We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Market Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$147
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
$208
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona(Barcelona)
$375
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Arts Barcelona(Barcelona)
$542
RitzCarlton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$134
$109
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel 1898(Barcelona)
$225
$183
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
El Palace Hotel(Barcelona)
$442
$401
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Claris(Barcelona)
$230
$218
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya(Barcelona)
$149
$140
Torre Catalunya
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$349
$276
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (918)
Filter reviews
918 results
Traveler rating
255
416
157
63
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
255
416
157
63
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssant antonihuge baththin wallspoble seclovely hoteltwo nightsgreat showerjunior suitenoise from the streetlarge terracepowerful showerair conditionerquiet roomwater pressurela ramblapublic transportlight sleeper
Filter
Updating list...
392 - 397 of 918 reviews
Reviewed December 11, 2011

If you are looking for a place to stay in Barcelona for those few days stop over, you need look no further than the Market Hotel. This small hotel located near La Rambler is clean, tidy, quiet and offers a reasonable breakfast, at reasonable rates. Close to the markets with many tapas bars and bakeries close by for that quick coffee and pastry. We found the staff helpful and multi-lingual, wi-fi, and a great restaurant and tapas bar on site if you want to stay put, the restaurant a little pricey but quality good. The black tiles in drenching shower and stand up stone basin show a bit of water stain through use, and there is little storage for clothing, if you want to stay for a prolonged period. Depending on traffic about 30 minutes by taxi from airport.

Room Tip: The hotel entrance in a small lane so front rooms that face the main road have access to a shared balcony overlooking the tree-lined road, others have no views but are light and airy. No aircon noise that we could detect.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank expat25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2011

We stayed at the Market Hotel in Barcelona for three nights and found it comfortable and a great value. It was conveniently located, we could walk or subway to all the important sights.
Our room was large amnd comfortable with a very well appointed bathroom, though there was no view. The restaurant was quite good, and filled with locals. The bar was great as was the bartender...he gave us lots of great advice about where to go, when to go and what to eat. All in all, I would certainly go back when I visit Barcelona again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank k2com
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2011

Easy walk from the 2nd stop off the Aerobus. Farther than I'd like from the Metro (Poble Sec) that goes direct to where we wanted. Friendly and informed guest relations. Easy walk to Ramblas and Olympic Park. Nice little restaurant across the street for quick breakfast. Hotel Tapas Dinner in Bar and Breakfast promo was perfect for our needs. Restaurant was very busy. Standard room was very well priced. Bath sheets with heated towel rack and great shower. Comfortable beds, secure entry, elevator, lousy TV(so what), Internet much better in bar. Never concerned about location. Will return.

Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
2  Thank joemooch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2011

This hotel was an unexpected find and we were pleasantly surprised considering the price we paid. Overall the hotel is in a relatively convenient location a few stops on the metro near the main center and also close to the airport bus station. The hotel rooms are located in a building that is mixed with local residents (with sections partitioned) so you feel like you're living like a local.
The nice parts:
The room contains the basic amenities and the hotel also gives complementary bottles of water and apples to guests at the front desk. The rooms are bigger than expected and there's plenty of space to leave luggage open. Pretty clean too. The staff was friendly and offers good suggestions for dinner / lunch / snack options. The hotel bar is nice.
The ok parts:
Shower has no shower curtain or piece of glass so I ended flooding the floor each time and there's also no air vent in the bathroom and this can get quite hot. The air conditioning also magically turns on/off in the middle of the night every night.
The strange part
On 2 of the evenings, our neighbour kept slamming the door at 4am and calling "luca" for about 15min. It felt like he was standing at the foot of our bed and yelling at us. Sound proofing could be better but then again this might be our neighbour more than anything

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tofuandpesto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2011

We recently stayed seven nights at the Market Hotel with friends. We had two "suites" which certainly had the wow factor. The style is minimalistic and the beds are enormous although the pillows were awful! The bathroom was particularly impressive and as well as a huge rain-head shower we had an enormous bathtub and twin washbasins. Unusually there is no extraction which we found strange but a heated shaving mirror is available. Outside we discovered a large roof terrace as well, which in warmer weather would be a real bonus

Breakfast was an add on and is the kind of buffet you might expect. There was plenty of choice and it's served in the hotel restaurant between 7 and 11 which is very convenient after a late night in Barcelona.

We loved our first visit to this historic city and would probably stay at the Market Hotel again in the future.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fletcherandcole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews