We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel”
Review of Market Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Market Hotel
Ranked #282 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Stayed for 3 nights. Lovely spacious rooms, comfortable beds and cleaned to a high standard daily. Excellent restaurant-breakfast consisted of fruit juices,cereals,rolls,toast, croissant,jams,yoghurt,cheese, cold meats,fruit,scrambled egg, bacon, tea and coffee, at 10 euros a person it is great value for money. Lunch and evening set menu available at very good price. We ate from al a carte menu every evening which was excellent and for 2 people only cost between 38-45 euros for 2 courses, bottle of wine and coffee, again great value for money and a lovely way to round off the day, followed by drinks in the very comfortable and friendly bar/terrace. Both restaurant and bar are tastefully decorated and the Staff throughout hotel were friendly and very helpful. The hotel is about a 15 minute walk from the centre but we found it to be much nicer being outside of the main tourist trap. The local tapas bars, shops and market seemed far more friendlier than those on the main strip, especially a local bar called Tapa La Canya which serves lovely food and refreshing cold beers and tapas with very friendly staff. All in all a lovely hotel in a very real and authentic part of Barcelona, we will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndilanaGrup, Gerente at Market Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Dear Sue,
Thanks for your review and for staying with us.
Thanks for your recommendation too.
We look forward to seeing you soon with us.
Best wishes,
Elena Nabau
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (831)
There are newer reviews for Market Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

237 - 243 of 831 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for three nights with my girlfriend last summer.

The hotel has a brilliant vibe and the decor in the atrium is great.

The rooms feel like apartments (in a good way) as you ascend a lift and enter through porch like spaces.

The decor of the rooms was great - and the shower and double bath were fantastic.

Room was air conditioned (a must in July)!

We did not have a breakfast deal, so I can't comment on this...

To summarise the hotel was exactly what we were looking for. Something high quality with a unique twist, but not a bank breaker.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Stayed here for two nights over a long weekend. Clean, modern design, and decent price. The location is in the up and coming St. Antoni market, which is a cute area but far away from any major Barcelona site seeing. I bought a 10 ride metro pass and navigated the city that way. You could walk everywhere but in the interest of time it was not practical for me. I would not stay here again solely based on the location.
The hotel has wood floors and is very loud. The staff was ok, but not overly helpful or friendly. Little English spoken as well.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeh910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

The atmosphere of the hotel was lovely and really relaxing. Hotel Market prides itself on its ambience, and so it should... The overall presentation of the hotel is brilliant - its in a traditional old building that fits in with the surroundings of the local Sant Antoni Market, however the interiors are modern, stylish and eclectic. The restaurant is beautiful and has a great value menu. Whilst bar Rosso is a great cocktail bar with a surprisingly cosy terrace. We didn't have to travel far for an evening drink as the bar has fabulous cocktails and cava, and cheap beer (which my boyfriend was delighted about), there are couches and armchairs to choose from or benches covered in comfy pillows. Outside on the terrace, there are heaters and a cushioned bench and even a covered area where chandeliers hang down from the ceiling. Its a great little bar, especially if like us, you love to drink outside (even in February)! Rooms are decorated in an eclectic style which we liked and the waterfall shower is incredible. We did request a double room however we were given two twin beds pushed together which got a bit irritating if you like a big bed, so I would email in advance about this. The location is fantastic - we found it really easy to get around - both on foot and by metro. The area did feel really safe, but we were cautious at all times. I would also reccommend using the airport bus which is just two blocks away. We got a taxi from the airport on arrival and it was a massive rip off... we wish we had found out about the bus sooner it is only 10.60 for a return journey or 6 for a single. On the whole we had a fantastic mini break and would recommend this hotel to any age, especially couples.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Claire H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Unless fancy expensive luxury is your thing, the Hotel Market is the place to stay in Barcelona. It's very reasonably prices, and has great character. It is in an old building, but the interior has been completely redone. All rooms are unique. I booked three of the least expensive rooms for 5 nights. It may be worth spending a little more to get a larger room, because the standard rooms are a bit small, but they are still very nice. From top to bottom the hotel is very clean and stylish. The bathrooms are great, even in the standard rooms. The rooms on the front can be a little noisy.

The best part of this hotel is its restaurant. I like to avoid tourist traps, and this is anything but. The restaurant has authentic food from the region, exquisitely prepared for a great price. The prices range from $10-20 for entrees and they are all fantastic! In addition, they offer a daily 3 course prix fixe menu - $15 for lunch and maybe $20-25 for dinner that includes a glass of wine! You have to make reservations daily because there is always a line out the door, and its all locals! Fantastic. A great wine selection to boot, ranging from $10-25 a bottle.

It's right by the historic Sant Antoni Market and about a 10-15 minute walk to Catalunya Square, just out of the touristy area but still within an easy commute of all the sites. I really couldn't have been happier with this hotel. I will stay here every time I come to Barcelona. It's just that good!

Room Tip: Rooms in the front tend to be noisier and consider upgrading from the standard if you want a bigger...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wiseallen4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Just back from 3 nights at the Market Hotel. It was where I stayed last time I was in Barcelona and the first place I will look when I am there again. The hotel has great style, the bed was wonderfully comfortable (and absolutely huge), the room was quiet and just the right temperature. Our only regret was that we couldn't use the small outside balcony as it was February. The hotel is also very handy for the Metro, several bus routes and the Aerobus service (about 4 minutes walk from the Gran Via stop). You might the walk through El Raval to La Ramblas a bit moody, but although it's a pretty dingy area I can't say we felt at all threatened because there was always so much life going on around us. This is the place Ii tell my friends to check out if they are going to Barcelona; you should too.

Room Tip: Our room was 107 - small balcony, no bath-tub but a wonderful drencher shower.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EssexMorvern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We recently stayed at The Market Hotel and found it to be absolutely wonderful. The hotel was clean and beautiful, the rooms were very spacious, the food at the restaurant was simply delicious, and it is located in a great, safe, location in walking distance of just about everything. But more importantly to me at least, the staff made us feel like family. We had a horrible trip over to Spain, including the airline losing our luggage. We then had additional trouble at the airport, when they insisted that upon them locating our luggage, we would have to return to the airport to pick it up. Marta at the front desk contacted the airline and had the luggage delivered that night. Ricardo was also incredibly helpful, since we continually lost our map of the city. Every morning he would give us a new map and show us where to go. He had great recommendations. Mid-stay we flew to Granada and the hotel was kind enough to keep our extra luggage, until our return three days later. If I ever get back to Spain, I will definitely stay at The Market Hotel. I can't recommend it enough!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 626kristim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndilanaGrup, Gerente at Market Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Dear Kristi,
Thanks a lot! We really apreciatte your opinion and it is a very good motivation to continue working for an excellent service.
Best regards and hope see you soon again with us!
Elena Nabau
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Condado Hotel Barcelona
#165 of 513 in Barcelona
1,276 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Praktik Vinoteca
Hotel Praktik Vinoteca
#67 of 513 in Barcelona
1,492 reviews
Eixample
Praktik Garden
Praktik Garden
#132 of 513 in Barcelona
1,914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
U232 Hotel
U232 Hotel
#56 of 513 in Barcelona
3,149 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
chic&basic Born Hotel
chic&basic Born Hotel
#103 of 513 in Barcelona
756 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
#78 of 513 in Barcelona
2,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Market Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Market Hotel

Address: Calle Comte Borrell 68, 08015 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval , Sant Antoni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#112 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#179 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $86 - $341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Market Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Market Hotel & Restaurant has been open since October 2004, and although it functions normally and is working as if it were, it is not finished yet. At the moment it has 33 rooms, and at the end it will have about 80. All the rooms have full-equipped bathroom, air conditioning, central heating, cable TV, free internet access and phone, and although all they look similar, they are not all the same, and there are also different types of rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Market Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Market Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing