We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location and Price”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hostal Lausanne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hostal Lausanne
Ranked #391 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
219 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Great Location and Price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

Unbeatable location and value. Had room with private bath. Bath was modern. Rest of room was basic with thin mattresses, only an airshaft with doors that did not close and floor that was not clean. Staff was friendly and helpful. Elevator to second floor location. No air conditioning but fan did a pretty good job. Felt very safe. For basic accommodations in a perfect location at a good price and for travelers not expecting "high" standards this is a good place to stay.

Room Tip: Room was near check in, but quiet. Only one room faced street. This could be noisy as there is no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JFHHMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    64
    35
    18
    12
See reviews for
10
68
23
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

A great place for sleeping when on shopping holiday. It is not big or fancy, but it is clean and quiet. The staff is great but make sure you Don't make noise at night when coming home from the clubs. It is not appreciated which is great when you are sleeping. The wifi is working in the Hall Way but the router is in the other end so I guess that is fair.
I would definitely stay there again!!!

Room Tip: Remember to ask for single beds when booking if you want that. Even though it looks like your bookin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lgccgl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

I booked a double-bed room at this hotel entire based on the location - and it didn't disappoint. Smack-bang in the middle of the city.

The rooms however are TINY, and in the middle of summer were very, very stuffy. I was excited when I waked into the (shared) bathroom and saw a space-age looking shower with about a dozen water jets, however the main overhead outlet wasn't working. Or most of the other ones. The jet at genital height still worked though, which was titillating.

Fortunately all I was using the room for was storage, a place to shower and a place to sleep if I needed it. Was very pricey for what it was, but it served it purpose.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cammac8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubai
Level Contributor
72 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

POsitive :

Central location is perfect for walking all over town. It is right by Placa Catalyna where the buses from the airport arrive and metro station as well as trains out of Barca.

We were given room 202 which is a double with on-suite bath and a balcony onto main street. People watching was great fun.

Lots of flags hanging from balcony. Abraham - day staff was so lovely, very jolly and helpful.

Negatives :

A little noisy in the mornings, due to the fact that you can hear your neighbours. Nevertheless I did not come here to sleep in, so I did not mind.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amit A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

In short: Way to expensive for what it is.
Negative:
- old, older oldest
- since everything is old, it does not seem clean and well kept.
- water leak in bathroom
- Pigeon in the room at 2am as window was left open for fresh air.
- sheets and towels in bad shape
- expensive compared to other hostels around
Positive:
- location
- staff was helpful

The old man (70+) who keeps the hostel at night should rather be at home enjoying his life, he's like a metaphore for the hostel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Philipp W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Barcelona hotels

Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Stayed with a friend after travelling to see Barcelona vs Getafe in April 2012.
Difficult to find at first, make sure when you enter the building under the sign that you go to the staircase at the far left of the kind of courtyard you enter.
Reception staff were very nice and friendly. you cannot take your key away so I tended not to leave any valuables in the room as when we returned late one night (after the football match) the gentleman on the desk spoke no English, so we said our room number in broken Spanish and he handed us the key without checking who we were.
Despite this, the hostal seemed very safe, I wouldn't let this put me off returning.
The bedroom was very basic and 'worn' but the bathrooms (shared with other guests) were very modern and a definite bonus in the morning.
When you visit a city like Barcelona you don't want to be shacked up in a hotel. Get out there and see the city, experience the culture. This is a perfect place to stay, extremely central, cheap and cheerful so you have a few extra pennies for a few more beers :-)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob2k87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

The location is great, just a short walk to take the bus to the airport which is the reason I selected it. Room was large. Bed tiny and against the wall. WiFi OK. Furniture and bedding as if it came from the garbage and was cleaned up. Cheap price for the area, but can get a wonderful hotel including a gourmet breakfast in other places for less than this price. The worst were the baths. Two near our room but the drains were clogged, so filthy water flowed out of the shower and flooded the entire floor of the baths. Worst hostel I've booked in 30 years and the only accommodation in 7 weeks of travel I did not like.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank indotraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Be Ramblas Hotel
Be Ramblas Hotel
#371 of 521 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Eixample
Hostal Bia
Hostal Bia
#478 of 521 in Barcelona
3.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Pension Segre
Pension Segre
#483 of 521 in Barcelona
3.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ciutat de Sant Adria Hotel
#388 of 521 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Hotel Ruta de Francia
#426 of 521 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Hostal Sans
#341 of 521 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Lausanne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Lausanne

Property: Hostal Lausanne
Address: Av. Portal de l'Angel, 24, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #391 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Lausanne 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Orbitz so you can book your Hostal Lausanne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Lausanne Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing