We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An cool hotel in a great location”
Review of The5rooms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The5rooms
Ranked #20 of 308 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Halifax, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“An cool hotel in a great location”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

My second visit to Barcelona in two weeks...and this time a proper weekend to enjoy the city in a wonderful little property in central Barcelona. The hotel is a three-minute walk from the express bus to the airport - very convenient. The sign that says "The 5 Rooms" can be difficult to see, so keep your eyes open for the hotel mid-block. Check-in is up the elevator where the very friendly and helpful Tatiana or Caterina will greet you. They have great ideas for places to explore and restaurants to try. The room was beautiful, with a tiny balcony overlooking the street. There's a sink and shower in one room, and a toilet in another room. The second floor breakfast area is filled with art and books. The continental breakfast was excellent. Wi-fi in the rooms was free and reliable. I will visit again. My only caution would be the small step down from the entrance and bathroom into the main area with the bed. People, especially seniors, who might be prone to falls should be aware and cautious when they move around the room, especially at night.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mikeymaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    76
    11
    3
    4
See reviews for
55
184
13
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Byron Bay, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We just had 5 nights at The 5 Rooms - it was great. The room we had was lovely, spacious, very comfortable bed, good bathroom, quiet. We loved the whole place stylishly furnished (but not to trendy that you feel uncomfortable) good breakfast simple but all that you needed. Very helpful & friendly staff. We liked the fact that is was not a hotel because when you are in city like Barcelona you don't need room service or all the other bits as there is always a bar or cafe open to go to. Location is perfect right in the middle not far from the old town and close to all the public transport.
Thank you, we hope to be back one day.
M&S - Byron Bay

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SKaustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Converted from a pretty 19th century apartment block, 5 Rooms is a great option for a short city break. With its chic & ‘hip’ design, lovers of interior style will love the attention to detail in the furnishings and art, which is wonderfully eclectic and very in keeping with the style of modern Barcelona.

In an excellent location, 5 rooms is within walking distance or a short Metro ride of many of the main attractions of Barcelona. Although very centrally located, it has the best of both worlds being on a quieter, residential street in what feels like a very nice & safe neighbourhood.

When we arrived, we were met by a very friendly & helpful member of staff, who gave us plenty of tips for places to eat, views to enjoy and marked it all on a map of the city to help us get our bearings – a very nice touch. She also pointed out the computer with Internet & gave us advice on booking tickets in advance for the big attractions – very useful!

For the remainder of the stay however, we found 5 Rooms to have more of a ‘hands-off’ approach: there seems rarely to be a member of staff on the front desk, but you are given a number to call should you require any assistance. We didn’t really find this too much of an issue during our stay, but it would have been nice to have someone there for general enquiries etc.

Our room was a good size but the bed could have been more comfortable. The breakfast was OK but basic – mostly a selection of cold bread, meats & cheeses.

Overall, we really enjoyed our stay. 5 Rooms isn’t cheap, but you are paying for the great location and for a lovely, stylish environment.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DandLLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Discrete "Hotel" in former continental style apartments now on 2 floors - about 3 floors up and away from street. Inner room windows open into the inner (covered) atrium (did not see the Suites). Super helpful and friendly staff, beautifully furnished and appointed room and bathroom. 2 or 3 mins from Placa de Catalunya and the Aerobus stop.

Ideally situated for wanderings up the Passeig de Gracia, along La Rambla or into El Gotic
Staff happy to recommend small and excellent tapas bars as well as local events and happenings
Definitely would visit and stay there again

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robinrid2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed at The Five Rooms for 5 nights back in May 2012. It is quiet, clean, and absolutely gorgeous. The owner Yasmin, as well as her adorable team, had made our stay as welcoming and comfortable as it could ever be. The location is perfect, just two blocks away from Plz Catalyuna, and basically in the middle of everything.
We would definitely be back next time in Barcelona!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yoann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

This B&B is a gem in the heart of Barcelona. The staff, gracias a Tatiana y Caterina, was most welcoming and hospitable. The location cannot be beat. Just steps from Plaza Catalunya and even closer to the Urquinaona metro station, it is literally in the middle of everything: a ten minute walk to Casa Batallo, the Palau de Musica, and the Barrio Gotico. But at night, it is quiet. The rooms are spacious and stylish. It is a wonderful value in the heart of a wonderful city

Room Tip: We had a junior suite on the second floor, located on the inner courtyard...very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelgman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

The 5 Rooms is a super stylish and comfortable B&B in the heart of Barcelona (near Placa de Catalunya). You are within a 5 minute walk of the metro and La Ramblas. Also, the B&B is about a 15 minute walk to El Born and 10 minutes walking to Barrio Gotico. In addition, you can walk to a number of shopping districts within 10-15 minutes. The staff and owner at 5 rooms are incredibly sweet and helpful. They recommended a number of restaurants which turned out to be our favorite places in Barcelona. They were also very helpful in booking reservations and tickets to a soccer match and concert. The only thing to note is that the staff are not on site all day, however, they do provide you with a mobile phone number where they can be reached. This was fine with us as we mostly did our own thing and didn't require a ton of assistance, but if you need a bit more support, this might be an issue for you. Breakfast is served in a cute common area. It is pretty basic and the same thing is served every day (cereal, granola, bread, cheese, jam) so this could get repetitive for some, but was fine for us.

Lastly, we stayed in room 1 which is right near the reception area, but it was incredibly quiet and peaceful. Our room also had a huge window and small balcony which looked out onto the street (we didn't hear any street noise).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aggupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Hostal Goya
Hostal Goya
#34 of 308 in Barcelona
453 reviews
Eixample
ANBA Bed&Breakfast Deluxe
ANBA Bed&Breakfast Deluxe
#4 of 308 in Barcelona
486 reviews
Eixample
Violeta Boutique
Violeta Boutique
#7 of 308 in Barcelona
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barcino 147
#3 of 308 in Barcelona
599 reviews
Eixample
Circa 1905
Circa 1905
#21 of 308 in Barcelona
284 reviews
Eixample
Hostal Amra
Hostal Amra
#26 of 308 in Barcelona
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The5rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The5rooms

Property: The5rooms
Address: Pau Claris 72, 10, 08010 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 308 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The5rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 5 Rooms Hotel Barcelona
The5rooms Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing