We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location on a budget, not for light sleepers..”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of BCN Hostal Central

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
BCN Hostal Central
Ranked #174 of 326 Barcelona B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location on a budget, not for light sleepers..”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2011

If you want a cheap double room in a great location for airport transfers (EUR 5 from Barcelona Airport) and the city (5 mins walk to Placa Catalyuna and Las Ramblas) then I'd highly recommend this place - however, my girlfiend struggled to sleep the first night as the room faced onto a very busy road with constant traffic all night. Solution was many cervezas the next night! Take a towel too as the one provided is not the largest. Nice little balcony and friendly staff, 24 hr reception very handy.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank craigjohnwatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    46
    13
    5
    6
See reviews for
11
26
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Penang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2010

I went to Barcelona last March, with 3 friends. Stayed in Hostal Central for 3 nights. Its quite easy to find this hostel, as it is located alongside the busy Ronda Universitat. At the ground floor, there are building keeper who control the main entrance. So, security-checked. We were greeted by antique elevator as the 3/4 story(i don quite remember) building itself were built in 19th century. Its quite small, as with luggage ..it can only fit in one person at a time. The hostel is located at 2nd flr. We arrived early, around 11am...before the check in time. The hostel is actually 2 unit of adjacent apartments. The living hall of the unit on the right is the lobby. So, the friendly receptionist asked us to register first and we left our luggages at the lobby. Well, she can converse in English very well. She even gave us some brochures on eating, tourist attraction places and directions to go to Plaza Catalunya. The most wonderful thing, they have PC with access to Internet.

So, we went out to find our way to Plaza Catalunya, where metro station and hop on city tour is. To our suprise(though we did some homework), this place is ver y near to Plaza Catalunya..like 5-10mins walking. So, transportation - checked. Across the Plaza, is the infamous La Ramblas. You can shop till you drop(literally) here. So, food and shopping - checked.

We went back to the hotel at 2pm, ready to check in. Im quite nervous, setting the low expectation for the room..to avoid frustration later. Well, it's actually a bit higher than my expectatation. The rooms is aging, the furniture, fixtures and amenities. Creaking bed, broken tiles flooring, small private toilet, 14in box TV. Anyhow, it is quite spacious and we have a balcony too, with little round table (we love to sit there to have bfast eavery morning with windows open). Our room was a single bed. While, the other room was a double bed. No aircond, only ceiling fan but it's good enough since Barcelona is quite windy at that time. Our rooms located in the left side unit, where the living hall is converted into common dining area. They have electric kettle, cutleries and fridge for public use. Mind you, you can only use this common area up to 10pm. The walls are quite thin, hence the time limit to respect other occupants. At night, I thought it would be very noisy since it's just located by alongside the main road. Well, i turned out quite ok..we stll sleep well. Probably, because we are too tired walking during the day(and night). Room service yes, but very basic to tidy up your room and toilet. Fresh towel? Free when you checked in. Pay Euro1 if you need to change it.

All in all, I will recommend this hostel if you have low budget and travelling with friends. The room is basic but cozy. But I dont thinks it's suitable for travelling family. The most points will go for its location, very convenient. I even went out alone to the La Ramblas once, in late evening. However, its quite challenging for Muslim to find Halal food here. I depended a lot on bread, beef floss(brought frm home), chocolate and salad. Not so big deal, but being Malaysian..i missed rice and curry.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NurulA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2010

Barcelona is an amazing city, and hostal central is an amazing hostel. We had a great time in this hostel, excellent views out the window of the main street and wonderful architecture all around. Very nice breakfast in this place, fruit+spanish omelette(potatoes)+ sweet cakes + coffee. Excellent room with nice facilities, would recommend to anyone. Great value.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mostlyBudget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gdynia, Poland
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2010

firmly recommend that hostel to everyone willing to travel by foot, thanks to perfect localisation in the city center, 3 minutes from plaza catalunya.. what's more, very helpful stuff (speaking english) makes the stay even more pleasant. we were expecting more noise, as for one of the main streets, but our room was fortunately situated on the back of the building, so that we even did not hear the street! also the shared bathroom wasn't any problem - any time we wanted to use it, was free. as for the cleasinness - rooms are cleaned every day, so as the common room ( with free coffe and tea) and bathrooms. recommend it to everyone!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madelaine11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2010

It already was early evening when we arrived on a calm spring Wednesday at the Hostal Central. Ready for a long weekend of culture, good food and Spanish atmosphere. Little did we know that our stay would be extended by a natural phenomenon approaching from the north... Like all our other rooms we explored in our 8 nights' stay in the Hostal Central, our first room was a very clean and spatial double room with private bathroom. The rooms on the first floor facing the street and close to the reception are a little bit louder during the night. With just 5 minutes walking distance from the Placa de la Catalunya the position of the hostal is a fantastic starting point to explore Barcelona. The multilingual staff of the hostal was very friendly and helpful to relocate us in different rooms after our flights got canceled twice due to the ash cloud. We liked the warm atmosphere with people of all ages from all over the world. We recommend this hostal to everyone who wants to have great value for their money and quick access to the city centre. Thank you for making our unexpected longer stay so comfortable and pleasant.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ComaMilano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbella
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2010

After I nearly missed this well located hotel, my first impression wasn't so bad(for a hostel). The lift I took up to the 2nd floor created a very antique feel with a certain charm. The staff were always nice and helped whenever I needed, although the night shift guy felt more inclined to be miserable rather than warm. Lucky for my girlfriendand I, our sectioned off, indoor balcony served to be the warmest and most charming part of our stay in the hostel. The shared toilet caused a little discomfort having to leave your room, but I think I am nit-picking there( saying that, with the price i paid for 3 nights, i have stayed in a nice hotel before)
As for bed time, the boiler was situated above our room(wasn't in the room description). everytime someone must have used the water, the boiler started to rumble, louder and louder until you shuddered and woke up. The first night I thought Jurassic park had arrived in Barcelona.
Our towels weren't changed and the water smelt funny. But overall, I managed to have a lovely stay with the staff helping whenever needed(free use of umbrella was just fantastic when you dont want to get ripped off on las ramblas)....
you know what they say....
LOCATION LOCATION LOCATION....

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobbiecus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2010

Hotel is centrally located. Walking distance from Placa De Catalunya and La Rambla. Stayed with 3 other occupants in a well-ventilated, clean and spacious dormitory room.
They have a few common bathrooms - all dry and clean. The hostal management have imposed a no shower rule from 10pm-7am (or 6am) to ensure the comfort of all guests.

One desktop pc for the free wifi. Breakfast was basic with free flow coffee/tea. No curfew, no frills, no additional charges for towel & bedsheets & luggage storage.
No headache.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dewirayau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Hostal Central Barcelona
Hostal Central Barcelona
#196 of 326 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Eixample
Sleep Green Eco Youth Hostel
Sleep Green Eco Youth Hostel
#80 of 757 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hostal Excellence
Hostal Excellence
#150 of 326 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Alternative Creative Youth Hostel
Eixample
Serennia Apartamentos Ramblas - Placa Catalunya
Eixample
Serennia Exclusive Rooms
Serennia Exclusive Rooms
#109 of 326 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BCN Hostal Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BCN Hostal Central

Property: BCN Hostal Central
Address: Rda. Universitat 11, 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #174 of 326 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and HostelWorld so you can book your BCN Hostal Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BCN Hostal Central Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing