We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel and staff but dissapointing food.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Market Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Market Hotel
Ranked #265 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel and staff but dissapointing food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a couple of nights. I cannot fault the hotel itself and the staff are very helpful and pleasant but the food in the restaurant left a little to be desired.

The room we had was lovely and clean and I think had the best shower I'd ever used before, felt like standing under a waterfall. Shame we didn't have time to try the huge bath!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kiemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    360
    120
    43
    18
See reviews for
69
404
38
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

I stayed there with my wife for nearly a week and I have to say that I enjoyed my staying very much! First of all, I was so pleased with the friendly, warm and excellent service of all the staff who work there; Always smiling, helpful, ready to assist you on anything you might need. Excellent. Our room was very spacious, clean, equipped with a comfortable bed and a nicely decorated shower. Even though the hotel is part of an old building that is situated on a main road, our room was quiet enough and the antiqued, "Catalan old style" decoration added much to our enjoyment. Also, it is very close to the San Antoni Metro station (roughly 5mins walk), from where you can easily navigate Barcelona at ease. Barcelona is a beautiful, clean and friendly city to visit with lots to see. Quite expensive though, therefore we chose a value for money hotel to counterbalance the cost. Hotel Market not only met our expectations, it exceeded them by far. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We stayed on room 312 with view to the Carrer Borell. It doesn't offer much of a view but it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank androsg8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

What sets this hotel apart is the friendly and helpful attitude of the staff who were ready and willing to answer all our questions as first time visitors to the city on a short break. The location is excellent for access to and from El Prat, very close to the A2 bus line. The room was beautiful and well appointed and the shower was great. Breakfast was great and the bar service in the evening was laid back and elegant. Food was great quality and buzzing restaurant atmosphere. Only criticism would be a long queue for the coffee machine in the morning - but it was a coffee worth the wait!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yclepit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago
Level Contributor
107 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

I spent 1 week recently in Barcelona (convention). A nice surprise to discover this Hotel, old but new fashioned building located in a center quartier, 2 blocks from metro line1 (gran via de cortes catalanes, Urgell station) 5 minutes by walk. The room was very spacious, the bed not so comfortable as I expected, but was enough for a good rest after a very busy day. It would be perfect with a frigo bar and a pool. Wifi runs fast in the room. The room was very quiet, even if you stay above the restaurant. If you want to take a walk around, you can find the Rambla avenue by 15 minutes walking through the old city plenty of bars and nice little streets.
The restaurant merits a good commentary. The menu list was very complete, the price was affordable (1 glass of a tasty spanish wine, tapas, principal and a huge dessert = 25 Euros/person). It had a very tasty dinner in a good ambiance, open till 2 am. The bar very nice also. The staff always expecting to help you!
I really recommend it. If I need to come back to Barcelona I would be very pleased to get back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alejandra74Santiago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

I stayed at the Market Hotel after reading Tripadvisor reviews and I was not disappointed. Travelling by myself from Australia, I booked 3 nights at the Market Hotel the day after I arrived in Barcelona, after spending the previous night in a shoebox sized room in another hotel a few blocks away. For a very affordable price I got a very clean, well appointed, modern and spacious room, even though it was just myself staying the night. My 4th floor balcony and bathroom window opened to the street scene below, allowing cool breeze and sun into my room.
The staff were wonderfuly helpful and were very in tune with tourists requirements - assisting me with everything from tours, luggage, mail, storage and local recommendations. The motel has a bunch of cafes/bars on its doorstep and is a short walk to main roads and attractions. If you don't feel like venturing out, or if like me you get home from a tour quite late, the restaurant on the ground floor is welcoming and nothing short of delicious! Can't recommend this place enough - will stay again in a heartbeat. Muchos Gracias, Market Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MJ P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

Myself and husband had a wonderful 3 night stay at the Market Hotel in June. We loved the location which is about a 10 min walk from Las Ramblas (this was perfect for us as we found that area very tacky). We had the room right at the top of the hotel with a huge balcony, the room and bathroom were a fantastic size and the bed was extremely comfortable. We didn't eat at the hotel so I can't comment on that, but I'm actually sorry we didn't. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the complimentary water and apples are a very nice touch. Can highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lafayette, IN
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

I had a wonderful one-week stay here for a conference recently. I asked for a quiet room and it was indeed quiet. The location is so convenient to the metro and many attractions, plus I loved the homey feel of the neighborhood. The decor, boutique feel, and roominess are all bonuses in my book. The restaurant had excellent food, and both the restaurant and hotel had friendly service. As a bonus, it's only 2 blocks from the Aerobus stop (use the Urgell stop). My colleagues at a nearby "conference" hotel were complaining, but I was not! It made me laugh that there was a huge pop-art poster of Mao on the wall across from my bed, as I'm getting ready to go to China.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoBoilers09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Hotel Praktik Vinoteca
Hotel Praktik Vinoteca
#57 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,180 reviews
Eixample
Praktik Garden
Praktik Garden
#130 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,625 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Praktik Rambla
Hotel Praktik Rambla
#69 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Born / La Ribera
chic&basic Born Hotel
chic&basic Born Hotel
#107 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Praktik Bakery
Hotel Praktik Bakery
#76 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,486 reviews
Eixample
Villa Emilia
Villa Emilia
#40 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Market Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Market Hotel

Property: Market Hotel
Address: Comte Borrell, 68, 08015 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval , Sant Antoni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#112 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#179 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Market Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Market Hotel & Restaurant has been open since October 2004, and although it functions normally and is working as if it were, it is not finished yet. At the moment it has 33 rooms, and at the end it will have about 80. All the rooms have full-equipped bathroom, air conditioning, central heating, cable TV, free internet access and phone, and although all they look similar, they are not all the same, and there are also different types of rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Hotel.de, HRS and Reservation Counter so you can book your Market Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Market Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing