We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Romantic and nice but thin walls” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Market Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Market Hotel
Ranked #263 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Romantic and nice but thin walls”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

Wonderful hotel in a nice location. Free water and fruit in reception. Staff was helpful and fluent in English. The room was nicely decorated and with a wonderful shower. However the walls between the rooms are paper thin so you can hear everything going on in other rooms or hallway.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tabi-lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    360
    120
    43
    18
See reviews for
69
404
38
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Second time i have stayed at the Market. What a gem of a property. The rates are so good and everything about this small, boutique property just works. Very friendly staff on reception, very good restaurant and bar. Try one of the suites - big, spacious with a terrace and big bathrooms with a fantastic rain shower. Breakfast is simple but more than adequate. Great location, clean and welcoming. It beats the pants off the more expensive chain Hotels - charming, local, more than comfortable....

Room Tip: Try the Suites - great size, great decor and big and spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pieter d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allerod, Denmark
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

It was a little difficult to find the hotel because it is located in an alley, although we took a taxi :) In fact, it was quite hard to find rooms because the hotel consists of several buildings. But having said that, we were very pleased with the choice of hotel. The location is within walking distance to many attractions.

It was a very reasonable price, and we got free water to go. The breakfast was allright.

We ate at the hotel restaurant twice and it was pleasantly surprised. The hotel has a nice bar as well :)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Miamuus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

We had a wonderful week as first time visitors to Barcelona. We had seen the Market Hotel mentioned in a New York Times article and found it every bit as great as the article suggetsed. Nice location, walkable to the old historic part of town and the seaport. Ricardo Cueva, the hotel concierge or manager was an incredible help to us. He gave us very helpful advice on directions, transportation, local sights etc. The other staff were also very pleasant and the hotel restaurant was nive. We loved the architecture of the hotel and the very modern, clean lines of the decor. Have definitely recommended it already to friends.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RNMBAJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

My boyfriend and I stumbled across this hotel on Trivago and thought it was too good to be true. After asking a friend, who had lived in Barcelona for a while, for his opinion, he ensured us we would love it - and we definitely did.

When we walked into the opulent reception area, I was still waiting for the huge price to arrive on our bill!! But in actual fact, this is just a incredibly reasonable and well styled hotel.

I've read that it is a restaurant with rooms, and to an extent this is true - the rooms were lovely, simple and clean but the restaurant was absolutely amazing. We had a shared starter, two big mains, two desserts and a bottle of wine for 45Euros - a bargain when it comes to delicious food. I would definitely recommend dinner here, even if you aren't staying!

The hotel is a little out of the way, but a metro stop is just around the corner. Unfortunately the market was being restored during our trip, but when it's opened again I'm sure it will be a wonderful addition to the area. If you want to walk to the centre of Barcelona, it's about 15 minutes through a slight back-alley/red light district area! But we never felt in danger; always safe as the area is so well lit.

For the price, location and, to be honest, simply the restaurant below the hotel, we would definitely go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed in the Market Hotel in November 2012 and really enjoyed it. Our room was very spacious and located at the back of the building, so very quiet, albeit no daylight. The buffet breakfast was very good for Spain, and the restaurant, which we used once, was very nice as well. There are a lot of very nice restaurants in the area as well, and we got great recommendations from the reception staff.
The area is very quiet compared to other parts of Barcelona, there is the market, bus stops and metro station very close by, and the airport bus stops just around the corner.
We would stay there again without hesitation.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room ask for one facing inwards of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barbara1313Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

Overall, we really enjoyed our stay. I think the value for the price was fantastic. We stayed here before and after our cruise in December 2012. The rooms were clean and comfortable and average in size. I liked the bathrooms, they came with blow dryers and had nice big showers with good water pressure. The hotel was unique and not a cookie cutter chain which we appreciated, it definitely added to the experience. It was easy to get around the city from the hotel by walking our using the metro and a lot more affordable than some of the hotels that are right in Las Ramblas. The hotel offers free wifi and complimentary water and fruit and the front desk. There is a small charge for phone calls even if they are local so be mindful of that. They offer a decent breakfast buffet for about 8 euros and it wasn't bad for the price (does not include coffee). We found the staff to be polite, friendly and helpful (especially with directions) and they will provide you with a map. My only complaint about this place is the noise. If you have neighbors you will hear them clearly. We heard our neighbors talking and walking in and out of their room. It was not enough to bother us, but if we would have gotten noisier neighbors who knows.

Room Tip: Be cautious of balcony rooms, ours was facing the street and we got a lot of noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natalie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Hotel Praktik Vinoteca
Hotel Praktik Vinoteca
#57 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,174 reviews
Eixample
Praktik Garden
Praktik Garden
#127 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,621 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Praktik Rambla
Hotel Praktik Rambla
#68 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Born / La Ribera
chic&basic Born Hotel
chic&basic Born Hotel
#104 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Praktik Bakery
Hotel Praktik Bakery
#76 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,477 reviews
Eixample
Villa Emilia
Villa Emilia
#41 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Market Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Market Hotel

Property: Market Hotel
Address: Comte Borrell, 68, 08015 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval , Sant Antoni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#112 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#179 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Market Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Market Hotel & Restaurant has been open since October 2004, and although it functions normally and is working as if it were, it is not finished yet. At the moment it has 33 rooms, and at the end it will have about 80. All the rooms have full-equipped bathroom, air conditioning, central heating, cable TV, free internet access and phone, and although all they look similar, they are not all the same, and there are also different types of rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Despegar.com so you can book your Market Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Market Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing