We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent place! Great staff!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barcelona City North

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Barcelona City North
Ranked #196 of 325 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent place! Great staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2012

We stayed for four nights and we would definitely recommend it. It is not only a great value for money, but also Carlos and Jordi were very kind and helpful- thank you! Quite easy to metro station-about 10 minutes. Also fridge, microwave and a computer available. Definitely go back!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stokrotka_80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bcncityhotels_com, Gerente at Barcelona City North, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Hi!

First of all, thanks sharing your experience in our accommodation with other users.

Thanks a lot for your kind comments: we always try to give the best value for money. I see you appreciated our attention and the services in the common area.

Just let you know that now the fridge isn't in the common area anymore: now all the rooms have their own fridge!

Hope to see you in your next visit to Barcelona. Best regards.

Abdón Llata
Manager (Barcelona City North)
Barcelona City Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    39
    17
    5
    10
See reviews for
11
45
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2011

Very good for a Hostel! Room size was just enough for three but it was clean and very quiet, with bathroom, new air-conditioner, a jug and hairdrier in the room. A computer, a microwave and a fridge were available in the hall. The free wifi was faster than expected. 10 minutes walk to the metro, very close to mini markets, and places to eat . In walking distance to Park Guell and the Gracia Fiesta which takes place between 15-21 of August. Very easy to get around to other parts of Barcelona. Carlos was very friendly, he gave as a good map of the city and info, and let us leave our things until very late at the last day of our stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dimitris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bcncityhotels_com, Gerente at Barcelona City North, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Hi!

First of all, thanks a lot sharing your experience in Barcelona City North here, it is very useful for everybody to get an idea what they can expect form our accommodation and for us to know what we can improve.

Just let you know that if you want the internet connection fast on your staying expect much more next time, as very soon we will have 100Mbps fast optical fiber internet connection (when you stayed it was 10Mbps).

We also improved room facilities (one fridge in each room) and very soon we will open a new breakfast service that has been very welcomed in other accommodations where we opened it.

Finally, we want to thank you appreciating our kind attention, the offered facilities and the position of the our accommodation.

Hope to see you on your next visit. Best regards.

Abdon Llata
Manager (Barcelona City North)
Barcelona City Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2011

This place is a hostel, but I would definitely stay here again. Carlos was very helpful and kind. Private rooms and BR, new linens everyday, clean room everyday, has a community refrigerator to store snacks (we didn't use it though). Location is a little hike from the center of the city, but close to metro stop. Nice cafe across the street.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lmm20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bcncityhotels_com, Gerente at Barcelona City North, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Hi!

Thanks a lot for your positive opinion about our place, it is very encouraging for us.

Thanks also appreciating the quality offered by our accommodation and the kind attention our staff gives.

About the location, we are in the north part of the city centre, just three metro stops away from Las Ramblas. This position allow our guests to stay apart from the overcrowd areas of the centre, enjoy good restaurants directed to local citizens and not to the tourists and at the same time to be in a position from where you can take a beautiful stroll until Passeig de Gracia or Gracia's neighborhood.

Apart from this, just let you know that now all the rooms enjoy a private fridge! It is not anymore in the common area.

Finally, just tell you we are a hostel that is not exactly a hostel, as all rooms enjoy private bathroom, air-conditioned, kettle, hairdryer... We always look to offer the best good value for money offering the facilities you will find in a hotel and giving the most familiar and good attention we have. We try to give the best things of both kind of accommodations: hostel-pension and hotel.

I see you enjoyed the concept and I hope to see you in your next visit to Barcelona.

Best regards.

Abdon Llata
Manager (Barcelona City North)
Barcelona City Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2010

Considered a hostel, this is a pleasant, neat and perfect place to stay that is affordable (compared to other hotels in Barcelona) and great for a short stay. Based near Fontana/Lesseps metro station, it's only a couple of stops from the city centre with great connections. The hostel provides your own room and bathroom and communal fridge, crockery and free internet and wi-fi. It's clean and comfortable - exactly what you'd expect for the price (based on Barcelona prices). They tidy and make your bed and offer clean new towels everyday too. Lovely restaurants within walking distance nearby too if you don't fancy a trip into town for a meal.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lin_Tsang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bcncityhotels_com, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelona City North, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Hi!

Thanks sharing your experience in our accommodation. These reviews help other users when they are thinking about booking a place.

We are glad you enjoyed our hostel and we find your review very realistic.

We are also pleased to let you know that we have made some improvement in our accommodation. For example, now there is a small refrigerator in each room and wi-fi high speed internet throughout the hostel.

Finally, since your staying we have started also a breakfast service (for free if you book in our website!) from 8h. to 10.30h. that has been very appreciated.

We hope you will come back soon to taste it!

Best regards,

Elisabeth Gómez
Social Media Manager
Barcelona City Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brussels
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2010

I must say this our( I was travelling with my wife) worst experience in any hostel/hotel as far as security of our belongings go.

Can you imagine someone stole my wife's wallet with more than 400 pounds in it along with all my cards. And the staff despite our asking for a locker dint do anything to provide one to us. Yes, it was our fault to have left money in the room but we were reassured by the staff that no one other than her will enter the room for cleaning but obviously the person was unreliable.

I would recommend that anyone going to Barcelona North please don't leave anything behind in the room. Secondly, this place has no reception or anyone to help if anything goes wrong so please keep that in mind too.

The only good thing about this place is that it is very clean and close to the center.
But I would still refrain from recommending this place as it has no personal touch and helping staff if something untoward happens.

Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank theprophetking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bcncityhotels_com, Director General at Barcelona City North, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear guest,

We remember you perfectly.

First of all, as you know, there is a 24-hour surveillance service in this place, controlled from our 24-hours opened hotel in the city centre and recording all the day.

As we explained you when this happened, is impossible that our staff have stolen a wallet in a room that has never been cleaned, as you requested on your arrival and every day we offered you to clean it. People who worked in that place the days you stayed are Pilar (that works with us since seven years ago) and Marcela, that was the general manager of the Barcelona City North on 2010. Anybody never complained about similar things…

On 2010 (now not!), all the doors in this place work with a magnetic card, so every time your room was opened this fact was registered in a computer with the card that has opened it. As we told you and we offered, if you had even a little doubt about that somebody stole something from your room it was as simple as:

1. Call the police and make a complaint.
2. They could check the magnetic keys system and, the most important, the recordings of our cameras (as we did when you complaint).

It is a mistery that you never do it… leaving our property without your wallet and in the check-out day! We would never remain in a place where we suspect somebody has stolen us.

Best regards.

Xavier Franquesa
CEO & Founder
Bcn City Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Barcelona hotels

N.Delhi
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2010

My girlfriend and I spent an amazing time at this hostel, very basic , clean rooms , good staff . Totally recommended :)

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AmiIndian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bcncityhotels_com, Gerente at Barcelona City North, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Hi!

Thanks a lot for your positive feedback about our place!

I think, sincerelly, we are not basic hostel, we in the high part of hostel standards. Anyway, I see you appreciated our attention and cleanliness.

We are always trying to improve. For example, now all the rooms have a little fridge and we will begin to serve breakfasts on September.

Hope too see you again to see our constant improvements.

Best regards.

Abdón Llata
Manager (Barcelona City North)
Barcelona City Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2009

Really nice Hostel, rooms were big and clean with bathrooms and a jug in the room. There was also a microwave and fridge in the hallway and free wifi in the rooms and a computer also in the hall. Close to the metro, supermarket and easy to get around to other parts of Barcelona. Tiny bit loud outside the hotel but I think thats just Barcelona.

Well worth the money and would stay here again if we ever go back to Barcelona.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwi_OE_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bcncityhotels_com, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelona City North, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Hi!

Firstly, thanks for give us your opinion about you stay in Barcelona City North.

We are glad to know you enjoyed your stay in our accommodation.

It is true Barcelona City North is located a little bit far from the heart of city centre, but you can arrive there by Metro or train in a few stops (5 minutes) and you can walk to many touristic points from the hostel.

For another hand, just let you know some improvements we made since you stayed with us: now showers are bigger than before and there is not fridge in the common area, now all the rooms enjoy a private little fridge!

Thanks appreciating our kind attention and cleanliness, apart form the area where hostel is located. It is really safe, clean and with a very good restaurants offer.

Finally, just let you know that our chain Barcelona City Hotels has 8 accommodation around the city. You can choose another location for your next travel to the city if your prefer be more closer to the city center. The accommodation will be more expensive and the heart of city centre is a bit overcrowd sometimes, but each visit to Barcelona has to be a new experience!

Best regards,

Elisabeth Gómez
Social Media Manager
Barcelona City Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Evenia Rocafort
Evenia Rocafort
#182 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Ciutat de Sant Adria Hotel
#388 of 522 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Montjuic
Camino Bed & Breakfast
Camino Bed & Breakfast
#127 of 325 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Casa Maca Guest House
Casa Maca Guest House
#114 of 325 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Eixample
Hostal Martinval
Hostal Martinval
#21 of 325 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
Gracia
Casa Gracia Barcelona Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelona City North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelona City North

Property: Barcelona City North
Address: Saragossa 95-97. Entlo. 2a, 08006 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #196 of 325 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Barcelona City North 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hostel Barcelona City North!Barcelona City North is located in the northern center of Barcelona, on the border of the districts of Eixample, Gracia and Sarria-Sant Gervasi.Our hostel offers you all the conveniences that interest you in a hostel in Barcelona with an excellent value for money. It is an ideal accommodation for those visiting Barcelona for tourism, business, for medical reasons… We will do our best to make you feel at home.¡Bienvenido al Hostal Barcelona City North! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Barcelona City North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelona City North Hotel Barcelona
Barcelona City North Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing