We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cute, comfortable hotel in perfect location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel 54 Barceloneta
Ranked #321 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Okay as other people are saying - yes the hotel is small, but who cares when there is so much to do and see in Barcelona!! It is perfect for a holiday if you want to be near the beach/harbour and the City! The nearest metro stop is a 5/10 min walk and the beach is a 5 minute walk away. It is surrounded by many shops and typically Spanish back streets with great little shops/bars/tapas/restaurants. Me and my boyfriend had the most amazing time here and the hotel has really comfortable beds, big hot showers and a great variety of breakfast. The staff - especially a young waitress were so pleasant and she helped us so much with how to get to various places and what to visit. Barceloneta has an amazingly chilled out atmosphere :)

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dreamin317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (251)
There are newer reviews for Hotel 54 Barceloneta
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 251 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2013

Just returned from 9 days in Barca.This was our 5th visit and we decided to stay in Barceloneta for a change but surprisingly they are few hotels to choose from in this area. I only looked at the reviews for Hotel 54 after I had booked and was fairly apprehensive to say the least. However the only downside was probably the inside sound proofing and the poor wardrobe/storage space. Our room - 205 - was on the corner at the back and although initially disappointed at the lack of a view it was more than made up by the complete lack of traffic noise at night, The front rooms although having a lovely view of the port overlook a very busy pavement and road.
The bed was big and comfortable and sheets changed almost daily. Room cleaned every day and towels always changed on request. Quirky bathroom with glass walls. Could do with a blind on the bathroom window though as at night street light shines in. Room itself pretty basic with minimal hanging space and very small shelves but no drawers. Wall mounted TV, free safe and WiFi access. Very efficient air conditioning. Could hear people coming and going in corridor and furniture being moved above and below.
The reception bar area was smart and well kept but the breakfast buffet squeezed into a corner. We only had breakfast here on 1 day . Was only 9 euro but not great and better going to one of the nearby cafes. There is apparently upgrading work going on at the moment so this may account for lack of breakfast space. Bar and reception staff lovely and always helpful.
Best thing about this place is the location - 2 minute walk to the lovely beach, buses right outside for 10 minute ride into the city and easy walking distance to the Born district.
it would be nice for this hotel to have a bit of life injected into it as bar area and outside space was nearly always empty and the surrounding places were buzzing.
*** Generally I would rate this hotel as Good and not Average but cant do this on the above rating system

Room Tip: Corner rear facing rooms looked biggest and probably the quietest
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmaDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

I stayed here for work and was pleasantly surprised by the trendy, chilled out vibes.

The public areas are pretty small but perfectly formed - great attention to detail. The bar is small- doubles up as the breakfast area in the morning.

Breakfast is nice - I just grabbed a few take out bits and took it to the beach.

Rooms are small but again nice and trendy. Wifi it strong throughout the hotel.

Receptionist and bar staff were all really pleasant.

We used the main area for a meeting during the afternoon and they were perfectly accommodating.

This part of the city is nice - I'd return in my own time.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ste_Jay2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

The staff are really helpful at the Hotel 54. There is a manned bar until 0000 every night which makes great cocktails and tapas. You can take this either in the lobby, on the patio or on the roof terrace.

The room itself an internet ready TV for YouTube-ing at your leisure. The free WiFi is also a great asset. The bathroom has a great shower although when cleaned our towels were only replaced once over our three night stay.

The checkout time of 1200 also gives you a bit more room for the turn-around.

Barceloneta is a fantastic area and the hotel has great bus links just outside. The 64&39 will take you round to the other side of the marina, and the 59 will take you up Las Rablas and to the Plaça Cataluñya. Hotel 54 is also a 3 minute walk from the beach and there are a plethora of decent bars and restaurants at your door step. I would thoroughly recommend buying the "Hola BCN" transport cards which give you unlimited public transport throughout the city.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

It´s a nice hotel, localized very close to the beach but it´s within at least 20-min-walking distance from the Ramblas and Plaça de Catalunya, so consider this hotel only for summer.
The interior is kinda futuristic and functional, the air conditioning is really faint and quiet (but efficient) thus it´s impossible to catch a cold =)
There´s a rooftop with a nice view of the Port and Barceloneta.

Room Tip: close to the beach but it´s within at least 20-min-walking distance from the Ramblas and Plaça de Ca...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dimazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We recently spent a total of six nights at Hotel 54 - at the beginning and end of our trip to Spain. As others have mentioned, the hotel enjoys an unbeatable location. Everything is within easy walking distance of the hotel including famous sites, excellent restaurants and the sea.

That said, there were a couple of negatives that made for a less than enjoyable stay.
First of all, the noise was the worst we have ever experienced in any hotel and that includes hotels in Europe, Asia and North America. The walls between the rooms have no sound insulation and others' lives are yours to share... Also, there are many hard surfaces, so sound just bounces off everything. Some nights we were awakened three or four times by people slamming doors, dragging wheelie bags down the hall, and talking - sometimes at three or four in the morning.

Our room faced the marina, and was very clean. The bathroom was OK but the original shower head had been replaced by a sort of hand-held unit which meant crouching in the corner to take a proper shower. The soap was the size of a communion wafer and one of our bath towels actually had a hole in the middle of it.

As for the breakfast, it was unimaginative and very basic compared to what we were offered in other hotels we stayed at on this trip. In a country that is famous for wonderful food, this breakfast buffet offers processed meats and cheeses, wrapped croissants, watery scrambled eggs, cold baked beans and tinned peaches and pineapple. Even the orange juice is made from crystals. Some mornings we just had coffee. Certainly, nothing was worth paying an extra supplement for, which sadly we did.

Would we return to this hotel? Probably not, unless management addresses some of the obvious problems.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Judith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We stayed 6 nights at Hotel 54 and I would thoroughly recommend to the moderate traveller whrer you will get grat service, excellent locatio and modern facilities. This is the BEST neighbourhood to locate yourself fro a stay in Barcleona. It is home to the waterfront distrcts, the Barcelonetta Mercato and an amazing range of traditional tapas bars and quite funky bars and restaurants. I could live in this barri!

Room Tip: Don't worry abot breakfast- there is so many optins at the doorstep
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarmenA53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barceloneta
Hotel Oasis
Hotel Oasis
#313 of 513 in Barcelona
1,136 reviews
Barceloneta
H10 Port Vell
H10 Port Vell
#26 of 513 in Barcelona
955 reviews
Barceloneta
Hotel Del Mar
Hotel Del Mar
#264 of 513 in Barcelona
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barceloneta
Hotel Marina Folch
Hotel Marina Folch
#463 of 513 in Barcelona
37 reviews
Barceloneta
Hotel Ciutadella Barcelona
Hotel Ciutadella Barcelona
#260 of 513 in Barcelona
470 reviews
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Pullman Barcelona Skipper
Pullman Barcelona Skipper
#118 of 513 in Barcelona
2,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 54 Barceloneta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 54 Barceloneta

Address: Passeig Joan de Borbo, 54, 08003 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barceloneta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #321 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range: $103 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 54 Barceloneta 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel 54 Barceloneta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Barcelona
54 Barceloneta Hotel
Hotel 54 Barceloneta Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing