We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant quality boutique hotel”
Review of Market Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Market Hotel
Ranked #300 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for three nights with my girlfriend last summer.

The hotel has a brilliant vibe and the decor in the atrium is great.

The rooms feel like apartments (in a good way) as you ascend a lift and enter through porch like spaces.

The decor of the rooms was great - and the shower and double bath were fantastic.

Room was air conditioned (a must in July)!

We did not have a breakfast deal, so I can't comment on this...

To summarise the hotel was exactly what we were looking for. Something high quality with a unique twist, but not a bank breaker.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (879)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

263 - 269 of 879 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2014

Stayed here for two nights over a long weekend. Clean, modern design, and decent price. The location is in the up and coming St. Antoni market, which is a cute area but far away from any major Barcelona site seeing. I bought a 10 ride metro pass and navigated the city that way. You could walk everywhere but in the interest of time it was not practical for me. I would not stay here again solely based on the location.
The hotel has wood floors and is very loud. The staff was ok, but not overly helpful or friendly. Little English spoken as well.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeh910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

The atmosphere of the hotel was lovely and really relaxing. Hotel Market prides itself on its ambience, and so it should... The overall presentation of the hotel is brilliant - its in a traditional old building that fits in with the surroundings of the local Sant Antoni Market, however the interiors are modern, stylish and eclectic. The restaurant is beautiful and has a great value menu. Whilst bar Rosso is a great cocktail bar with a surprisingly cosy terrace. We didn't have to travel far for an evening drink as the bar has fabulous cocktails and cava, and cheap beer (which my boyfriend was delighted about), there are couches and armchairs to choose from or benches covered in comfy pillows. Outside on the terrace, there are heaters and a cushioned bench and even a covered area where chandeliers hang down from the ceiling. Its a great little bar, especially if like us, you love to drink outside (even in February)! Rooms are decorated in an eclectic style which we liked and the waterfall shower is incredible. We did request a double room however we were given two twin beds pushed together which got a bit irritating if you like a big bed, so I would email in advance about this. The location is fantastic - we found it really easy to get around - both on foot and by metro. The area did feel really safe, but we were cautious at all times. I would also reccommend using the airport bus which is just two blocks away. We got a taxi from the airport on arrival and it was a massive rip off... we wish we had found out about the bus sooner it is only 10.60 for a return journey or 6 for a single. On the whole we had a fantastic mini break and would recommend this hotel to any age, especially couples.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Claire H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Unless fancy expensive luxury is your thing, the Hotel Market is the place to stay in Barcelona. It's very reasonably prices, and has great character. It is in an old building, but the interior has been completely redone. All rooms are unique. I booked three of the least expensive rooms for 5 nights. It may be worth spending a little more to get a larger room, because the standard rooms are a bit small, but they are still very nice. From top to bottom the hotel is very clean and stylish. The bathrooms are great, even in the standard rooms. The rooms on the front can be a little noisy.

The best part of this hotel is its restaurant. I like to avoid tourist traps, and this is anything but. The restaurant has authentic food from the region, exquisitely prepared for a great price. The prices range from $10-20 for entrees and they are all fantastic! In addition, they offer a daily 3 course prix fixe menu - $15 for lunch and maybe $20-25 for dinner that includes a glass of wine! You have to make reservations daily because there is always a line out the door, and its all locals! Fantastic. A great wine selection to boot, ranging from $10-25 a bottle.

It's right by the historic Sant Antoni Market and about a 10-15 minute walk to Catalunya Square, just out of the touristy area but still within an easy commute of all the sites. I really couldn't have been happier with this hotel. I will stay here every time I come to Barcelona. It's just that good!

Room Tip: Rooms in the front tend to be noisier and consider upgrading from the standard if you want a bigger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wiseallen4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Just back from 3 nights at the Market Hotel. It was where I stayed last time I was in Barcelona and the first place I will look when I am there again. The hotel has great style, the bed was wonderfully comfortable (and absolutely huge), the room was quiet and just the right temperature. Our only regret was that we couldn't use the small outside balcony as it was February. The hotel is also very handy for the Metro, several bus routes and the Aerobus service (about 4 minutes walk from the Gran Via stop). You might the walk through El Raval to La Ramblas a bit moody, but although it's a pretty dingy area I can't say we felt at all threatened because there was always so much life going on around us. This is the place Ii tell my friends to check out if they are going to Barcelona; you should too.

Room Tip: Our room was 107 - small balcony, no bath-tub but a wonderful drencher shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EssexMorvern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We recently stayed at The Market Hotel and found it to be absolutely wonderful. The hotel was clean and beautiful, the rooms were very spacious, the food at the restaurant was simply delicious, and it is located in a great, safe, location in walking distance of just about everything. But more importantly to me at least, the staff made us feel like family. We had a horrible trip over to Spain, including the airline losing our luggage. We then had additional trouble at the airport, when they insisted that upon them locating our luggage, we would have to return to the airport to pick it up. Marta at the front desk contacted the airline and had the luggage delivered that night. Ricardo was also incredibly helpful, since we continually lost our map of the city. Every morning he would give us a new map and show us where to go. He had great recommendations. Mid-stay we flew to Granada and the hotel was kind enough to keep our extra luggage, until our return three days later. If I ever get back to Spain, I will definitely stay at The Market Hotel. I can't recommend it enough!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 626kristim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndilanaGrup, Gerente at Market Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Dear Kristi,
Thanks a lot! We really apreciatte your opinion and it is a very good motivation to continue working for an excellent service.
Best regards and hope see you soon again with us!
Elena Nabau
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We recently spent 4 days in this lovely hotel with accommodating, friendly staff, bright, front room. Front desk was very helpful in trying to book several venues. Convenient to mass transit, safe area. Hotel restaurant had great atmosphere and food was excellent. I highly recommend this attractive property. Loved the market around the corner from the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ConnecticutGina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndilanaGrup, Gerente at Market Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your review about your stay with us.
We are very glad that you´ve been very comfortable in your time with us.
We invite you to discover our special Hotels & Restaurants of Grup Andilana.
Yours sincerely,
Elena Nabau
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Evenia Rocafort
Evenia Rocafort
#218 of 518 in Barcelona
496 reviews
El Raval
TWO Hotel Barcelona by Axel
TWO Hotel Barcelona by Axel
#84 of 518 in Barcelona
748 reviews
Eixample
U232 Hotel
U232 Hotel
#67 of 518 in Barcelona
3,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Soho Hotel
Soho Hotel
#79 of 518 in Barcelona
2,305 reviews
Pol & Grace Hotel
#61 of 518 in Barcelona
1,168 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Sant Antoni
Hotel Sant Antoni
#183 of 518 in Barcelona
858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Market Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Market Hotel

Address: Calle Comte Borrell 68, 08015 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval , Sant Antoni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#112 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#179 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $49 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Market Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Market Hotel & Restaurant has been open since October 2004, and although it functions normally and is working as if it were, it is not finished yet. At the moment it has 33 rooms, and at the end it will have about 80. All the rooms have full-equipped bathroom, air conditioning, central heating, cable TV, free internet access and phone, and although all they look similar, they are not all the same, and there are also different types of rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Market Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Market Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing