We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly boutique hotel”
Review of Market Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Market Hotel
Ranked #282 of 512 Hotels in Barcelona
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly boutique hotel”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Stayed in this lovely hotel for 4 nights in October - staff very friendly and helpful; didn't have breakfast but delicious food from set price dinner menu and wine at an excellent price too, Room very clean and compact, lovely bed and no problems with any outside noise. I have three criticisms: 1. the complimentary bottle of water should be replaced daily. 2. there is only one mirror in the room and it's in the bathroom...! so a little tricky when wanting to do hair/makeup when the other person is in the shower or on the loo - please another mirror near a power switch would be great. finally, we all want to be kind to the environment (as the little notice says regarding towels...) am happy to do so but it would help greatly if a towel rail was provided - we hung towels on the bathroom door and on open window in evenings to be dry for following morning, and then left damp on floor after morning shower - not ideal, so a rail or a couple of hooks required. Otherwise, fab hotel in fab city and love the outside bar.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baoc1258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

805 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    376
    134
    47
    21
See reviews for
79
430
41
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
München
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 14, 2013

The Market Hotel was recommended by friends. It was a good recommendation! The Market is perfectly located very close to different subway stops and in walking distance from the airport express bus. Theoretically the old Sant Antoni market with it's beautiful hall is right beside it but under construction at the moment. The rooms were very clean, spacey and had a very relaxing atmosphere. Where Orient meets Asia regarding the design, The Market manages to play with the colors white, black and red without being even close to aggressive or sterile – the contrary. Our personal highlight was the enormous shower. We originally didn't book breakfast so we were surprised that it was offered for only 10€ and beyond continental. Fruits, eggs, bacon, a selection of Spanish cheeses and hams/Sausages, sweets, cakes and juices. Additionally the staff was really friendly which is not always the case in Barcelona. We highly recommend this place, especially to young couples and people who want a decent service/price ratio.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniela O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

very much enjoyed our stay in this hotel.
full buffet breakfast only 10 euros per person.
in the evening there are two fixed priced menus - 14.95 and 21.95 per person.
in addition to the regular menu which includes tapas.
reception was very accommodating and helpful.

Room Tip: we were on the 5th floor and experienced very little if any outside noise. the windows in the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lloyd B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Having read the reviews of this hotel after having booked it, I was worried about the noise coming from the other rooms but I had nothing to fear as we didn't hear a peep from our neighbours. There was some noise from outside but it was minimal.

The room was lovely - very compact but it didn't need to be any bigger. The bathroom was stunning and the shower is the best that I have EVER used. I want one!!! My only disappointment was the air conditioning, it had a mind of its own. We thought we had cracked it then it just turned itself off and came back on in the middle of the night despite the timer not being set. I don't know.

Location was absolutely perfect. Literally a three minute walk from the Aerobus stop at Urgell and a two minute walk from the underground. The nearest large supermarket is a one minute crawl along the lane to the side of the hotel.

The staff were all really helpful. One of them even came up at 1am (we had just arriving back) to try to figure out the air conditioning.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TornxTissue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Excellent hotel very pretty lobby, restaurant and bar and excellent rooms.
I stayed 4 nights. Location was excellent, walking distance to everything and has some of Barcelona's best tapas in the surrounding streets.
10 minute walk to gorgeous La Boquiera markets - don't miss.
Great value for money hotel

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Filovestotravel71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 4 nights. This small hotel is located near Sant Antoni market. a nice local market .It possible to walk to Plaça Cataluña 25-minute walk. For me the location was excellent, small cafes and tapas bars all around. My room was small but very clean and quit. has no desk, with small T.V, only one English channel. Great showers and the Wi-Fi work perfect. Room is decorated simply but chic. Bit dark for me. It's Important to make a reservation for room with a window to the front of the hotel. My room had no window to the front and was a bit claustrophobic. The hotel is also a popular restaurant and not expensive one.

Room Tip: ask for room with window to the front of the hotel. nice restaurant also.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeoTelAviv_Israel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

Just got back from a 3 night stay. Was in room 903 a lovely junior suite with huge bath an nice outside space. Location perfect for what we needed to see! Never sampled breakfast but looked pleasant and of usual European breakfast! Cold meats cheese! Sant Antoni metro station 2 min walk away perfect for the sagrida familia metro stop!

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank katie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Praktik Garden
Praktik Garden
#130 of 512 in Barcelona
1,827 reviews
Condado Hotel Barcelona
#167 of 512 in Barcelona
1,264 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Praktik Vinoteca
Hotel Praktik Vinoteca
#63 of 512 in Barcelona
1,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Born / La Ribera
chic&basic Born Hotel
chic&basic Born Hotel
#101 of 512 in Barcelona
748 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Praktik Rambla
Hotel Praktik Rambla
#67 of 512 in Barcelona
2,006 reviews
El Raval
Evenia Rocafort
Evenia Rocafort
#186 of 512 in Barcelona
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Market Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Market Hotel

Property: Market Hotel
Address: Calle Comte Borrell 68, 08015 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval , Sant Antoni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#112 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#179 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Market Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Market Hotel & Restaurant has been open since October 2004, and although it functions normally and is working as if it were, it is not finished yet. At the moment it has 33 rooms, and at the end it will have about 80. All the rooms have full-equipped bathroom, air conditioning, central heating, cable TV, free internet access and phone, and although all they look similar, they are not all the same, and there are also different types of rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Market Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Market Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing