We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed it very much.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
NH Barcelona Fira Suites
Ranked #222 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    188
    51
    21
    6
See reviews for
81
231
20
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Stayed here for one night prior to a cruise. Proved to be a cost-effective stay for very decent facilities. All rooms consisted of a living/dining area (with a small kitchen area with fridge and microwave), a decent shower room plus a sizeable double/twin bedroom.
It takes about 20 minutes to get into the centre of Barcelona by metro, which is cheap and regular and is just a short walk away, in the direction of the hospital.
Check-in is in the hotel next door, so if you have a taxi, make sure it drops you off there, and the staff on reception were really helpful. We bought the breakfast when we checked in, and it was a full buffet selection of hot food, pastries and fruit - well worth the 12 euros a head we were charged.
If you don't mind not being right in the centre of the city, then this could be a good option for you; it was for us.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaughOutLoud2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westwood, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We asked for a room for 2 adults and 2 kids at Hesperia site and were offered a room at Fira Suites. It was claimed as a 5 star hotel. I don't understand the criteria for the 5 star rating. This could be a 2 star hotel.

We checked in at Hesperia Towers (next door) since there is no reception at Fira Suites. The facility is not well maintained. The room is poorly lit. Wifi is practically non-existent. The bathroom is really small. There is no attached car parking. We had to park at Towers and walk to Suites thru the outside walkway.

The buffet breakfast was just average. (You have to walk all the way to Towers to take breakfast.) There is no eating place within walking distance, other than the expensive restaurant at the next door Hesperia Towers.

Room Tip: You may be better off staying at Hesperia Towers which is next door. I would suggest to stay off Hes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oruvan n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kidderminster
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I'll try to offer you all some tips we picked up along the way which i think will be very beneficial.

From the Airport red bus 46 does go to the hotel although when i tried to board it he said it didn't.
So we hailed a taxi NOTE there is a minimum 20 euro charge if travelling from the airport, which is less than 5 mins in a taxi, the actual cost should have been 9 euro, so a big rip off as the bus is 2 euro , which only takes 20 mins and goes to T1 T2 a,b,c if you miss the terminal there is a green bus that shuttles you around the airport free of charge, which is a big plus cos T1 and T2 are worlds apart.
So to the hotel we arrived at the Hepseria tower at 1415 only to be told it's not 3 o' clock so had to sit in the very plush reception area, the lobby has internet with a printer a cash point a little wine bar and some very comfy lounge chairs to rest on. The reception girl was very helpful and gave us a little metro map which as you'll read later on was like a bible. We proceeded to our suite which is located above the Citric restaurant which looked lovely but doesn't open sat or sun so couldn't experience it. The suites are served by a key card operated door with 2 elevators, the room itself was spacious with black marble floors be careful when wet, a tv in lounge and bedroom only BBC world news in English, a toaster microwave fridge and 2 of everything. The shower was stunning but couldn't get it cold, hairdryer, toiletry pack but no shampoo, the mini bar is stocked with coke water beer whiskey gin and wine a kitkat and a packet of crisps, but the price was expensive 3.60 for water 4 for coke 5 for mini bottles, they offer room service the cheapest item was ham and tom sandwich which costs 20.50 with a 5 euro service charge which again is extortion, as there is a supermarket and a few cafes located within 2 mins walk, and very inexpensive to stock the fridge yourself. Didn't use any of the hotel facilities so can't comment regards spa pool restaurant etc. Wifi was excellent no discons at all.

This next bit i think will help anybody wanting to get around Barcelona, if you're not given a metro guide at reception please ask for one, a single ticket costs 2 euros, so we bought a T10 ticket at a cost of 9.10 a saving of 11 euros, it gives you 10 journeys on metro or certain buses but we stuck to the metro, you can even share the ticket. Just a general guide here, we travelled on L1 from the hotel to the Nou camp red line change to blue but only counts as 1 trip as long as you stay on the underground, you can do a single trip as long as it doesn't exceed 1hr 15 mins, which it never does, a good rule of thumb is to work it like this you never wait longer than 5 mins for a tube and it counts down at each station each stop is never more than 2 mins apart and only waits 30 seconds, and when changing line it'll never take more than 10 mins to change tube thats the walk and the wait, we changed twice on 1 journey and it still only counts as 1 trip as you never exit the station. As for the city it self it's a very scruffy place quite expensive but worth the visit Nou Camp was a good tour 23 euro , Espanya of a night is lovely magical musical water fountains to music, shows are 2100 to 2130 2200 to 2230 and 2300 i estimate there was well over 10000 people there. Overall the room was a high standard, needed a better clean bed changed and made each day, no towel change though, air con is baltic a very big plus after a sweaty tube ride, no kettle but you can purchase pods for the nespresso at 7 euros for 10, a bit out of the main areas but only 20 mins via tube. Would i return to the city No if anybody wants any more info regarding tube travel or tips please email.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank studley73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

At the end of a Mediterranean cruise, we stayed in Barcelona for three nights. In order to save money, I decided to book this hotel -- as I got a very low rate on Hotwire.com. The other benefit is that it is located on the western outskirts of the city, not far from the airport. So on the morning of our departure, we could get out to the airport more quickly.

For the four members our family, obtained two separate suites (each of which had separate bedroom and living/kitchen facilities). Including taxes, paid about $500 US (two suites, for three nights) -- that works out to about $84 per night, per suite.

The hotel is located at the last stop on the Red, Metro Line #1. When getting off the ship, we got to the nearest metro stop on La Rambla -- not far from the port (which was on the yellow line), and then changed over to the Line #1 metro along the way. Because we bought a 10 ride ticket for less than 1 Euro per ride, this enabled us to get from the ship to the hotel for less than 1 Euro per person (but I am one who is willing to schlep luggage through the train system. many others would probably hire a van or taxi service to the hotel at much more expense).

When you exit the metro station at the end of the line, you will see Hesperia's high rise hotel about a block away. It is in here that you check in, even though you are staying at their 'suites' facility next door.

Some of the other advantages of this property:
* they offer a free shuttle service at various times of the day, both to and from the city center (near Plaza de Catalunya) and to the airport. This helped us save additional fees on the metro. On some days, we would take the free shuttle in to the city center and use the metro back.

* on the morning we departed, the first shuttle run to the airport was already packed. However, there is a bus stop about a block away (near the filling station), which has a bus to the airport. It only cost us 2 Euro's per person. Note: leave extra time to get to the airport and your international flight. The terminal that the bus drops you off at, is not for international travel. You have to take the free airport shuttle to reach that terminal and the drive is as long as the bus into the airport -- I am not kidding. It felt like the next terminal was in the next county -- so leave plenty of extra time.

* because the suites have a small refrigerator, microwave, sink, and kitchen utensils, bowls, etc. -- you can save money on food/snacks, if you desire. Also a good way to at least have some drinks on hand in your room, for the evening. A couple of blocks from the hotel there are a two very reasonably priced grocery stores. There is also a '365' bakery, at which you can get very inexpensive and delicious baked goods. We stocked up on larger bottles of water and some fruit, baked goods, cereal, milk, yogurt, etc. and avoided the cost of breakfast.

* WiFi worked from one of the suites but not the other. We were all able to access WiFi from the lobby of the main hotel, so would sometimes use it there before catching the shuttle in the morning or on the way home.

* There is no peep hole on the hotel room doors in the suites section. That would be something for them to consider adding, for security purposes.

* Because the cruise ship docks early in the morning, we arrived at the hotel well before the 3pm check in time. The desk personnel at check in are very friendly. They let us check the bags and provided claim checks. We then went off to eat lunch nearby and purchased some supplies (as indicated above). Then went back around 3pm to check in.

A note regarding use of the metro late at night, back to the hotel. We came back pretty late two of the three nights. Because you are at the last stop on the metro line, the crowd on the subway continues to thin out during your journey, although it seemed like there were a good number of people still aboard, even on the second to last stop. By the last stop, there are typically only a few people left on the cars. We always felt safe and were never bothered, but depending upon your personal frame of reference and how nervous you are, you might opt for a cab back if you are coming in very late.

All in all, if I was staying in Barcelona again, I would probably re-book here to save the dollars (especially since they offer the free shuttle into the City Center).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PhxTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Big Disappointment. The suites are not 5 star standard and shouldn't be advertised as same. Furniture is well worn, Decor is very dark and dull. Needs updating. Tiles on floors chipped. Only thing in its favour is that it is very near Airport. Only suitable for overnight stay. No restaurants etc near Hotel. Next time we will stay nearer Barcelona with some facilties.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank orlandoDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barcelona
0.1 mi away
NH Collection Barcelona Tower
NH Collection Barcelona Tower
#120 of 513 in Barcelona
2,516 reviews
2.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Alfa Aeropuerto
3.5 mi away
Melia Barcelona Sarria
Melia Barcelona Sarria
#145 of 513 in Barcelona
2,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
SmartRoom Barcelona
SmartRoom Barcelona
#103 of 513 in Barcelona
401 reviews
1.8 mi away
Salles Hotel Ciutat del Prat
Salles Hotel Ciutat del Prat
#1 of 4 in El Prat de Llobregat
1,173 reviews
8.0 mi away
NH Barcelona La Maquinista
NH Barcelona La Maquinista
#186 of 513 in Barcelona
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Barcelona Fira Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Barcelona Fira Suites

Property: NH Barcelona Fira Suites
Address: Mare de Deu de Bellvitge, 3, 08907 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Hesperia Fira Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Best Value Hotel in Barcelona
#144 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#153 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#158 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — NH Barcelona Fira Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Barcelona's new business district, the NH Barcelona Fira Suites hotel, formerly known as Hesperia Fira Suites, is a 10-minute drive from the airport and 15 minutes by car to the city center. It's also very close to the University of Barcelona and the Fira de Barcelona trade fair center. The nearest metro station is a 5-minute walk away and will take you directly to Plaza Catalunya. - located in Barcelona's new business district - easy access to the city and the airport - nearby metro stop with a direct line to the city center The hotel has 50 well-equipped apartments with one or more bedrooms, a separate living room, and a kitchenette. All the apartments are spacious and modern with free Wi-Fi. Some have a private terrace with lounge chairs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your NH Barcelona Fira Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hesperia Fira Hotel Barcelona
Hesperia Fira Barcelona
NH Barcelona Fira Suites Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing