miss having a hotel restaurant. Also, testimony to its great location is the Manadarin Oriental is only a 10 minutes walk away.
The 5 rooms is very tastefully designed, clearly a labour of love of the stylish owner who designed it all herself. Spacious rooms with good design (not over-designed) and everything works beautifully. The staff is very amiable and helpful. Breakfast area is warm and homely. This hotel is what a boutique hotel should be - comfortable and welcoming, with lots of charm. Value for money is the cherry on the cake.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lamborghinimumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuremberg, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

we stayed in barcelona in quite a few hotels in the past but the 5rooms by far exceeded our expectations. the price-value relationship is great. the hotel is unpretentious. the rooms are big, very clean, stylish and well equipped. a briliant place to stay!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bumbelbee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

This is a very cool, clean place with lovely staff. They helped us with anything we needed and made our stay easy and enjoyable. Would recommend very highly as a base for a stay in this great city. The hotel does have quite thin walls however, as we found out thanks to some enthusiastic german couples staying upstairs..

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank safandwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

Good things: 1.very central place.
2. Very very clean place.
3. Design classy and nice.
Bed things:
1. Outside the hotel there there is renovations most of the time not quiet.
2. The five room sharing big hallway together if somebody's staying outside and he want to rest you can hear them.
3. Internet reception is not so good in all the rooms.
4. The water in the shower is not so hot and strong, like it's supposed to be in a good hotel.
5. When I came first I didn't know where to go, into fronds of the building you don't have reception it is in the first floor.
6. The key for the rooms is very sensitive to visa so a lot phones etc.. If you stuck with I'm open key you need to have the phone to call to the owner that will come and open the door for you. Not cool.

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Ofir D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Clean, comfortable and quiet - what more can you ask for in the centre of any city? The 5 Rooms is bang where you want to be - close to a metro, five minutes away from La Rambla, Plaza Catalunya, many of the Gaudi attractions. I agree that the hot water was dodgy, the breakfast not always on time and it would have been great to have had milk available for coffee/ tea outside breakfast hours. But I was not in Barcelona to stay and moan about a hotel room. I was there to explore and it was the perfect base to do it from.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 69Penny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Let me begin with the positive side: Location is excellent and the rooms are nicely decorated and with good beds. The atmosphere is cosy and you fell the quietness of the place.
However, and this is a big HOWEVER, we spend three nights at the hotel and two of these were in a room with only cold water in the shower. We raised the issue several times but when we were capable at reaching the hotel staff that weren’t there all the time, they more or less didn't believe us. It wasn’t until we received a new room for the third night that they came back and told us that the plumber had found a problem with the water supply and our room were the room that was the first to experience this problem. Absolutely not ok!
And the breakfast was like the one you buy around in the supermarket around. Not good enough for a hotel were you pay that bit extra.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with hot water!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HenrikKCl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Hostal Goya
Hostal Goya
#34 of 308 in Barcelona
453 reviews
Eixample
ANBA Bed&Breakfast Deluxe
ANBA Bed&Breakfast Deluxe
#4 of 308 in Barcelona
486 reviews
Eixample
Violeta Boutique
Violeta Boutique
#7 of 308 in Barcelona
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barcino 147
#3 of 308 in Barcelona
599 reviews
Eixample
Circa 1905
Circa 1905
#21 of 308 in Barcelona
284 reviews
Eixample
Hostal Amra
Hostal Amra
#26 of 308 in Barcelona
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The5rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The5rooms

Property: The5rooms
Address: Pau Claris 72, 10, 08010 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 308 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The5rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 5 Rooms Hotel Barcelona
The5rooms Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing